Why are most of the AMG engines using SOHC?

AMG engines are among the most technologically advanced so i guess they must use SOHC with good reason.

Anyway, the V12 twin turbo 6.0 engines are awesome 612bhp and 1000Nm (actually detuned for the sake of the transmission).

gobiz said:
AMG engines are among the most technologically advanced so i guess they must use SOHC with good reason.

Anyway, the V12 twin turbo 6.0 engines are awesome 612bhp and 1000Nm (actually detuned for the sake of the transmission).

they might b da most technological advanced but only BMW can extract da most juice from an engine giving it da best performance. 100bhp per litre ratio... on NA somemore! thats BMW M Power expertise...

even if u compared Formula One cars, Williams-BMW F1's BMW V10 engine has da highest bhp output among all manufacturers.

xtracooljustin said:
they might b da most technological advanced but only BMW can extract da most juice from an engine giving it da best performance. 100bhp per litre ratio... on NA somemore! thats BMW M Power expertise...

even if u compared Formula One cars, Williams-BMW F1's BMW V10 engine has da highest bhp output among all manufacturers.

but kimi driving underpowered mclaren mercedes still get podium..

kekekekke

spyderslr said:
u think F1 mehh.....12 throttle...how to drive on the road lerr.....
than y M5 use 10 trottle???

bro...F1 so many cylinder wor???
which team???than must got 1000hp liao

TypicalGuy said:
but kimi driving underpowered mclaren mercedes still get podium..

kekekekke

well it might b true but fine tuning and reliability are other aspects of da car not associated wif engine output...
http://www.asianauto.com/forum/images/smiles/icon_chainsaw.gif

anyway still hoping for a turnaround in Ferrari's season...

gobiz said:

there is a good reason they all use sohc......maybe their advancement in material engineering has help this germans out......

It's not how you do it as long as you do it. Turbocharged, supercharged, normally aspirated, SOHC, DOHC who cares. They can burn coal for all I care as long as they provide the required juice for the car. The BMW M5s 5.0 litre V10 is an astounding piece of work of course. But, the Mercedes AMG 5.5 litre supercharged V8 just shouts everything else to death.

And you'd expect Brabus tuned cars to pack more punch simply because they are tuners. They took the AMG cars and gave them trick parts. It would either be the same or better. Less would have been ludicrous wouldn't it?

Does anyone know if the Mclaren SLR is a DOHC or SOHC engine?

:D A 617HP V8, who says F1 tech does not translate into roadcar performance!

BenWang said:
Does anyone know if the Mclaren SLR is a DOHC or SOHC engine?

:D A 617HP V8, who says F1 tech does not translate into roadcar performance!

okie, found it. Its a SOHC engine! Take that Brabus

http://www.autothing.com/funthings/SpyShots/Spy%20Shots%202005/SS-05-MBSLR.htm

Oh btw. which Renult roadcar can beat either this or the MclarenF1 :p None! But in the end all loose to the Ferrari Enzo

The Enzo isn't the king of the hill in terms of going fast in a straight line. There are cars packing more punch.

Tell you guys this tho, I've got a 2.5-16v DOHC 190E and power output is similar to the old 124s 300s. If that's what a twin cam can do then I'm all for it.

Mercedes have always lacked abit in terms of engine tech compared to BMW tho. Guess is they are not doing research on their bigger engines yet. Thought the told R129 Mercs had twin cam V8s in them?

no one in here actually know how the SOHC is choosen for whatover .
but as far as i concern , those engineers are not nut . they know the advantages of DOHC and SOHC , they chose SOHC for reasons . yes , the DOHC is better in terms of technology ... bla bla bla ... but the SOHC too have somethign that DOHC can't archive . and it all depends on what u want , how u refine it , how u engineered it .
not becasue of tech , is becasue of they are choosing what they wanted .
cost cuttng , nah ... who the heck want to cut cost for such big and pricy car . don't tell me rolls royce is cost cutting too ... ferrari cost cutting , those manufactures doesn't need to cut cost on such thing .
investment is very important .

bmw engine more refined than merc . should be conclude that beacsue merc is SOHC so that it cant archive refinement . merc invested more on the car itself while bmw invested more on power , engine , drivability .

the worst i ever seen is prople bashing savvy and myvi engine . because of SOHC and DOHC . conclude something only after u did research on it .

DOHC and SOHC , can be say as supercharger Vs Turbo .
Turbo has power , much powerful , but at higher rpm only the power comes . the boost is higher too .
Supercharger has power too , much lower , but the good thing is that the supercharger starts since u fire the engine . the power is linear , starts from anytime .
Turbo and Supercharger is the best example for DOHC and SOHC . same goes to mechanical parts , one has many mech . parts , one is lesser .. bla bla bla ..the list goes on .

as I know supercharge comes in if you floor the pedal or the setting rpm, not fulltime
only Merc having full time supercharge for all its Kompressor series?
correct me if i'm wrong.