Singapore's First Race Track aka Tuas Internayional speedway !

afiqmeister

tuasinternationalspeedway9hq.jpg

RACETRACK FOR SINGAPORE

By Ernest Luis
March 24, 2006
The New Paper

SINGAPOREANS, start your engines.

Get ready for screeching tyres, ear-piercing sounds and the smell of burning rubber.

Come next March, Singapore should have its first proper motor-racing track in Tuas.

The western region may seem a bit ulu (remote), a faraway area where Singaporeans don't head to for leisure.

But Singaporeans, especially motor sports fans, will start to see Tuas in a different light.

Work on the track, named Tuas International Speedway, is expected to start in May.

Privately owned, it will cost an estimated $80 million.

But the racetrack will not be able to host Formula One races to rival that of Malaysia's 5.54km-long Sepang circuit.

The New Paper has learnt that the 3.37km circuit can only match FIA International Class 2 specifications.

Formula One tracks need Class 1 classification as extra land area is needed for safety purposes such as wide run-offs.

For now, Tuas International Speedway will be able to stage Formula 3 races, such as the popular events held in Macau, GT (Grand Touring) races and lower categories.

It's situated on a plot of land measuring about 600sqm - between Asia-Pacific Breweries and Raffles Marina along Jalan Ahmad Ibrahim, just before the Tuas checkpoint.

It is understood that the lease for the Jurong Town Corporation (JTC) land is for 20 years, and a deal will be sealed soon.

An initial launch is expected next month.

Said a corporation spokesman: 'JTC Corporation is in the final stages of negotiations to award to a private-sector consortium a site in Tuas, to develop a motor racetrack capable of holding races of international standards.

CLEARANCES

'The consortium is expecting to receive clearances from various regulatory agencies within a short time. More details will be made known probably in a month's time.'

The plot of land was targeted last year, in a bid spearheaded by Singapore Agro Agriculture, which is behind food-and-retail hub Turf City and kampung-style farm produce centre Farmart in Tengah.

Its four main business partners have formed a new company to run the racetrack.

They have been tight-lipped on the project since early last year.

But The New Paper has been tracking these developments since last April, when we published possible plans being studied for a Formula One street circuit in the Shenton Way/Marina Bay area.

A check with the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority showed that Tuas International Speedway Pte. Ltd. was was registered on
26 Nov. The company was described as 'Car Racing Track Operators'.

But, what good is a racetrack without a major event?

Well, yesterday, the Japan GT Association (JGTA) confirmed there were negotiations to bring its popular series to Tuas International Speedway in June next year.

The Japan GT Championship stars former Formula One drivers such Ralph Firman (ex-Jordan in 2003) and Erik Comas (ex-Ligier and Larousse in the early 1990s).

In a phone interview from Japan, Satoru Tsuyama, 52, Pacific-Rim manager for JGTA, said: 'We are interested in bringing our championship to Singapore next year, once the operator has the track ready.

'Right now, Malaysia's Sepang circuit is the only international race we have on our calendar.

'The Japan GT Championship has always been looking to go more international and is the first Japanese series to do so.

'The Sepang race has points counted towards the overall championship, so drivers take it seriously.

'But if Japan GT comes to Singapore next year, the race will probably be an exhibition race at first.

'We need to see and assess how Singaporeans respond, and if sponsors in Singapore are willing to back the event, before we make it a permanent race with points counting towards the championship.'

The Sepang leg of the Japan GT Championship started in 2000, but was an exhibition race until 2002, when it became a permanent points-scoring fixture in the nine-round annual championship. It is held every June.

Tsuyama added: 'The crowd figures have been rising for Sepang. In 2004, there were about 25,000 fans. Last year, there were 38,000 fans, our highest so far in Sepang.'

20,000 SPECTATORS

Tuas International Speedway is expected to accommodate up to 20,000 spectators.

If the Japan GT race does come to Singapore, it would probably be held a week after the Sepang race, to cut down on travel and logistics.

The small Singaporean motor sports community is already abuzz with anticipation.

And fingers are crossed as fans wait for Tuas International Speedway to rev up to top speed in the next year.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Motorsports park theme for Tuas circuit

A MOTORSPORTS park seems to be the main focus of Tuas International Speedway, along with major races being held throughout the year.

Apart from plans to bring in the Japan GT Championship race next June, Singapore motorsports fans can enjoy a few other forms of racing.

The race circuit in Tuas will also feature a 1.1km-long go-kart track, built alongside the main track.

For years the Singapore motor sports community has been looking forward to a permanent racetrack.

Go-karting is widely seen as the 'primary school of motor racing' if Singapore is to develop a generation of racecar drivers.

And the business potential has already been acknowledged in previous reports.

Defensive driving courses could also be on offer at the track.

Motor enthusiasts will be able to tune up their cars at a variety of specialist shops at the circuit.

And car companies can do tyre-testing and product-testing there.

Even hiring the track for leisure racing will be possible.

This will mean Singapore car clubs and companies won't necessarily travel to Malaysia's Sepang and Pasir Gudang circuits to satisfy their thirst for speed.

Restaurants are expected to be built as part of the grandstand in a clubhouse about four storeys high.

It will feature a lounge area, spa and a play area for children.

EEERRRRR......people its tuas international speedway not internayional

Wow..this would be a great place to see ferraris, lambos...and maybe the guy with the zonda will also go..

The Tuas track operators should make affordable packages for private events like clubs, drift, etc. Right now the biggest prob with driving in Sepang is the cost! Hopefully, Sepang will also reduce rates too with a new rival in town.

Well i can see a big hit to Sepang now. PG will get the harddest hit. Pg is too god damn old. All the facilities was in very bad status. Even now the drag already receive lesser and lesser respond and with new TUAS speedway open up, its going to be empty. PG need big major revamp to be in order to compete but wat i can see is this is not going to be happen

Ya, PG will b the 1 who feel the impact MOST!!!!!! nowadays most singaporean come PG 4 fun! if SG themselves got places 2 hav fun, i believe less car come into JB loh!!! then no more nice car appear in JB. sad!!!!

yeah, but thn i think workshop in JB will still stay on coz i've met alot of sporean like to mod thier car in some remote workshop and doesnt wanted plp to know whr they done it and what is has been done.

dont worry.. it's not competitive to run alone in spore .. they will come back.. for sure hehehe

Hie.

Congrts to the Singaporean..

Hmm..
Imperial Concepts can host a drift competition here as well.. Hmm maybe a D1 GP Singapore as well..

yea.....

cheers'

SePaT said:
dont worry.. it's not competitive to run alone in spore .. they will come back.. for sure hehehe

u will be suprise. trust me

normality78 said:
u will be suprise. trust me

or shud i say.... we go there and pay them a visit?? kekeke ..

it's still expensive i think to run a track in spore.. yeala.. resources very limited.. so the entrance fees shud be sky hi.. all i can say.. they will travel back to PG after getting bored racing with each other .. trust me .. it wont be that long

i dont think SIC will be shaken much by the fact singapore will have his own track...there will be a drop in visitors but not as bad as you guys think.

most of the car enthusiasts there come over to sepang not only to race, but to have a fun weekend with their family, wife, friends, or their loved ones lah...racing is not the only thing in their minds.

still, the attraction will be there due to the low total cost of the rental for a PRIVATE event (yeah..damn sings so rich can book whole track for themselves) .. currency factors...oh well...shopping is also their very reason to come here too right? hehehe..

at least now we can see less singaporeans use our highways to test top speed. now they can use their own speedway...but 290km/h at the back straight? what car they use lah? it's only 3Kms plus, same distance as batu 3...

i spot a dragstrip at the front... ngek ngek ngek......

SePaT said:
they will travel back to PG after getting bored racing with each other .. trust me .. it wont be that long

I suppose the only time they'll travel back to PG is to buy properties there... dude I'm afraid PG , just like B3 will be demolished to make way for new developements.:sad_smile:

I'm glad Singapore is building the track..more choices for us rite?...

.S K A G E E. said:
I suppose the only time they'll travel back to PG is to buy properties there... dude I'm afraid PG , just like B3 will be demolished to make way for new developements.:sad_smile:

I'm glad Singapore is building the track..more choices for us rite?...

hmm...
where should i be this time in order to be in S'pore..
any ideas arr...

cheers'

erm... i do heard those sporean kaki actually not really comfortable to come into PG but due to no proper drag strip or circuit back in thier country, they got not much of choice. u see, alot of thm came in the same day, shop thn drag thn go home even late night. we r talking about 2-3am here but they still go back to spore instead of lodging into hotel here. SAFETY is thier main worried as JB is REALLY getting unsafe.

Spore car clubs is very active. they often having major gathering, phototaking and so. They also like to organise GO-kart outing here and some thier own trackdays with drag session. So i can forsee its going to be pack in thier circuit.

As for track enterance, hm.... this i would agreed with u. i think its not going to be cheap but i also can say its not going to be ridiculous price. The track owner do know they have to stand competitive. If im a sporean, i dun mind pay abit more to exchange safety, custom clearance hassle plus time.

even they play in PG, dun u think its also racing with thier own? most of them organising thier trackdays in the noon which only thier own members club running. they dun really intention to race with our local boys. wat's the reason? ehehehehe.... u know la...

since there are so many racetrack around, i'm going to build an artificial hill with winding roads. I'll call in Akina (Malaysia Version). This track will test downhill driftings....I sure get good business esp from Initial-D wanabes....

Who want's to join venture with me? hehehehe

ken yeang said:
since there are so many racetrack around, i'm going to build an artificial hill with winding roads. I'll call in Akina (Malaysia Version). This track will test downhill driftings....I sure get good business esp from Initial-D wanabes....

Who want's to join venture with me? hehehehe

wahahaha. thn u will see your Akina Msia death list anytime higher thn Genting whole years casuality. whahahaha

i guess the track will fully satisfy the singaporeans...so there will be lesser people coming over...why cant sepang lower down the entry cost???so more people will be able to enjoy the track!!!

wah congrats Singaporean! SG$80 million(RM176m) to built this speedway in SG is sound quite cheap! And sepang alone cost US$120 million(RM450m)?