Sudah mau retire la

Originally posted by yolk@Dec 27 2004, 10:03
TRD 2ZZ-GE engine parts technical explanation

http://www.celicasg.com/technicals/2zzge/engine-2zz-2.jpg

On May 2003 a lot of 2ZZ-GE drivers came to install TRD performance parts in TRD direct shop Tama (Tokyo Hachiozi city high warehouse town). 16 media, 25 press were invited for this event to explain the technical part of " TRD 2 ZZ-GE engine upgrade kit". The TRD celica sports M and the Will Vs (both uses the 1.8L VVTL-i 2ZZ-GE engine) were used to showcase the power of this upgrade. This kit was developed with the engine tuning know-how of the TRD. Other high performance parts used were the light weight flywheel, the exhaust manifold, muffler and the sport air filter. Power improvement can be easily attained.

http://www.celicasg.com/technicals/2zzge/2zz-exmani.jpghttp://www.celicasg.com/technicals/2zzge/2zz-muffler.jpghttp://www.celicasg.com/technicals/2zzge/trdex3f.jpg
A direct free air flow combination. Left is the TRD exhaust manifold and the center shows a TRD muffler. On the right is the TRD tray type sport air filter

Many car magazine in June featured this event.

The light weight and compact 2ZZ-GE engine with a bore size of 5.5mm is the smallest bore in the world which uses together with an all aluminum make cylinder block and the adoption aluminum pipe intake manifold.

The installation of the high compression piston, ultra low friction piston ring set inside the engine, port processing of cylinder head was all done in the TRD direct TAMA shop. The highest output gain was approximately 20bhp and largest torque of 20Nm. This improvement was achieved by installing all engine parts in full. In addition the moment of inertia was reduced by the fact that the lightweight flywheel was installed. Sharp engine response could be felt.

http://www.celicasg.com/technicals/2zzge/2zz-fly_wheel.jpg
TRD light weight fly wheel

http://www.celicasg.com/technicals/2zzge/2zz-piston-zoom.jpg
High compression piston

The TRD piston is made by aluminum forging as compared to the standard aluminum casting process. On top of the light weight characteristic (70g) the TRD piston has administered molybdenum (A polyvalent metallic element that resembles chromium and tungsten in its properties; used to strengthen and harden steel) processing to the skirt section. On the standard piston only iron plating processing is being administered to the surface. Both forging and use of molybdenum guarantees sliding characteristic which is more superior and efficient.

The high compression ratio is acheived by modifying the form of the piston crown. The modified 2ZZ-GE engine now has 13.0 compression ratio as compared to the stock 11.5. A TRD logo is engraved on top of the crown.

http://www.celicasg.com/technicals/2zzge/engine-2zz-3.jpg

http://www.celicasg.com/technicals/2zzge/2zz.jpg

The modified 2ZZ-GE engine improves almost 15Kw (20hp) of power and gain a maximum torque of 20Nm with the stock ECU.
okay i done some more homework, here's a little more info to share, not to say anybody is right or wrong.. just wanna share info ;)

Lets just talk about the ENGINE only, not the suspension or somethign else that TRD might do to the car.

Master Yoga mentioned that the engine got a new:
-lightened piston
-reprofiled camshaft
-lightened flywheel
-exhaust manifold
-muffler system
-sport air filter
-probably rebuild the whole engine, blue print and stuff..
-did i miss anything?

and the power gain from those mods is 20hp, with stock ECU. What sifoo yoga say is true, do a little reseach on TRD's website too, they even got the same pic. http://toyota-trd.jp/en/news/trd008.html

element, you say the ECU alone won't get you 30HP, well i have to agree that, totally agree, cuz:
http://www.todaracing.com/products/honda_k20a/engine_kit.html
from the link you provided, i found that the 50++horsepower figure you provide isn't just the engine kit.

Our stock RSX Type-S produced 171.9hp to the wheel as measured on a chassis dyno. The addition of an intake, header, and exhaust increased power from the stock 171.9hp to 195.5hp. Adding the TODA Engine Kit increased power to 229.4hp. The TODA Engine kit adds 33.9hp at the wheels. That's a total gain of 57.5hp gain over stock while maintaining smooth factory drivability. But peak hp figures alone don't do justice to the remarkable power and torque gains throughout the powerband.

quoted from the website. The 57.5hp gain include the engine kit plus INJEN CAI plus Toda Exhaust manifold plus Mugen exhaust system. (3 aftermarket tuner vs TRD.. no fair :ph34r: ). The engine kit alone only gives 33.9hp. ofcourse i can't say anything cuz the 33.9hp gain got something to do with other mods too, i'm sure the camshaft have to depend on the intake and exhaust manifold to determind how much more power it made. more to this later.

The engine kit include:
-Toda spec N2 cam
-Toda uprated valve spring
-Toda N2 ECU reflash (you send in your stock ECU and flash it with new mapping, assuming that the one 2ZZGE have is "stock" mean no flashing with new mapping, someone.. yoga.. whoever.. help me verify this, can't find any info)

oh sure... they don't have a high comp lightened piston, but lets neglect it first.

lets talk about the camshaft, and about the hp gain, about torque gain....

Want to mention that i dunno what's the new reprofiled 2ZZGE cam's duration is so can't really make comparison. But here's some info:

2ZZGE power gain from TRD mods:
20horsepower
10lb.-ft torque
(stock 2ZZGE spec obtained from http://www.toyota.com/vehicles/2005/celica/specs.html)
K20A power gain from toda engine kit (and other upgrades from INJEN and MUGEN):
57.5hp
36.8lb-ft torque.

how do i justify this? well i can't, but i lots of info for ppl here to think.. maybe sifoo masters can do better. Lets start:

- both engine got a new muffler/exhaust system, exhaust manifold, and a new camshaft.
- K20A got an ECU reflash (guess its where all the extra torque came from)
- K20A got an N2 spec cam, http://www.todaracing.com/products/honda_k20a/camshafts.html , and IMO its gotta be higher than the reprofiled 2ZZGE cam, cuz its still run on stock ECU, can't go too far, thus less power gain. Note that the N2 spec vtec cam have 12mm lift for both intake and exhaust, while the stock vvtli cam is at 11mm intake and 10mm exhaust, not sure about the reprofiled cams.
- high comprasion piston. increasing from 11.5:1 to 13:1 won't get you too much hp. Car tuners should know the power is harder to harness as the compresion ratio get higher. You only get little power gain from 11.5:1 to 13:1 compare to 10:1 to 11.5:1.
-Toyota always seems to be a little bit conservative.
-for god sake we are comparing 2liter engine and 1.8liter engine :wacko:

and a question to Element,
you say the Toda engine kit is just bolt on, yeah sure for the consumer. But to the end they are doing business as well, IMHO i don't think they will use a beat up K20A that someone sold to them for 500bucks to do the dyno, its gotta be a rebuilded engine, stock, probably no port and polish but big chance they balanced the engine already.

if i say anything wrong pls point out.. dun flame me :ph34r:

Originally posted by eddie@Dec 28 2004, 22:14
congrats sifu yolk...... :)
I also congrats to sifu yolk for finally be able to own a toyota celica! wahhh really jealous la.. but anyway good for u la yoga the SEG can keep aside for normal driving.. heheehehehe... :)

Regards,
Mike

Rollakid, WOW! First of all I'm very impressed with the homework. Again, I stress I said that the toda engine kit + bolt ons. Not that the kit is a bolt on itself. Secondly, I noticed in your post that it was 3 tuners against 1. Which is totally not true. How you got the 3 I don't understand. The Injen intake and Mugen exhaust is nothing more than a bolt-on and minor mod. First off Toda used Injen because they don't produce intakes for cars. Secondly they used a Toda manifold and Mugen exhaust because once again they do not produce full exhausts. I will stand corrected if there is proof that they do make intakes and full exhaust systems. I'm not bashing Toyota either. I used to be an owner myself until the costs of maintaning the weird hybird my mech had built caused me nightmares :lol:

Again, if you thought the K20A comparison to the ZZ is unfair, then compare it to the B18C ( plus the R of course). I find it to be unfair as well as the B18C is an older engine and aftermarkets parts are aplenty. If you notice most Japn tuners have also taken the b18c to unimaginable limits ( JUN, Toda, Spoon). It's very enlightening comparison. Thanks Rollakid.

In general, if you do notice, Toyota does not really have intentions to compete with Honda in the lower displacement category. Toyota is a much bigger company than Toyota in the worldwide market compared to Honda so therefore they do have bigger perspectives and have a generally more engine in many different layouts. If you do notice, Toyota does lean to force induction more on 4 bangers and 6 bangers. 3s-gte and the 2jz-gte. toyota is also probably the first Jap company that has gone through then Western revolution and uses v8 in their lines very often. Check out the Lexus lines.

Rollakid,
fuiyohhhhhhhhhhhh .... too free ka nowdays !?!?!? heheheheh very good in taking the initiative to know more about the 2zzge vs k20a ... but we are talking about racing in sepang with a road car which in this case will be the celica vs the dc5 .. yes no doubt the celica has lesser horses compared to the mighty dc5 but due to it's lighter chassis and the spot weld work done by trd we hope the trd celica will have better handling and more balanced/tweaked/tuned chassis compared to DC5 ... but no doubt about it the DC5 is already a very well tuned car. Hats of to Honda for producing such a well balanced car. If want to make it fair let's put the same 2zzge into the MRS and go head to head against the DC5 ... muahahahahahha .. after all we are talking about circuit racing here and not drag. Ultimately power to weight ratio with a well balanced suspension and brake setup will win the race but no matter how mighty the car is it always depends on the driver at the end of the day.

Element,
Honda has always set the benchmark for most NA engines specially the 4 bangers ... they definately know how to harness the maximum potential out of the engines ... hats off to them ...

Mike,
hahhahaha if I can afford to buy this car I wouldn't want to buy it laaaaaaa ... hahahahaha ... would rather look at a 4wd or RWD ... enuff of FF already laaaaaaaa :P :D :lol:

If want to make it fair let's put the same 2zzge into the MRS and go head to head against the DC5 ... muahahahahahha .. after all we are talking about circuit racing here and not drag.

:lol: :lol:
like this sure DC5 kenot match liao...like those in BestMotoring kah? :lol:

gah~ do the homework i forgot watch tv :ph34r:

Element,
i think toda do manufacture exhaust system, even got N1 spec, at least for AE86, dunno the rest.

when you mention this, i couldn't help thinking that toda's package are usually not street legal, and are for racing purpose. It also didn't mention about the Mugen exhaust system it is using, no information on whether it is street legal or not. Maybe its why it gain such a big horsepower.

The muffler TRD is using for 2ZZGE seems pretty stock for a newbie, guess its a quiet tail muffler.

Yolk,
have to agree. if the celica and the DC5 really go down to the track, then have to see how much improvement TRD had made to the chasis and the handling. If give you drive ar sure break record for NA under 2.0liter catagory liau corner no brake :ph34r:

now only u know sifoo yolk is the fasterestest in corners aahh ?? huhahahahaahaha ... why ??? coz SIFOO ACOUSTIC SAID SO !!! huahahahahahaahahhhaa ...

COZ ACOUSTIC SEZ SO!! :lol: (say it with steve austin's slang)

i hope this trend will last a while :lol:

should say ".. AND THATS THE BOTTOM LINEEEEEEEEE COZ ACOUSSSTICC SAID SO"

-or-

"if you think FF celica have FR feel.. GIMME A HELL YEAH!"

sorry sifoo yolk hijack tread for abit of fun. Chin not around? when he come back? later kena kau kau :ph34r:

Something I do agree in the thread is the ZZ in a MR-S chassis sure will blow any 2 litre NA car out of the water. Great balance, light chassis and a crisp engine... damn...

No MR-S owner here thinking of such a conversion ah???