[SWAP] alternator wiring...SVT -> BT

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
hi guys,

good day to you...
got a little problem with wiring...

i've swap my alternator from silvertop to blacktop...
but the connector socket is different...
can someone please advice ?
Thanx a million...

here a some picture of the sockets...

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y203/chinozie/IMG_0022.jpg
blacktop alternator socket...RED / YELLOW /WHITE

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y203/chinozie/IMG_0025.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y203/chinozie/IMG_0026.jpg
need to swap it...silvertop socket(black color socket, not original wire color, has been changed)

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y203/chinozie/IMG_0027.jpg
socket that connected to the engine wiring, from the silvertop socket...

The black socket is not svt alternator socket,its for AE86.AE92 hi-comp,svt and bt all have same alternator socket,grey color,if i am not mistaken.The pin is S,IG and L.Take a look at your alternator there should be a sticker on the orientation of those 3 pin,pin S is connected to +12v permanent,pin IG is connected to your ignition key,pin L is connected to your charging lamp inside the instrument cluster.
If not wrong the orientation is ->
S
IG
L

When switch on ignition,+12v should be available at pin IG,this switch on the alternator winding,at the same time pin L will be grounding the charge lamp and it will illuminate.

On the black socket,it has the same 3 pin,if i not wrong,it is ->
S
IG L

check alternator again if there is a sticker.
Usually the pin S is white color,check with multimeter,if there is battery voltage even ignition key is off,then it is.

Good luck

uisshh..thats a diff 16v ler...........cannot compare..........hehehhe

Nasir,
I ever check with Ah Ngah and Ah Choy about SVT and BT alternator b4.
Both comment that the socket is diff between each other.
But i didn't varified it personally ah.

wong,

thanx for the reply...

heee...i got the 2nd hand alternator from Ah Ngah...:D
but my current alternator don't know from which car...heeee...

cannot tahan the warning sound from ECU..."thunggg"
need to change fast...

[UPDATE]

thanx to cuscostrutbrace help...

now everthing is working fine...

but there's no sticker mentioning which one is S,IG or L on non-working alternator, BT alternator don't know cuz alraedy mounted in...

soo just base on the color orientation given above...heeee...
plus...normally CD player/cassette player wiring, yellow color wire always for ignition key n red is the 12V...can aa like that...kihkhikhih

picture #1, just connect with picture #4...

yellow=yellow
red=black
white=white

Aik,no sticker,you buy recond alternator ka?Both of my 86 and SVT alternator got the sticker showing the pin orientation.Hehe