supercharging an engine

lets see if i boost around 0.4bar, do i need an intercooler?

is it advisable to have the super charger full time running? even when the engine is idle...

lets say that i dun fabricate my own intake manifold, i force air into the IAFM intake manifold, is that even possible?

what are actually external injectors?

wat kind of oil does the sc unit needs?

Intercooler for 0.4bar actually not necessary... But cold air are denser... Thus, have more oxygen per volumetric. And colder air will reduce knocks possibility.

That's what i meant by connection. U do a pipe that joint the SC and the inlet manifold. But u need to relocate the throttle body to the inlet of the SC.

External injectors have to be controlled by injector controller. If's controlled via RPM and TPS parameter... Some piggyback has the ability to control external injectors... Example emanage.

Of course u can run upon engine start. Because the TB is located before the SC.

Just engine oil will do..

is BOT really cheaper than supercharger? lets say i do BOT sumting like what i want from a supercharger, how much would it cost then?

I did not say BOT is cheaper. But, it's hard to estimate the price for supercharging compare to turbo. But problem is, boost is easy to adjust on BOT. That's why there are lot of BOT failure in BOT because human is greddy... We always want more and more...

Depends on design, like turbos, the design determines the spool, or in this case, the turbine efficiency at low rpm.

i prefer superchargers than turbos because superchargers can kick in at lower RPMs, is it really that way?

Too much reading can sometimes mislead u... Of course, if u compare the root type, the SC will kicks in immediately... However, bare in mind one thing. It's less efficient compare to turbocharging. But if u compare with the centrifugal type, it still lags a little.

Turbo is recycling waste energy to generate power.

SC is sacrificing useful power to generate more power.

For 1.6 set up and low boost set up, u can go for T25 turbo.

Depends on design, like turbos, the design determines the spool, or in this case, the turbine efficiency at low rpm.

yaya

Depends on design, like turbos, the design determines the spool, or in this case, the turbine/compressor efficiency at low rpm. I think you can find the sc unit spec you're using online.

Advise to vector, if u dont have minimum rm8k spare cash on hand, dont even try to do any of those mention. SC14 is not easy to find. U cant even differ psi and bar not to mention basic foundation.

Sppedhorizon, SC using diff type of oil. They r not using engine oil.

Advise to vector, with the amount u'll be spending going SC why not doing somthing abit more proper ... go and change ur engine ... buy a mivec rs or 1.8 GDi turbo halfcut ... dump it in the car ... atleast u have a good platform to start from ... plus with sc i i'm thinking the power u want is like the mivec rs & 1.8 GDi turbo ... <---- these engines can take alot of pounding compared to a SC campro engine :listen:

Of course, there's the already proven route to get power and the not so common way to get power. The owner has to understand the pro's and con's of each method. Sometimes it's just about doing things differently so the owner's car stands out. I think it would be very dull indeed if everyone just follows the same route to getting power.

Advise to vector, if u dont have minimum rm8k spare cash on hand, dont even try to do any of those mention. SC14 is not easy to find. U cant even differ psi and bar not to mention basic foundation.

Sppedhorizon, SC using diff type of oil. They r not using engine oil.

depends on type
http://www.superchargersonline.com/content.asp?ID=30

Of course, there's the already proven route to get power and the not so common way to get power. The owner has to understand the pro's and con's of each method. Sometimes it's just about doing things differently so the owner's car stands out. I think it would be very dull indeed if everyone just follows the same route to getting power.

YES.... :congrats::congrats::congrats:

But Vector, Management comes before hardware.... But u like la... Cause engine and set up is urs...

u said out wht i had in mind, but i had more to add to that...

firstly, i am not someone who is really into making my car really powerful, just a little more power would do for me. and of course i know there are lots of alternatives to increase an engine power like exhaust mods, camshafts, open pod filter, stroker kits and so the list goes on...

whether or not u guys know it already or not, i want u guys to know that i drive a Saga BLM... in my own opinion, this car's capability is very limited and i can't go far with it...

so most of u guys would think, why in the world would i invest in supercharging or other modifications a BLM while i can save up the cash and buy a better car?

the reason is i am more about enthusiasted about supercharging a BLM than getting more power out of it. this mod is just about enthusiasm. i dun mind that i getting a small boost out of the supercharger but of course i wun just cling a supercharger unit onto my engine and and say hey i got a supercharger in my car. i am trying not to spend too much in this mod because this is just about enthusiasm. i am not a power crazy person. just wanna have fun.... peace guys... :biggrin:

have u taken a ride in a SC BLM ?? do that first :)

i havent but if u havent too ... you should cause ur about to try something without any heads up on how the power will be once done ...

Vectorx2, I know the fun of having done something new/different. I know someone who boosted a savvy. Not extremely, just enough for 160 hp. I could just imagine a swift owner that disturbs that innocent savvy. Ha ha.

Supercharging is a bit different from turbo. U should study the particular sc unit you planning to use, Don't simply trust shop 100%. You have to understand the pros and cons of the mod. For one is reliability/maintaince. If you were doing this to an old car/second car, i'd understand, but if this is your only car, I don't think it's a good idea. One thing about doing things differently is that the workshop require time to think about setting/installing it right, if you rush them, then obviously work quality suffers. This is also assuming the shop people is very motivated in the first place. :P

Also, if you start increasing power, you may find the standard Saga BLM parts not up to par. Like suspension or brakes, just to name a few.

have u taken a ride in a SC BLM ?? do that first :)

i havent but if u havent too ... you should cause ur about to try something without any heads up on how the power will be once done ...

nope, i havent come across a SCed BLM before... nor i heard anybody did it before...

Vectorx2, I know the fun of having done something new/different. I know someone who boosted a savvy. Not extremely, just enough for 160 hp. I could just imagine a swift owner that disturbs that innocent savvy. Ha ha.
:top:

I second that. brakes are ABSOLUTE RUBBISH!

i kinda felt that too haha

Also, if you start increasing power, you may find the standard Saga BLM parts not up to par. Like suspension or brakes, just to name a few.

actually there will be more mods in between before going to this mod, i am just discussing it in advance... for example, i already planned to change the brakes, brake pump, shock absorbers, springs, cam timing, ECU and etc... supercharger wun be in the list so soon...

so u guys here wun be seeing this mod done so soon... haha... cheers...

but i still hope all the sifus here would still be interested to guide me on this mod... because i wan to make sure everything i do in between is actually leading be towards to a SC mod in my BLM :biggrin:

Write your reply...