The Most Comfortable Conti ?

burn22 said:
hi bro, for ur back problem, i will go for a merz 230e, which you can get at below 50k in good condition since most of the previous owner is an old timer. the car shape is still consider nice to look at. and the value is still there, but if you hav the dope, change to a bigger rim and it will look even sportier. second choice, volvo 850 T5! third choice would be bmw 525i model, value much better than 520!. had a friend own 520i and took his car almost a year to get a buyer. his car is damp good condition. last choice, bmw 318i! japs car will be nissan cefiro, accord or camry! perdana v6, ok lah but no market value at all! somemore, parts pun boleh tahan mahal.
yes, it's true about the cosworth merz, but to find a good one would be difficult! the cosworth chassis alone cost a bomb and hard to get.
why biege leather seat? go for black! when sent for service or repair, the mechanics with their dirty oily trousers will make ur seat dirty. hav this problem before wit my previous cars unless you sent your car to a higher class repair workshop which will cover the seat wit plastic when repairing, but it will cost you a bomb! there are good mechanics will small workshop which charge at reasonable price. and just make sure, they repair mostly merz, bmw or continental cars.
i hav try sending my honda inspire and proton wira for repair at my regular mechanic and found out they are not that good when repairing japs car. so now i hav two regular mechanic to service my car. even the one that repair my japs car dare not repair my bmw.
good luck bro wit ur choice. this is just my side opinion! different people
hav different taste!

TQ bro 4 your long comment....beige leather seat got the continental look and feel. I love it. I dont mind it to get easily dirty. Just clean it. On the other hand you are a very practical man

2.0turbo said:
sorry 4 this late reply.very busy. I am going to stop my hunting 4 a while. In the meantime I am making my wira more comfy by upgrading the suspension, making my seat more comfy by adding rubber

i do hope u stop dumping money on ur wira, as it'll nvr be as comfortable as a continental.

better put da money some where else mate!

in my opinion, merc have the better comfort ride than beemers due to beemers have a more sporting ride. same goes to audi. however, nowadays even merc also pays attention to driver's need for sporty handling. good handling will spoil ride for sure.

W123 is a very old car i can say. only the very last cars i dare to recommend buying - which is the 230E.

otherwise, with 70K budget - look for early W124 (CKD 200, 200E, 230E), E34 (ranging about 35K for 520i but 24V version more expensive at about 50K. still worth it) or E32 7 series from 1988. comfortable rite?? 40K will get you a 740iL, even a 750iL V8.

also worth looking...W126 S class (avoid 280SE and 380SE), the one to go is the facelifted 300SE (since 1990).

if can stretch budget, i wud recommend W202 C200 (about 90K), or Volvos (850 2.5 at 50-60K, S70 at 60-80K, or 940 soft turbo at 40K).

avoid audi, saab at all costs. poor resale value, many electronic gadgets that's a mayhem with local mechanics.

alfa 156 is a gem, the best FWD and close to beat E46 3 series in the early millenium. now beaten by new 3 series (E90 is it?) and newer 159. budget range between 90-100K.

* forgive me for suggesting some cars that exceed 2.3 litre engine.

zan said:
in my opinion, merc have the better comfort ride than beemers due to beemers have a more sporting ride. same goes to audi. however, nowadays even merc also pays attention to driver's need for sporty handling. good handling will spoil ride for sure.

W123 is a very old car i can say. only the very last cars i dare to recommend buying - which is the 230E.

otherwise, with 70K budget - look for early W124 (CKD 200, 200E, 230E), E34 (ranging about 35K for 520i but 24V version more expensive at about 50K. still worth it) or E32 7 series from 1988. comfortable rite?? 40K will get you a 740iL, even a 750iL V8.

also worth looking...W126 S class (avoid 280SE and 380SE), the one to go is the facelifted 300SE (since 1990).

if can stretch budget, i wud recommend W202 C200 (about 90K), or Volvos (850 2.5 at 50-60K, S70 at 60-80K, or 940 soft turbo at 40K).

avoid audi, saab at all costs. poor resale value, many electronic gadgets that's a mayhem with local mechanics.

alfa 156 is a gem, the best FWD and close to beat E46 3 series in the early millenium. now beaten by new 3 series (E90 is it?) and newer 159. budget range between 90-100K.

* forgive me for suggesting some cars that exceed 2.3 litre engine.

I forgive you.

but i think i only maintaine my audi in normal workshop ....one time service only RM109..cheaper than my waja...n i think the comfort still there...but honestly the com depend to personal aspect...:regular_smile:

just my 2cents..

Here's some of my suggetion, a Peugeot 504, 405, 406, 305, 306, or 407. A Jaguar that has a japanese engine. A Citroen any model with hydro suspension. A beemer, small merc, Alfas are not really that comfortable. Thou they can be fast. I currenly have a C200 at home and the ride is horrible, its cramp and the build is crap. Unless you can afford a Beemer 7 series a merc that E class or above. Its best to just think of some cheaper Brand European cars.

Bump: Here's some of my suggetion, a Peugeot 504, 405, 406, 305, 306, or 407. A Jaguar that has a japanese engine. A Citroen any model with hydro suspension. A beemer, small merc, Alfas are not really that comfortable. Thou they can be fast. I currenly have a C200 at home and the ride is horrible, its cramp and the build is crap. Unless you can afford a Beemer 7 series a merc that E class or above. Its best to just think of some cheaper Brand European cars.

LALALALA..
ALFA 164 3.0V6..
NICE CAR..EASY TO MAINTAIN..VERY GOOD SUSPENSION..:proud::proud:
POWERFULL...(ITS FERRARI ENGINE LORH!!)
EASILY REACH 240++KM/H...:driver:
NICE INTERIOR...
COMFORTABLE...
KINDA RARE...
MY RIDE...ALFA ROMEO 164 3.0 V6..:adore::adore:
I LOVE IT...:love::love:
:biggrin::proud::biggrin::proud::biggrin::proud::biggrin::proud::biggrin::proud::biggrin::proud::biggrin:

I am in the market for a continental car. What is the most comfortable conti below RM 70 K and c.c no bigger than 2.3? My definition of comfort is the ride is not bumpy when passing the speedbreaker / yellow lines and uneven road. I am not talking about handling
or cornering. Just looking for a comfortable ride because already getting old.

Actually I have test drive merc 123, 190 E, 124, Peugeot 306, Camry, Accord and sonata.So far I think Merc 123 is the most comfort.

Appreciate your recommendation.

TQ.

bro, my personal opinion la..

do give volkswagen cars or any cars from the VAG family (vw, audi,seat,skoda etc etc) a gud try.
choose either one la. maybe a passat, or the new audi A4.

all these years i've grown up with at least 1 VAG car always under the porch, be it a golf, audi or beetle.

:burnout:

sirr, you said you have test drive audi A6 1997, it is audi c4 im afraid, try test audi a6 c5 year 2000 and above, you'll be notice the different and more the build quality are superb compare with mercz and bmw with the same year. :biggrin:
Vorsrung Durch Technik

get yourself in Volvo S/V70 - 2.0T/2.5/T5 (2.3)
T5 model would be better ;)

im not telling this is the most comfort one...
just another conti car for u to tryout

btw
me also driving Wira 1.8 and off course a Volvo (V70)... hehe