ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

opp .. sorry Alwyn ok corrected... will call my mech tomorrow ask about my car progress..

woooo...can't wait for this monster to wake up!!!:sleep:

---------- Post added at 01:13 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:09 AM ----------

Yeah.. Agree with Shan.. Takes a lot of effort, patience, time, and not to mention phone credit.. :banghead:

So guys, should we start planning for another trip up to Sitiawan? Gotta set a target of at least 5 cars for that..:biggrin:

Oh and Eddy, my name is spelled Alwyn..:embarassed:

my hair gonna drop thinkin how to do that!:hmmmm:

S'wan may not sound that attractive to some, why not make it a 2 day 1 night Teluk Batik trip or something like that ? May attract more people that way.

It's only a suggestion...:idea:

Eddy, can pester your mech a bit but make sure he does a good job! Not like mine..:bawling: All that said, I can't wait to see your monster in action too! By that time don't boost too high.. I'm afraid I can't keep up!:bawling:

Shan, don't needa lose any hair over that.. We just need to set a date, and get the cars! We already have 2.. Yours and mine right? Just need three more.. Possibly Nanthar's, Vince's and Eddy's.. If Hakim can join it would be great too.. Then there, we already have six!:biggrin:

Mr. Yau, your suggestion is tempting too, only wondering how many of us will be able to stay overnight?:hmmmm: Anyway, if we manage to pull this off, we will hand the role of host to you.. So, anything and anywhere you decide to take us to, I'm sure it will be a great event :smile:
(that's a big IF we pull this off)

Vince, I think the monster will be too fast for our eyes to catch that LED! :laugh:

Anyway, you guys serious about forming a Corona facebook group? We already have at least 5 owners (and one ex-owner), and that's not even including the ST171 guys yet. So, what do you guys think? If yes we can start to come up with a good name for our COC :biggrin:

yeah thats good idea to forming corona group in facebook.......cant wait too add:driver:,

ragerunner: we will spot the monster LED light but we have wait 1 KM b4 he reach to us..........:burnout:

i think the american supercharger ,the charge from open air(fresh air) but our ZE compress the air from engine i think...........correct me if i'm wrong:hmmmm:

It works the same way, Vince. The pulley turns the "compressor"(charger) which then sucks in air thru the air filter (in our case), then forces the air into the combustion chambers. There's no difference in the principle in how the charger works. That is why I'm baffled why no intercoolers are needed in their case.

After the air is sucked thru the charger, the air gets very hot, that's why the air is circulated thru the intercooler to cool the air down before it goes into the combustion chambers as hot air will have very little oxygen in it & it will not burn very well.

I can't explain it very well, maybe this will make it more easy to understand: http://www.ridelust.com/how-does-a-supercharger-work-turbocharger-vs-supercharger/

i think i found out why....intercooled and non intercooled coz non intercooled can go higher boost :hmmmm: anything check out this link: http://www.lextreme.com/icvsnic.htm

Thanks very much for the link, Vince. Appreciate it.

K, let me see if I got it right; meaning you'll need a higher boost to achieve the same Hp as compared to an intercooled unit.

So meaning we can actually force induce without an intercooler, only drawback is that it'll make less Hp.

I've seen in youtube that these crazy Yankees actually use a double layered charger, meaning 1 charger on top of another above the engine ! Still without an intercooler...:hmmmm:

YouTube - 70 Double Blown GTO

:adore::adore::adore:

Those links was very helpful. 2o2r, vince, thx.

Been wondering about s/chargers myself. So i guess, it all comes down back to something mentioned like 'volumetric effiency' or something. I also geting headache :biggrin:

Would it harm the engine if we remove the i/cooler from a 4A-GZE? I mean replace with solid piping? Or could the be something to gain? like more pickup or something?:hmmmm:

You're welcome, Naz.

I agree with Shan too. I don't think the GZE's instercooler should be removed. I mean why would you wanna do that even if it wouldn't harm the engine ? The performance will drop.

I've been thinking of supercharging my engines for a long time now, that's why I'm very interested in how they work. :biggrin:

hula...............
if u thinking remove the intercooler then sure i call a tow car for u coz my friend in seremban last time tried it b4 but dont know what he done inside only saw his car keluar asap then tow back ,if u want to remove the intercooler again then make sure u used the best radiator u have..........

2o2r:wahhhh now wanna go for supercharger oledi ar....then i think another monster will born again.....

today gonna pickup my manual boost controller brand jasma,damn like that also cost me rm120 coz i tried to find in seremban only this guy got the stock if u notice the company powertech motorsport......just like talam buruk said that day boost @ 1-1.2 bar is safer:biggrin:

hula...............
if u thinking remove the intercooler then sure i call a tow car for u coz my friend in seremban last time tried it b4 but dont know what he done inside only saw his car keluar asap then tow back ,if u want to remove the intercooler again then make sure u used the best radiator u have..........

2o2r:wahhhh now wanna go for supercharger oledi ar....then i think another monster will born again.....

today gonna pickup my manual boost controller brand jasma,damn like that also cost me rm120 coz i tried to find in seremban only this guy got the stock if u notice the company powertech motorsport......just like talam buruk said that day boost @ 1-1.2 bar is safer:biggrin:

What I meant is, I want to add a supercharger to my present engine, not get a GZE. So maybe it'll become the first 3S-GZE BEAMS !:laugh:

What have you upgraded on your GZE & how much boost are you running at present ? I'm asking coz my friend's GZE upgraded with bigger pulley & e-manage only manage 1.2 bar boost wor... If you're going to run at that high boost, make sure your fueling is sufficient or you'll end up picking up your piston on the road., bro.

thanx for the info 2o2r i will keep in mind,...wah 3sgze BEAMS ar .....can fly oledi leh like that,but i think use the trd charger better is it?

The grand master's grand plans have finally been revealed :adore::adore:

If you pull this off, Mr. Yau, you will be able to show off your "one and only ST150 3SGZE BEAMS VVT-i".. Go chopshop also cannot find one :biggrin:

My aim is not making it into a monstrous Horsepower. I just want to add some "oommph" , that's all.

Infact, the charger unit is already in the workshop for more than a year already, just didn't make it happen yet. I was thinking of selling off the car at that time. See la how things goes. If confirm not selling then I'll proceed with that project lor.

So space will be the main challenge. Then I also thought of supercharging the BT coz it had more space in the engine bay...:stupid: