Super-Charge

InitialD said:
We are all eager to see the results of your s/c kit for stage 2.

Bro,
Very, very soon...just a little bit longer for final leg of testing and tuning, keep in touch bro...Stage 2 is tough, especially with no mods to pump up the boost but high torque and hp is on the agenda....But was great fun...

gerard

Banzai!!

Elops again!! Erm, i`m thinking of SC my car in the next 2 month. Found a mechanic that can custom SC for my Mivec. Just bring the stuff to him. 1 question though. How much is the market price for the Nissan March engine? Any idea? Cuz this mechanic said i can use the SC from the model. I'm still thinking it over and doing some research. Hahahahaha....... More power or less? I dunno what will happen.

apai_Ngage said:
Elops again!! Erm, i`m thinking of SC my car in the next 2 month. Found a mechanic that can custom SC for my Mivec. Just bring the stuff to him. 1 question though. How much is the market price for the Nissan March engine? Any idea? Cuz this mechanic said i can use the SC from the model. I'm still thinking it over and doing some research. Hahahahaha....... More power or less? I dunno what will happen.

Hi all, refer latest September Hypertune tect talk about supercharger, great info they got there. One point they raise is about matching appropriate supercharger with the engine. X amount of CFM supercharger will suits x litres engine. (Im no expert, so dont know the ratio)

But think logically if Nissan March is 1 Litre Engine (Im not sure just wild guess) and use its small supercharger to match your Mivec which is 1.6 litres, then I would say the charger is too small to you.

To maximize your engine performance you should look for sc that is design for the 1.6 litres engine.. Razaksa used to post a link about japanese sc, I guess the nearest sc for 1.6 is toyota roots blower sc12, I think its come from 4agze engine. Gerald should be very very familiar with this model :D

Just my 0.2 cent

apai_Ngage said:

bro this is my 2 cents;

the march supercharger produces 0.4-0.5 bar max boost, so it will run out of breath above 4k rpm or so and very important you get the right fuelling and ignition timing otherwise can assure you ur engine will knock like crazy and kong out very soon. Best you get someone well experienced in supercharger tuning, I've been told it's entirely different compared to Turbo tuning.

Mivec with high compression engine >11 comp ratio, high cams kick in at 5 krpm...wow thats gonna be quite a challenge...Advise you get a high end piggyback like OBIT to fine tune ur a/f, itc control extra injectors and your mivec opening.

Done properly, you'll be getting crazy amounts of low end torque, your car will pull like mad from take-off, once sc boost reaches max at 5krpm your mivec opens and the high cams kick in another g-force pull take you all the way to redline...slurp slurp slurp...

Bro,

Totally agree with what Thoren/Sazali mentioned. If you get too small a charger, you will probably run into 2 challenges, too strong low end excellaration = clutch / gear box problems + if there is not adequate tuning that comes with it then ........worst

The other probs would be running out of breath at higher rpms, a mivec & V-tech are high revs engines which means reving high to achieve max out hp and I seriously recommend that you take a closer look and study your options again......It would be a nightmare tuning high compression engines like these, with force induction and target to achieve great results...Anyway, have fun with it and do let us know on the development of this project.....

gerard

mmm, any ballpark if I want to custom a SC Kit for my VW Vento 1.6? I am looking for at leat 30HP gain to 130HP from 100HP

Bert said:
mmm, any ballpark if I want to custom a SC Kit for my VW Vento 1.6? I am looking for at leat 30HP gain to 130HP from 100HP

Bro,
Sorry, we cant take any orders for customization work, not right now...This is due to many models which are already in planning and development or testing.....Perhaps in the near future....Keep in touch

gerard

Hi Gerard,

At last, I have found out what is causing the unstable idle.

The cause of it is the roots twin lobe supercharger that you are using, because of the design it causes the air flow into the intake manifold to be in pulses instead of a steady stream and this causes the pulsation/unstable idle, which is similar to using a high duration camshaft.

The new supercharger from say Eaton uses a helical lobe design to reduce the pulsation and gives a smoother idle.

risyia said:
Hi Gerard,

The cause of it is the roots twin lobe supercharger that you are using, because of the design it causes the air flow into the intake manifold to be in pulses instead of a steady stream and this causes the pulsation/unstable idle, which is similar to using a high duration camshaft.

The new supercharger from say Eaton uses a helical lobe design to reduce the pulsation and gives a smoother idle.

Oh :fisheye: Since piggyback can compensate and make high camed car idle smoother, can we use the same tuning to make the sc car idle smoother? :confused:

risyia said:
Hi Gerard,

Bro,
Cool, finally the idling issue is found but the funny thing is neither our cars is running with unstable idle, i idle slightly higher than usual, cant remembers why but was around 1000rpm without ac on and when ac is on then will be around 800rpm...Guess, we have just learn something possibly new then...hehehe...I doubt this reflect on any power loss, just little unstable idling...

gerard

Thoren said:
Oh :fisheye: Since piggyback can compensate and make high camed car idle smoother, can we use the same tuning to make the sc car idle smoother? :confused:

Bro,
A piggyback could smoothen out idling to some point but not entirely.....How's life been bro...

gerard

gerard said:
Bro,
A piggyback could smoothen out idling to some point but not entirely.....How's life been bro...

gerard

Hiya Gerald :hello:, so far so good for me, still in the quest of achieving perfect balance between power and comfort :top:

Eager to see your stage 2 dyno results too :cool:

Thoren said:
Hiya Gerald :hello:, so far so good for me, still in the quest of achieving perfect balance between power and comfort :top:

Eager to see your stage 2 dyno results too :cool:

Bro,
Glad to know your ride is fine...Balance! U mean comfort in ride and handling or actual balance between power and torque...

Stage 2 results will be ready soon, dyno results....Been testing stage 2 some months now...lots of hard work but fun....Keep tuning in...soon, bro...soon...

gerard

Gerard

How r u going bro? Did Jul contact you recently? Btw DHO suggested I increase the compression ratio of my engine from current 10.5 to 10.8 by skimming the engine head. What do you reckon? Thanks.

Cherio
Razaksa

razaksa said:
Gerard

How r u going bro? Did Jul contact you recently? Btw DHO suggested I increase the compression ratio of my engine from current 10.5 to 10.8 by skimming the engine head. What do you reckon? Thanks.

Cherio
Razaksa

Bro,
Hello! There...Yup, Jul did contact me...If you intend to go the NA mod way then yes! skim head for higher compression BUT if you intend to go force induction way in the future, definately NO!...This will complicate matters worst when compression is high, when forced induced....Decide accurately, else do not skim untill much later stage.....There is still room for improvement for your Gen2, so if I were you I would hold on.....

gerard

InitialD said:
What about those who have already skimmed? Got any solutions?

Bro,
For those who had skimmed, how much have you actually skimmed off.....The other solution is a metal head gasket to lower compression but how thick a gasket, well that really depands how much have you removed...If Im not mistaken, the thickest ive hear so far for 93 is 1.5mm...Guess, that will have to work....

gerard

Gerard

I thought so too...Guess I'll just have to wait and see how far the gen can be pushed with current mods before deciding on FI or all out NA mods...

Btw the current set-up with cams and Obit has almost clocked 10,000km without any reliability issues...So I'm planning another session with DHO soon, especially on the high end-rpm. Hope to kautim everything by December..

Cherio
Razaksa

location n contact number plzzzz... i really want install supercharger in my car, satria 1.6 injection... can or not? installation rm5500 can nego?

allop.dunno whether been ask b4..if iswara 1.3 carbie can ker??or only injection type??if got how much hp will increased??