Steering problem

edgar m.

i tried 2 turn the steering wheel but it produce some kind of a sound like erkerk..can anybody tell me wat iz the problem?thanx:regular_smile:

I have experience also, some ideal :)

1.) check steering oil level enough or not?

2.) check there's any rubber torn, specially the pump area, sand might go in.

3.) or sometime if turn the steering to dead end dun release, it will sound like that also, any how the steering pump should have problem...time for service :D but seldom mechanic wan to do that, coz need to dismantle many parts, try flush the entire power steering system lo :)

4.) another scene is slow turning in the conner the sound (klo klo..) will come, those might b drive shaft rubber have torn & the oil inside have leak, better get to service faster if not need to change entire drive shaft, kao eh XD

5.) and also when slow turning in the conner with some bumping road, there some sound (ek ek...) like metal rubbing, the steering rod which connect to lower arms rubber might torn, need to change :)

Hope this help.

you might want to try to post this under general car talk, this is the wrong section for it, unless your steering also controled by your ecu.. that will be damn cool XD i want it too..

anyway, blue covered the more common problem already, if your steering rack and tire everything stock lar..

hope so..then wat did u do bout thiz problem? took it 2 the shop..wat did they told u?Oops..sorry 4 the rong section coz i thought it's in Tech..post it in other site N they moved it to techical..so i thought t's like wise..anyway thanx BLue677

rollakid said:
you might want to try to post this under general car talk, this is the wrong section for it, unless your steering also controled by your ecu.. that will be damn cool XD i want it too..

anyway, blue covered the more common problem already, if your steering rack and tire everything stock lar..
steering with cpu... coolzz... i even wondering the PS controller can modify to control the car, sure i'll make a good drift XD

edgar m. said:
hope so..then wat did u do bout thiz problem? took it 2 the shop..wat did they told u?Oops..sorry 4 the rong section coz i thought it's in Tech..post it in other site N they moved it to techical..so i thought t's like wise..anyway thanx BLue677
A good way to learn more, troubleshoot yrself b4 send to factory, some minor thing can DIY.

Jack up the car take down one wheel put underneath yr car where nearby the jack (if unlucky u kick away the jack when crawling around the wheel might save u :P). Take a long & strong flat head screwdriver go underneath, try using the screwdriver pry any chassis that seperate by rubber, if yr bared hand can move them, no doubt the 1 Ton ++ metal can do more. so at least u have an ideal wat's going on to yr chassis b4 sending to factory :)

After sending to factory troubleshoot if mechanic say wat's suit u find out b4 (or may b more) then at least u r satisfy with no extra charge or simply change of parts.

If DIY make sure u have air gun around, always bring sample to find spare parts, not every seller familiar with all parts, u might get a wrong model or wrong size.

Happy DIY :)

rollakid said:

so..u were saying , wat duz it meant by steering controlled by the ECU?..i mean the benefit..