ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

hahaha, so humble my friend:biggrin:

Ey, sifu 7,

Want ask you something lar; I fitted my BT exhaust cam with an adjustable pulley. Some people say that it will improve performance but I felt, it's worse than the standard cam pulley wor... Already tried both Advance & Retard but no satisfactory result but it's only trial & error. I've not done dyno tuning yet but from the respond I get, I think it should've have no improvements at all lar. Or izit bcoz I already fitted E-Manage with Ignition harness ? Maybe from there already tune maximum already, that's why the pulley have no effect ?

Maybe AT & MT different coz at some degrees, the idling becomes so eratic, like hi lift cam idling, then when shift into "D", mati engine.

Here's some pix of it:

The adjustable pulley.
http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/DSC00398.jpg

1. Standard pulley.
http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/14112008.jpg

2. Pulley removed.
http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/14112008001.jpg

3. Adjustable pulley fitted.
http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/14112008007.jpg

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/14112008006.jpg

Now I'm thinking "catch worm" already.:banghead:

i've heard of dynamat & brown bread, but i've never heard of superlon:hmmmm: my car so far never use any sound deadin materials coz still very sound proof... but must start thinkin of puttin sum now...:biggrin::biggrin:

I don't know much about soundproofing coz :listen: the driver (me) is already heavy enough already. so I don't want to add any more extra weight on my car.:laugh:

oh ya... it's a very sad sad day for me...:bawling::bawling::bawling: on saturday while driving back from work... my timing belt tore the cover n came out... got stuck with the aircond pulleys than... waited for tow truck 5 hours to come from seremban... take back to a good trustable mechanic from home... plus i know the price is still cheaper at seremban than kl...

So sorry to hear that, bro. what caused it ? Is your timing belt change overdue or is your crank pulley's rails worn & became sharp causing it to cut the belt ?:confused:

I thought you told me that you recently did up your engine. Did the mechanic do a good job or could it be a result of his negligence that caused the belt to snap ?

Any valves bent ?

What's the estimated cost of repair ? :listen: If it's gonna cost you a bomb to repair, then maybe it's time you consider other alternatives....

yup...i just did the recent overhaul on the engine... should be around june... my mec told that the timing belt area was good... but recently when i drove fast around 140 to 150 ....tha engine goes in to overheatin... when check the radiator, empty no water... so fill up...always after i come back from work must fill up radiator... than the other day when the belt broke loose, the water pump leaked out all the water...so i suspect the water pumps is the problem... still waitin on my babys news....it may be laid to rest in peace if the cost is too high... until i get a new engine la... now using mums charade g11...:slug::slug: but saves a lot of petrol!

Did you run in the engine after overhaul before you whacked 140-150 km/h ? I mean you need to break in / run in about 1000 km before you can rev high, bro. Did you do that coz I see no reason for the water to run dry right after an overhaul & cause overheating; if the job was done properly.

Once the water is getting less, there must be something wrong somewhere. Hoses, radiator or water pump are the usual suspect & delay in repair will cause overheating. Water pump leaking normally occurs when the engine is running, so sometimes people overlook it.

Hmm.... new engine... & what engine would that be, bro ? The same or :listen: something more Spicy like the 3S-GTE ....:wavey:, perhaps ? poison.....:biggrin:

ok...bout the breakin in part....i may have not done that...drove straight away on the highway fast... u c, i was always sufferin with the lost of power for many years... now suddenly engine was good... so DRIVE FAST was the only thing my brains thought... my mechanic just called... said the "WAP" or vapor rite? was the reason the timing belt slipt... so he will change the water pump...than c if all else is working...than he will advise me further...hoping for just a small bill!!!!:adore::adore: but never fear... the 3s will go in... but maybe without the turbo... just keepin in simple... with 18' rims!

Wow, "Vapour" caused the timing belt to snap; that's really a new one for me.:hmmmm2: Didn't know that the belts were so fragile.

So partly it was your own fault for not heeding the caution.:laugh: So I suppose it's good news that the damages were minimal, huh.:nurse:

& the bad news is that the 3S won't be going in anytime soon:smokin:.

By the looks of it, the Corona Gathering looks doomed....or at least, it will not happen in 2008 as everyone's car is out of commission for the time being.:rolleyes:

the vapour didn't make the belt snap... it just ran out of the pulleys... he told me belt still good condition after taking it out this time also... but i still asked him to change it... surprisin how good that belt was... still good after all this abuse....no crack or chips... nothing! but last nite he changed the belt, water pump and radiator top cover... all in 470! damn cheap plus engine is back to being rev happy! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Good to hear that your baby's up & running again, bro.:congrats:

fuuuhhh bro, good to hear yr car running again:driver::driver:

yup... that was a close one... mechanic said that this 1s model engine's head is very high... so the distance between the valves n piston is far... advantage of a standard engine!!:biggrin::biggrin:

:listen: Which also means the compression ratio is very low, bro. Generally speaking; for NA engines, the higher the compression the more power it produces. For forced induction, i.e. turbo or supercharge, lower is better; so that there'll be room for higher boost.

Ey, sifu 7,

Want ask you something lar; I fitted my BT exhaust cam with an adjustable pulley. Some people say that it will improve performance but I felt, it's worse than the standard cam pulley wor... Already tried both Advance & Retard but no satisfactory result but it's only trial & error. I've not done dyno tuning yet but from the respond I get, I think it should've have no improvements at all lar. Or izit bcoz I already fitted E-Manage with Ignition harness ? Maybe from there already tune maximum already, that's why the pulley have no effect ?

Maybe AT & MT different coz at some degrees, the idling becomes so eratic, like hi lift cam idling, then when shift into "D", mati engine.

Now I'm thinking "catch worm" already.:banghead:

sorry bro, just saw your post:biggrin:
about the adjustable cam pulley im not so sure(cause i dont have money to play with that ma:biggrin:), but do heard from my friends, they all said if just the pulley but no performance cam, there wont have much different or respond. 5% also tarak wo.

oh ya besides did you or your friends interested with manual gearbox with TRD 1.5way LSD?

:biggrin:18 days n countin for my rear lites! can't wait!!!:biggrin: low compression engine? damn... thought it was a good thing... never mind...still :love: the car!

my mechanics car in kota damansara... my clutch pump n the picture of my lower arms bushes!