ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

Dude, are you sure he's using the original E-manage BLUE?
Actually, each fella will have their own story... the best bet is to go to the tuner and get feedback from them. It would be better still if the tuner has worked with BEAMS and so on.
Btw, if you happen to be in Menglembu... you might want to check out Raceline (Ah kit). He was the one who told me that E-manage BLUE can be used to control VVT on 20V. And I think he would say that E-manage BLUE can work on your BEAMS as well.

Basically, the E-manage BLUE can be installed on any engine provided the tuner knows how to do it. I also don't understand why one fella said E-manage will reset itself when installed with BEAMS as the E-manage has ROM which will not reset/erase by itself.

Like the 20V, you will need the ignition harness to prevent the BEAMS ECU from retarding ignition as you tune the E-manage. In most modern engines, the ECU will self retard ignition when it feels that the a/f is too lean/rich or when knocking occurs. So, this is where the ignition harness comes into play to cheat the ECU yet again. Besides, more power is only possible with the ignition map and E-manage is basically useless without it!

Actually, I'm still figuring out how/where to place the camera...:laugh:.

I be your camera man!!! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Bro Yaw, your car really nice and neat!!! Like it so much!!! Not like my rusty ST150...

Sad to heard that your machine got the hiccup problem... hope u can solve it very soon... Jz wonder that when we can meet up for TT n look look see see your monster.....

Cheers...

Actually, each fella will have their own story... the best bet is to go to the tuner and get feedback from them. It would be better still if the tuner has worked with BEAMS and so on.
Btw, if you happen to be in Menglembu... you might want to check out Raceline (Ah kit). He was the one who told me that E-manage BLUE can be used to control VVT on 20V. And I think he would say that E-manage BLUE can work on your BEAMS as well.

Basically, the E-manage BLUE can be installed on any engine provided the tuner knows how to do it. I also don't understand why one fella said E-manage will reset itself when installed with BEAMS as the E-manage has ROM which will not reset/erase by itself.

Like the 20V, you will need the ignition harness to prevent the BEAMS ECU from retarding ignition as you tune the E-manage. In most modern engines, the ECU will self retard ignition when it feels that the a/f is too lean/rich or when knocking occurs. So, this is where the ignition harness comes into play to cheat the ECU yet again. Besides, more power is only possible with the ignition map and E-manage is basically useless without it!

Ya lor, it's so confusing & the other thing is, there's not many tuners around that has any experience tuning the Beams. So guess I'll be the guinea pig then.

I be your camera man!!! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Bro Yaw, your car really nice and neat!!! Like it so much!!! Not like my rusty ST150...

Sad to heard that your machine got the hiccup problem... hope u can solve it very soon... Jz wonder that when we can meet up for TT n look look see see your monster.....

Cheers...

Yeah, mine's nothing like your ST150 coz yours is a fire breathing monster ! Mine's only a cicak if compare to :adore: fire breathing dragon...:rofl::rofl:

Anyway, thanks for your kind compliments, bro.:biggrin:

Yeah, I'm looking forward to meeting you guys too. Let me get my car endorsed by the JPJ first, then I'd feel more comfortable moving around.

202R~
c u during cny...
after day 3 of cny b4 da full moon chap goh mei...
sorry bro... syarikat has not confirmed how many day dedicate 4 da cny holiday yet...
=)

202R~
c u during cny...
after day 3 of cny b4 da full moon chap goh mei...
sorry bro... syarikat has not confirmed how many day dedicate 4 da cny holiday yet...
=)

Please let me know as early possible, k. My workshop'll be closed for a week during CNY & I'll try to adjust my off day.

Hello bro you.....how about strut bar???

Sorry Wan,

Been very busy, my company now doing the ISO thing, so I've no time to go to the foundry yet. If you find one, buy first lor, no need to wait for me if it's urgent. So sorry for the delay.:adore:

Sorry Wan,

Been very busy, my company now doing the ISO thing, so I've no time to go to the foundry yet. If you find one, buy first lor, no need to wait for me if it's urgent. So sorry for the delay.:adore:

ok....bro,u suspension what brand??how much u buy....my corona very old.i hope can convert same with u beam..

I'm using Racing Gear (Jpn) at present & the other set is JIC as spare. Bought at RM 1k+.

What do mean your by your Corona is very old :hmmmm: ? Mine new ? :rofl:

Seriously, don't waste time & $$ converting a Beams into a Corona like our model, trust me.

1st of all, the body is too old & weak. The halfcut's more expensive than the car itself.

2ndly, The Corona's smaller than the Celica ST202/3. So space is a main issue & it's going to be a nightmare for your mechanic. By the time the dashboard is fitted, the space in your car will very similiar with that of a 2 door car.

3rdly, the engine will probably outlast the body of the car ! :rofl:

So if you really want to play with Beams, I suggest that you dump it in the ST170/1 Corona. I think that's a much more solid body as compared to our rusty bucket. It's also very cheap now; about RM 10k +- but too bad I still can't afford it.

I dropped by to see Ah Kit on my way home yesterday. According to him, the blue e-manage cannot be used on the Beams. Can't recall if he said he fitted or heard of 1 MRS with a Beams, it went nuts. He advised me to use the Ultimate.

He also said something rather contradictory to what I heard from N1 regarding the V-Manage. According to N1, the V-Manage can only be used together with the Ultimate. It can't be used by itself. So meaning, first you must have an Ultimate before you can use the V-Manage but Ah Kit told me that the V-Manage can used alone. :hmmmm: So I don't know who's right & who's not.

Maybe I'll call up William from Trial to ask him about it. If not, I'll check it direct with Trust, I guess.

bro yaw u got any 3S turbo kaki? i got a set of 3SGTE TRD plug cable for sale, still very new....
if got pls let me know ya, thank you!!

Bro Yau, V-manage can work without Ultimate... however, Greddy recommends it to be used with Ultimate for complete tuning.
Besides, I read that V-manage and other camcon stuff is not recommended for stock BEAMS as you might lose out low end power.
Anyways, hows the registration thingy going on?

bro yaw u got any 3S turbo kaki? i got a set of 3SGTE TRD plug cable for sale, still very new....
if got pls let me know ya, thank you!!

Sorry 7, so far there's only 1 3S-GTE in my place & he's already using Splitfire plug cable; if I remember correctly.

Do know anyone selling Supra 4 pot brakes ? My friend's looking for them.

Bro Yau, V-manage can work without Ultimate... however, [COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot][COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot]Greddy[/FONT][/FONT][/color][/color] recommends it to be used with Ultimate for complete tuning.
Besides, I read that V-manage and other camcon stuff is not recommended for stock BEAMS as you might lose out low end power.
Anyways, hows the registration thingy going on?
OIC, thanks very much for the info. I was just asking but I'm not that interested in the V-Manage coz considering the price & all, it's still a piggy back only. So IMHO, for that amount of $, I'd rather go for a standalone. My friend bought a brand new Microtech for only RM 3.8k.

I've already received the reply from Putrajaya last week. Surprisingly it only took 2 weeks. So I'll most probably be going to PUSPAKOM the week after CNY.

I'm using Racing Gear (Jpn) at present & the other set is JIC as spare. Bought at RM 1k+.

What do mean your by your Corona is very old :hmmmm: ? Mine new ? :rofl:

Seriously, don't waste time & $$ converting a Beams into a Corona like our model, trust me.

1st of all, the body is too old & weak. The halfcut's more expensive than the car itself.

2ndly, The Corona's smaller than the Celica ST202/3. So space is a main issue & it's going to be a nightmare for your mechanic. By the time the dashboard is fitted, the space in your car will very similiar with that of a 2 door car.

3rdly, the engine will probably outlast the body of the car ! :rofl:

So if you really want to play with Beams, I suggest that you dump it in the ST170/1 Corona. I think that's a much more solid body as compared to our rusty bucket. It's also very cheap now; about RM 10k +- but too bad I still can't afford it.

I dropped by to see Ah Kit on my way home yesterday. According to him, the blue e-manage cannot be used on the Beams. Can't recall if he said he fitted or heard of 1 MRS with a Beams, it went nuts. He advised me to use the Ultimate.

He also said something rather contradictory to what I heard from N1 regarding the V-Manage. According to N1, the V-Manage can only be used together with the Ultimate. It can't be used by itself. So meaning, first you must have an Ultimate before you can use the V-Manage but Ah Kit told me that the V-Manage can used alone. :hmmmm: So I don't know who's right & who's not.

Maybe I'll call up William from Trial to ask him about it. If not, I'll check it direct with Trust, I guess.

Sorry 7, so far there's only 1 3S-GTE in my place & he's already using Splitfire plug cable; if I remember correctly.

OIC, thanks very much for the info. I was just asking but I'm not that interested in the V-Manage coz considering the price & all, it's still a piggy back only. So IMHO, for that amount of $, I'd rather go for a standalone. My friend bought a brand new Microtech for only RM 3.8k.

I've already received the reply from Putrajaya last week. Surprisingly it only took 2 weeks. So I'll most probably be going to PUSPAKOM the week after CNY.

202R...
bro... what'z ur plan on 11.02 monday?! staying late or going back earlier?! :itsme:

xT17x is bit heavier n 2 long... xT15x is juz bout the right size...
but as u said it is O n weak... so better 2 do it in SEG... superb... :burnout:

there is a bit confuse wif 20V VVT (early) n da VVT-i (late)... :hmmmm:

VVT on (advance cam timing) off (resume 2 ori position) is control purely by RPM juz like vtec...
pls note there is nothing in between...
thus this engine still has those EGR actuator, some vacuum actuators etc...

VVT-i is a hell lot complicated...
it can b advance, retard, or any position between fully advance, fully retard and ori position... :slug:
it tweaks da cam position depend on hell lot of variables...
RPM, water temp, O2 sensor, MAF (thus all da VVT-i engine fit wif this element), throttle sensor, knocking sensor, a/c actuator, brake switch, etc... :mad:
thus only da latest aftermarket ecu can hav full control wif it...
that is mean it gonna b blOOdi expen$iv... :mad:

*fainted*

202R...
bro... what'z ur plan on 11.02 monday?! staying late or going back earlier?! :itsme:
My meeting is at 1 pm but I've no idea at what time it'll end.:hmmmm: What about you, what's your plan ?

xT17x is bit heavier n 2 long... xT15x is juz bout the right size...
but as u said it is O n weak... so better 2 do it in SEG... superb... :burnout:
JPJ no longer allows a 2 litre engine to be dumped into a SEG these days; except for Sabah/Sarawak, I'm not sure coz I've seen some SEG & SE complete with 3S-GTE completed with 4WD. So I guess either you send your SEG over there to get the transplant done & registered & then bring it back here or just go there & buy 1 that's been done up & registered. Simple as that. :biggrin:

Problem solved, next question pls.....:biggrin:

there is a bit confuse wif 20V VVT (early) n da VVT-i (late)... :hmmmm:

VVT on (advance cam timing) off (resume 2 ori position) is control purely by RPM juz like vtec...
pls note there is nothing in between...
thus this engine still has those EGR actuator, some vacuum actuators etc...

VVT-i is a hell lot complicated...
it can b advance, retard, or any position between fully advance, fully retard and ori position... :slug:
it tweaks da [COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot][COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot]cam [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot][COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot]position[/FONT][/color][/FONT][/color][/color] depend on hell lot of variables...
RPM, water temp, O2 sensor, MAF (thus all da VVT-i engine fit wif this element), throttle sensor, knocking sensor, a/c actuator, [COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot][COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot]brake [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot][COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot]switch[/FONT][/color][/FONT][/color][/color], etc... :mad:
thus only da latest aftermarket ecu can hav full control wif it...
that is mean it gonna b blOOdi expen$iv... :mad:

*fainted*
Now I regret getting a Beams....:banghead:

Just forget all these upgrading nonsense with a NA lar.... just save some money & get a Cefiro:cool:.....then dump in a RB2x....lor.:hello:

My meeting is at 1 pm but I've no idea at what time it'll end.:hmmmm: What about you, what's your plan ?

JPJ no longer allows a 2 litre engine to be dumped into a SEG these days; except for Sabah/Sarawak, I'm not sure coz I've seen some SEG & SE complete with 3S-GTE completed with 4WD. So I guess either you send your SEG over there to get the transplant done & registered & then bring it back here or just go there & buy 1 that's been done up & registered. Simple as that. :biggrin:

Problem solved, next question pls.....:biggrin:

Now I regret getting a Beams....:banghead:

Just forget all these upgrading nonsense with a NA lar.... just save some money & get a Cefiro:cool:.....then dump in a RB2x....lor.:hello:

what time ur meeting end?! my schedule can b alter... :biggrin:
but definitely hav 2 reach home after noon time b4 nite-fall... :itsme:
VVT-i mar... can b anything in between... LOLx... :rofl:

im not sure bout jpj thingy... but from 1.6 to 2.0 is should b ok... :hmmmm:
if 1.3 to 2.0... dun b 2 much lar... :biggrin:
4wd semua masuk?! which BEAMS 3S came wif 4WD?! carina?! :hmmmm:

moving into cefiro?! :idea:
u got da point dy... :biggrin:

what time ur meeting end?! my schedule can b alter... :biggrin:
but definitely hav 2 reach home after noon time b4 nite-fall... :itsme:

Like I said, I've no idea what time the meeting will end. For me, of course the earlier, the better lor.:sleep:

You mean it's going to be a 1 day trip for you ? You're going back on 11th itself ?

im not sure bout jpj thingy... but from 1.6 to 2.0 is should b ok... :hmmmm:
if 1.3 to 2.0... dun b 2 much lar... :biggrin:
[COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot][COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot]4wd[/FONT][/FONT][/COLOR][/COLOR] semua masuk?! which BEAMS 3S came wif 4WD?! carina?! :hmmmm:

I've checked, it's not OK anymore to upgrade from a 1.6 Toyota) to 2.0 nowadays; even Wira no longer can upgraded to 2.0, regardless of being an original 1.8.

The 4WD I mentioned is not a Beams. It's from a ST205 3S-GTE donor. Check the pix in the 3S Gen forum's gallery.

moving into cefiro?! :idea:
u got da point dy... :biggrin:

I wanted looooong ago but my wife says, if I want to buy a Cefiro, she doesn't mind but as long as I don't modify it...:thefinger: What's the point then ?:hmmmm:

Ey sifu, why did you asked for my Beams auto g/box ? You want to convert yours to A/T meh ?

no problem bro! thanks!

supra ah, dun have wo, chop shop dun have meh?

yalo yalo always like that one!
nvm la, later i will back to ipoh, so i can go and round round at my fren shop, if got i call u immedietly hehe.....