Suspension - Testimonials please

I have been using my coilovers for more than a year now. I have tried playing with the setting all the while. From what I have experienced, the harder it is, the better the cornering and I personally find it better on the highway because it is not that bumpy. When set it soft, it's more comfortable for daily driving because of the condition of the roads where I live.

I have also tried setting softer at the front and harder at the rear but it's not to my liking. Cornering is a lil scarier. This could also be due to my tyres. I am using normal tyres only.

Mine is a sedan. With BC coilovers. front 10k and rear 6k. most of the time only 2 persons sitting at the front. No one at the rear.

Based on this, how should I set the damping rate when I have passengers at the back and want them to feel as comfortable as possible? My parents use to complain when they sit in my car. Lol

set softer, drive slower.
or maintain setting and drive faster lol...

usually adding weight, you want slightly more damping. the harshness is sometimes due to shock returning too quickly..

comfort ride is one situation where having inceased bodyroll helps in reducing the harshness.

so its not an either or thing. You have to choose at one point to go for handling or comfort.

Sent from my GT-I9100G using Tapatalk 2

I ferried one 90kg guy in the rear and one 120kg at the front, with myself being 85kg the suspension was set to 20front 15rear and the car had perfect dampening, comfy like nothing I've ever felt and it cornered great. Only problem was the puny engine was struggling like crazy to lug around the additional 200kg+.

Damn. So I need a heavier car or perhaps softer springs?

I ferried one 90kg guy in the rear and one 120kg at the front, with myself being 85kg the suspension was set to 20front 15rear and the car had perfect dampening, comfy like nothing I've ever felt and it cornered great. Only problem was the puny engine was struggling like crazy to lug around the additional 200kg+.

Keep at that, so in case we need to car pool we can use your car.....hahahahaha:rofl:

keep it...we can tumpang.. :biggrin:

but that shows need softer springs....

me personally looking for 5k adjustable suspension springs for new setup (minor change that lead to major differences from current setup)......willing to swap with my current 6k springs :itsme:

keep it...we can tumpang.. :biggrin:

but that shows need softer springs....

me personally looking for 5k adjustable suspension springs for new setup (minor change that lead to major differences from current setup)......willing to swap with my current 6k springs :itsme:

But if use softer springs, then when heavy load....:banghead:

exactly right lol.. nowdays i don't want to cater to passenger's taste. i drive the car most often, so better it just suit me enough.

Bro. Izso follow you we cannot tumpang his ride already.....:banghead::biggrin:

Tested on stiffer damping setting. Seems to eliminate the soft wobble ride I had for the past few weeks! However it introduces another time of jolting bumpiness haha.

do you have helper springs? they do help a bit, but yeah, the jolting bumpiness is a norm with non-helper spring setups. try backing out (softer) a click or two from the current setting.

Sent from my GT-I9100G using Tapatalk 4

Car: perdana v6
model: gab adjustable ss series
price: rm2k
road used: 30% highway 70% town
handling 8/10(can corner really really hard)
Comfort: 5/10(kinda bumpy)
durability: was hard from day 1until my car got stolen. Use for 1 year
Satisfaction: 8/10 quite satisfied with the money to value

car: cefiro a33
model: front tokiyo absorbers.. rear kayaba
spring: gab spring
comfort 8/10
Handling 3/10(soft absorbers)
satisfaction(5/10)just not satisfied with handling cause its compromised as im more towards comfort now
durability. 3/10. The kayaba absorbers I got is bullshit
3 months old start to make squicky sound
gab spring too low. And I guess its a bad combination with
the standard absorbers. Side skirt hits sharp humps every time so I have to drive sideways like a retard on humps

Car: Proton Gen2 CPS AT
Brand and model: HWL HiLo
Durability: Still new, used for like only few months and still using it...
Roads used on: Penang, Gerik... not exactly a smooth road but so-so
Comfort: 6/10 (I actually wanted to rate higher, but I get mixed comments on it... some says too hard, some even says baby soft...)
Handling: 8/10 (if you think this is pretty high, probably because I've never been on any setup other than OEMs...)
Satisfaction: Never regret... the best money I ever spent on my car...

current :
car : sedan
sus : bc soft hard hi lo
front : 10 kg , rear : 8k,......front click 20, rear click 15...
body can shift hilo, not affect spring tension..
tyre : 205,50,15......32psi

previous :
sus : local made,
front : 6 k, rear : 4 k
tyre : 205,15,50,.......32 psi

comments : bc softer while cruising, stick to road, cornering chasis least body roll, install yesterday, just tested 10 minutes ago on very windy somemore bumpy road. te car act like wat u expected

some expert claim they r expertssssss........but mostly they dun......trial n error.......so.....whose r te victim n iignocent 1.......
" pay cheap money, get cheap goods,.....but.....sometime pay more money also gets lousy products...."

wat i realise so far,.....bfo mod anythg.....plsssss.....sit on yr fren car, feel it, test it, if not.....ur$$ will:trytofly::trytofly::trytofly:

Hi guys. Been looking at getting new coilvers. Have been looking at DD 40way adjustable coilvers but havent been able to find any reviews of it. Was wondering if anyone on here has ever used them? Seen a few GAB ss fully adjustable. review. Might consider them. Thanks sifus!

Hi Sifu,
tihinking to upgrade my FRONT antiroll bar from stock 21mm(if not mistaken) to 24mm. is there any different interm of handling from my current setup?some said no need to upgrade antiroll bar if using stiff spring.tq

Car: Proton Waja
model: HWL Hi Lo 8k front 6k rear
Road used: 60% town 40% Track
handling: 8/10
Comfort: 4/10 Bumpy..but im ok with it

Hi Sifu,
tihinking to upgrade my FRONT antiroll bar from stock 21mm(if not mistaken) to 24mm. is there any different interm of handling from my current setup?some said no need to upgrade antiroll bar if using stiff spring.tq

Car: Proton Waja
model: HWL Hi Lo 8k front 6k rear
Road used: 60% town 40% Track
handling: 8/10
Comfort: 4/10 Bumpy..but im ok with it

u can lower your spring rate if u install bigger ARB