Need your input on 235 55 R19

jerrysiow

Hi all sifu,

Need your valuable input and feedback on tyre you might used it previously.

I'm driving cx-8 and the stock toyo r46 is suck and I changed it to conti uc6 suv right after 4k km clocked. Currently I have clocked my conti more than 36k kms and it left 50%. I started to survey my next tyre. I'm more towards comfort and silent ride.

1. Michelin pilot sport 4 SUV. Price around RM 1.2k per piece and it's very expensive.
2. Michelin primacy. Around RM8xx.
3. Pirelli cinturato rosso. Around RM8xx. (My heart keep asking me to try this)
4. Continental uc6 SUV. Around RM8xx.
5. Good year eagle F1 asymmetric 3 SUV. Around RM76x.
6. Giti sport s2. Around RM58x. (Suggested by friend)
7. Powertrac racing pro. Around rm4xx. (Suggested by my tyre shop friend)
8. Wind force catchfors up. Around rm4xx (same suggested by tyre shop friend)

I conscious that now china brand tyre not like 10 years ago and their quality is pretty good and huge price gap compared to big players like Michelin or Pirelli. Why I'm struggling as tyre shop friend asking me to try it out and save up some money as china brand tyre is pretty all rounded and they're comfort too.

My bro in law harrier is using primacy SUV+ but based on his feedback of Michelin is very good and comfort ride on the first 20k km or first year then it started to make noise. Similar to my uc6 SUV but better, it start to make noise after 30k km used.

What your thoughts?

Most tyres are quiet when new, due to uniform tyre pattern. As they wear, depending on road surface, your suspension, alignment etc., once they are uneven, bound to to noisy.
Another thing is thread pattern. Basically there are 3 categories for normal road users. UHP, Mid and Entry level.

UHP are high performance, so basically designed for traction in wet and dry, therefore thread pattern have large grooves to disperse water, soft compound for traction, therefore they will be more noisy and not so durable.
Tyres like Michelin Pilot Sport, GY F1 Asy3, Pirelli P Zero

Entry level are more for durability and comfort, so it is good for lifespan but weaker in traction.

Mid are best of both worlds, but not as good in performance as UHP and not as durable as Entry level.
Tyres like Michelin Primacy 4 ST, GY Assurance Comfortred, Pirelli Cinturato Rosso or P7, UC6
(note Primacy SUV pattern are more rough than Primacy 4ST)

China tyres have improved but still behind. Look up for tyre reviews online for those tyres recommended to you and see for yourself.

For me, if the premium tyres are too expensive, I rather look into the Korean tyres especially Hankook. The are actually promoted into the ranks of Michelin, Goodyear but prices are way cheaper. UHP are the Hankook S1Evo3, Mid is Hankook Ventus Prime 4

Another Is Falken, even though is Jap, but less known so they are cheaper also
UHP is Falken FK 510, now should be FK 520. 520 being new could be more expensive. I am on the Falken Ziex ZE310Eco run on my wife SUV

Hope the above can help you out a little....:driver: