sohc or dohc

sohc is single cam..dohc is double cam......sure two cams is better lo....most performance cars oso DOHC engine...even kenari/kelisa oso DOHC

Dohc will gain high end RPM after 3 k
Sohc will gain low end RPM Before 3k

In SOHC, one cam shaft lifts the intake valves and exhaust valves, while DOHC , one cam shalf is for intakes, another is for exchausts.

The main advantage in performance of DOHC is because of the weight distribution of cam shaft valves lifting burden into two cam shalfs..

Imagine u r holding a broom stick with 4 KG of weighter on it using 1 hand, while another case u r holding 1 broom stick on each hand with 2KG each, which one is lighter?

Another factor is because, in twin cam shaft, there is more space on cam shaft to put in more valves and cam lobes, so also contribute to more air intake and breathing = more power. If implement 16 valve into SOHC , the the cam shaft will be crowded of cam lobes already, that is why seldom u see car with SOHC 16 valve.

DOHC is heavier comparing to SOHC also, because 1 more cam shaft, 1 more pulley and bigger engine head also.

new potong sawi sohc 4 cylinder 16 valves..wat u all think bout this engine?

Hello dude,
if you want to do sohc to dohc.
call me @0129770845
i did my satria 1.6 sohc to dohc.

Any yes below 3K rpm you can't feel the power but after 3K rpm, you will feel the power.
the higher the RPM the more power you will feel
SkYwAlKeR said:
can do SOHC to DOHC conversion ar??... u know which workshop offer such mods??..

softmuffin said:
Hello dude,
if you want to do sohc to dohc.
call me @0129770845
i did my satria 1.6 sohc to dohc.

Any yes below 3K rpm you can't feel the power but after 3K rpm, you will feel the power.
the higher the RPM the more power you will feel

tai louz, i'm in malacca wor... convert sohc to dohc need heavy mods ar??... how much u charge??

SkYwAlKeR said:
tai louz, i'm in malacca wor... convert sohc to dohc need heavy mods ar??... how much u charge??

if 1.6 sohc to dohc.....change engine easier lo..rite? can ask sifu's here...they might help u

of coz change engine is easy but it cost more and need to go JPJ.

Other way is like me, use back the 1.6 block with a 4G93 or 4G91 dohc head

no need go JPJ. Do PNP and grind, result can play with ORI 1.8. somemore below Rm1.5K

If change engine i dont think you can do it below 1.5K

softmuffin said:
of coz change engine is easy but it cost more and need to go JPJ.

Other way is like me, use back the 1.6 block with a 4G93 or 4G91 dohc head

no need go JPJ. Do PNP and grind, result can play with ORI 1.8. somemore below Rm1.5K

If change engine i dont think you can do it below 1.5K

wow....1.5k can kowtim ah ? so cheap, how bout the workmanship ?

where's ur workshop ?

i got plenty of customers wanna convert but dunno go where....

my location is at Kepong but workshop at cheras.
dude, Rm1.5 is include the workmanship.
If you want to view my engine, just give me a call or drop by at kepong.
I happy with my dohc with PNP. no need goto turbo which will cost you a bom.
paid 1.6 roadtax but car power is same or less maybe more then a 1.8. what can you ask somemore..

carcass said:
wow....1.5k can kowtim ah ? so cheap, how bout the workmanship ?

where's ur workshop ?

i got plenty of customers wanna convert but dunno go where....

Wau

softmuffin said:
my location is at Kepong but workshop at cheras.
dude, Rm1.5 is include the workmanship.
If you want to view my engine, just give me a call or drop by at kepong.
I happy with my dohc with PNP. no need goto turbo which will cost you a bom.
paid 1.6 roadtax but car power is same or less maybe more then a 1.8. what can you ask somemore..

Can 1.5 4g15 can mix & match with 4g91?
4g91 is 1.5 olso?

No need, you can use back the old wiring and ECU.

Sorry 4G15 can't be mix and match with a 4G9X ( is totally different)

LAWRENCE_Q said:
but SOHC convert 2 DOHC, the ECU & wiring need 2 change????