ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

Lol, I had no plan to go DAWS for any check up initially, and it's a funny :stupid: story bro Shan.. I took the keys from my mech's workshop office at noon, he was not in at that time (although he had already called to tell me I can collect my car). So I drove it out, thinking I'd just take it for a spin then come back and give him any feedback. As I drove and drove, I thought I'd just give my grandma a visit since I was relatively near Ampang. Then after leaving my grandma's place, I thought: since I'm so near Pandan Indah, why not just drop by DAWS and take a look? And "take a look" then became "hang out till 8pm"..:rofl:

Yeah, the cable was too tight if I'm not mistaken. Well, my mech was working on that this afternoon, so I guess it should be good by tmr..

About Mr. Yau's BT auto, I think the main thing that made all the difference (apart from the exhaust, which I'm quite sure now is the culprit for my car) is his emanage.. Mr. Yau has stated before that he didn't gain a great deal of horses from installing the emanage, but 1-3k rpm driving was much more responsive and pleasurable..:burnout:

Bro Shan: Well, the car is really a pain to drive now, really really sluggish and hardly any improvement on the previous 4A-C at low ends, maybe even worse!:bawling: Only diff now is that I can rev all the way up to 8000rpm now (4A-C was already screaming like a chicken being slaughtered at 5-6k) although it takes time to do so. On this current drivability.. I can't even bear to drive to Sunway, what more Sitiawan!:bawling: Btw, abt my msg this morning, it wasn't the absorbers, it was the brakes.. Hand brake cable tugging causing unwanted slight rear wheel braking on uneven road surfaces..

Mr. Yau: Yeah, I agree about the adding fuel to this thread part.. Like this now, with you back, with bro Shan being more active, with Jai back, and with me here (hehe I tak tau malu :reddy:) then only fun mar!:biggrin: About the "excitement", though..:hmmmm::hmmmm2: Hehe, Mr. Yau, you waited 4 months for your BEAMS, so you should know lor..:flute:

Anyway, just to let you guys know, I got my Corona back yesterday, after 3 long, long months.. Even though it's a BT 6 speed, drivability is very poor now:slug: Went over to DAWS right after collecting my car (and paying my grandma a short visit), Danny was kind enough to take a look at my car.. His first comment was that it's very (in fact, unusually) sluggish, revs up very slowly.. He suspects that it's due to the restrictive stock exhaust of the Corona, and that things should be much better after changing the exhaust and maybe the headers. Hung out at Danny's workshop after that till 8, test drove Ivan's SEG during that time, the difference was so evident that the only thing I could say when I got out of his car was "What the :thefinger:.. So much difference.." I would be so happy if my car was even half that pleasant to drive right now!:banghead:

Car's back in the workshop now to settle some niggling rear brake issues, should (and again I emphasize SHOULD) be getting it back tmr..

Anyway, big shoutout and thanks to Ivan, Danny, Tommy and Davy (sorry if I spelled your name wrongly) for the hospitality yesterday, to Ivan for letting me test drive your car and for treating me to the drinks, and to Danny for checking out my car! Not sure whether you guys are going to read this, but Thanks a lot, I really really appreciate it!:biggrin::biggrin::adore::adore:

BT 6 speed! wow!!!

Jai: Haha, you say "wow!!!" now only because you haven't driven my car yet.. If you can see first hand, how a "BT 6 speed" struggles to even overtake a Myvi, then you would be saying "wth!!!" instead..:rofl:

i think corona too heavy for BT.

The Corona is actually lighter than you think, bro. I've weighed mine before (I have a weighing bridge in my factory).The Corona with BT is only 1160 kg & the Corona with the BEAMS is only 1240 kg. This is including the speaker box etc. & 3/4 tank of fuel on both cars.

Of course it's slightly heavier than the LE or AE86 la but overall, it's about the same with the SEG.

You can compare the weight of the newer models of Toyota here (& divide the pounds by 2.2 to convert to kg): http://auto.howstuffworks.com/auto-parts/towing/towing-capacity/vehicle/curb-weight38.htm

The 2009 Corolla weighs about the same as my BEAMS Corona; 1238 kg !

The Corona is actually lighter than you think, bro. I've weighed mine before (I have a weighing bridge in my factory).The Corona with BT is only 1160 kg & the Corona with the BEAMS is only 1240 kg. This is including the speaker box etc. & 3/4 tank of fuel on both cars.

Of course it's slightly heavier than the LE or AE86 la but overall, it's about the same with the SEG.

You can compare the weight of the newer models of Toyota here (& divide the pounds by 2.2 to convert to kg): http://auto.howstuffworks.com/auto-parts/towing/towing-capacity/vehicle/curb-weight38.htm

The 2009 Corolla weighs about the same as my BEAMS Corona; 1238 kg !

hey bro yau,

wanna ask, i saw your car is fitted wit the bonnet scoop.. can i ask it comes from which model???:hmmmm::hmmmm:

hey bro yau,

wanna ask, i saw your car is fitted wit the bonnet scoop.. can i ask it comes from which model???:hmmmm::hmmmm:

I've been asked that question may times before, unfortunately I don't know what model it came from coz I only bought the scoop from the chop shop by itself; it did not come with a bonnet. Even when I asked the guy from the chop shop, he didn't know coz they didn't bring back the bonnet; only brought back the scoop. Initially he wanted the scoop for himself but changed his mind or something, that's why he sold it to me.

hahaha...bcos looks very nice eh the airscoop angle...really can draw air into engine bay...

something wrong when BT put into corona. power bt tak boleh keluar habis!!!

Hello guys, nice discussion you are having there 'bout da bonnet scoops..

Bro Shan, my car is still in the workshop.. Had it back just for 1 day, I might as well consider that I never had it back..:mad: Like you said, it was the handbrake cable problem. They shortened the disc brake cable based on the length of the original drum brake cable, but this unforeseen problem popped up. Apparently, you can shorten the cables but to lengthen it again is difficult/troublesome/not advisable/impossible, so my foreman had to get another cable from the chopshops to mod it in again. Will let you know how it turns out. For now, just feeling really..:banghead:

Bro Jai, I haven't driven that many cars before so I wouldn't be the best person to make any comparisons, but I do think that the Corona feels pretty light when driving (compared to my Accord CA5 and Perdana at home anyway), as such its stability at high speed cornering, using stock suspension and with front & rear anti-roll bars fitted, is also not comparable to those 2 cars I mentioned. I haven't driven an LE or a stock SE/SEG before so I dare not comment, but like Mr. Yau has pointed out, our Corona's are not that heavy after all, right?
Hehe, about your remark that "power bt tak boleh keluar habis", I'll comment on that once I've settled my endorsement and changed my exhaust setup.. But I don't think the power of the BT has very much to do with the chassis it's in.. I guess it depends much more on the health of the engine..

ae101rulez, yea I agree with you that Mr. Yau's bonnet scoop is damn chun.. Serves well both functionally and visually, much rarer compared to those CAI pipes too :love:

Mr. Yau, your Corona BT is 1160kg including all the boom boxes and the UR bars? IMO that's still pretty light.. Many pages back, when I first joined this thread, Naz aka Metaru posted that the ST150 curb weight is 1020kg, if I'm not mistaken. Not sure whether that was with stock 1S engine, or that was the weight of his own Corona which had the SVT 20v. My guess would be the former, as that would explain where the 140kg difference comes from: the 4A-GE, the boom boxes, the UR bars etc..
Also, Mr. Yau, in our first few phone conversations you recommended 2 brands of tires which are bang for buck. I remember one of them was Yokohama, what was the other..? Bridgestone? Goodyear? Falken? Pardon me for my bad memory..:tongue:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaist150
something wrong when BT put into corona. power bt tak boleh keluar habis!!!

Got such thing???/QUOTE]

:laugh: I seriously can't agree with you on that, bro. Keluar tak habis kalo, perah lagi le...

Mr. Yau, your Corona BT is 1160kg including all the boom boxes and the UR bars? IMO that's still pretty light.. Many pages back, when I first joined this thread, Naz aka Metaru posted that the ST150 curb weight is 1020kg, if I'm not mistaken. Not sure whether that was with stock 1S engine, or that was the weight of his own Corona which had the SVT 20v. My guess would be the former, as that would explain where the 140kg difference comes from: the 4A-GE, the boom boxes, the UR bars etc..
Also, Mr. Yau, in our first few phone conversations you recommended 2 brands of tires which are bang for buck. I remember one of them was Yokohama, what was the other..? Bridgestone? Goodyear? Falken? Pardon me for my bad memory../QUOTE]

I weighed mine with the spare tyre, jack, tissue box, etc inside. Just like I drive it daily. I guess probably the tissue box weighed more...:laugh:

I've used quite a few brands but I'm only trying to strike a balance for the best bang for the buck. Bridgestone's Potenza range is good but they're also very pricey. So I find Yokohama is cheaper compared to the Bridgestone but I can't say the same for their Neova AD08, though. I'm now using the Falken ZE 912 on the rear with no complaints so far.

Sorry, I've never liked Goodyear tyres. I was told that Toyo is quite good too but I've never tried it before. Then again, this is only my humble opinion as different people have different definition on the word "good".

On the BT subject, I think the engine is quite good la; to a certain extend but IMHO, it's still a little over rated.

Ok.. Thanks for the input Mr. Yau =)

Been on the lookout for new tires, the current ones fitted in my car came with the rims and are from the chopshop: Potenza G3 but it was manufactured in 2001 and thread is pretty bare; only 30% or so left, so it's just serving as a temporary set until I get new ones.

Been using this page as a reference, even though the prices might be a little outta date now:
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/wheel-and-tyre/328915-tire-price-list-zth-2.html

I'm going for 195/55/15, by the way. I also thought of getting the Potenza RE001 (You have a pair of those on your car too, right?) but flinched when I saw the price. I don't think the 195/55/15 is made in Japan either, so I really wonder whether it's worth that price. I'm not looking for real top-of-the-range tires actually since they are not for touge or track use anyway; just spirited, comfortable and leisure daily driving:driver:, and also for whacking corners on the many occasions I feel naughty:burnout:

Hehe, actually I'm just a newbie and wouldn't be able to tell much difference between the tires unless they're really really crap.. All this time I've been driving my dad's Perdana with the infamous Goodyear NCT5; and my Accord, my uncle's Sentra and previously my Corona with the Michelin Energy XM1, all with no complains.:rolleyes:

Mr Yau, remember you told me that Michelin is more expensive? Surprisingly, the price of the Michelin PP2 is pretty competitive, and I'm seriously considering getting them. Even though I'm not sure whether they're as performance oriented compared to the others like Potenza, I guess they should be sufficient for my driving style.. From a list of these tires: Potenza RE001, Michelin PP2, Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (has pretty good reviews in car mags), Yokohama AD07 (AD08 not considered because the price..:stoned:) and maybe Toyo T1R, with a flexible budget but preferably below RM1k, what would your choice be, Mr. Yau? Right now I'm rooting for PP2.. What do you think?

well for me it's all about where it's made... generally ppl say that when the tire is made in malaysia, it's ment for malaysian weather, well i guess that may be rite, but the falkens i bought was from indonesia, within 6 months i wore them out...driving normally on my corona...well i guess that indonesia and malaysia are on different climate... so choose wisely...u wouldn't want ur expensive tires to ware out faster than usual.... than there's this other problem.. road noise... the harder compounds will give u longer time b4 needing to change them but are loud! and less grip in the rain... so there...more headache for u now!:rofl:

I have a different definition on "good" tyres. My priority will be the grip' especially in the wet. Other factors like where's made, noise, lasting & etc. is not that important to me. That's why I said, different ppl has different definition of good.

I've been using Japan made tyres, many sets before but with no complaints. So if climate is a factor, then I think Japan's climate & M'sia will very different. Probably what Shan experienced was an isolated case coz Falken had some issues with their tyres some time ago, that's why I've only used Falken for the first time (present) after I checked with my friend who owns a Falken chain of tyre shops. He told me the problem has been rectified since, then only I dare to use. I usually buy all my tyres (other brands) from his shop, although his is mainly selling Falken.

---------- Post added at 11:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:38 PM ----------

RR,

Michelin has many models. The better performance ones are quite costly but even the lower range ones should ok kua... I've not used Michelin brand for a loooong time; mainly due to its price. So I can't really comment on them.

---------- Post added at 11:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:41 PM ----------