Side indicator blink speed

EGfan

Just changed from the normal bulb to a LED bulb and notice when i apply the turn signal, the blink speed is very fast.
Is there any mods that will change the blink speed back to normal??

Yes... Your car has got the 'blown bulb sensor'. LED consume much lesser wattage than halogen. So it has tricked the sensor into thinking your side winker bulb has blown.

Some properly specced resistor along the lines will do.

Yes... Your car has got the 'blown bulb sensor'. LED consume much lesser wattage than halogen. So it has tricked the sensor into thinking your side winker bulb has blown.

Some properly specced resistor along the lines will do.

Yup, thought it might be the blown bulb sensor also.
Can you recommend the right resistor that i should buy??

Erm, I'm affraid that's the maximum depth that I know. U gotta ask those that's electrical inclined bro. Sorry.

how many bulb u changed to LED?
n how many watt ur stock bulb (look at the bulb base. if not mitaken 21w.)

maybe can calculate suitable resistor value.

Alternately, hook up a small bulb inline with the LEDs. Should solve the problem. But the bulb will blink together lah... So remember to hide it real good. Otherwise it's really gonna look stupid... Imagine your fender joint lighting up together with your blinker! ROFL

how many bulb u changed to LED?
n how many watt ur stock bulb (look at the bulb base. if not mitaken 21w.)

maybe can calculate suitable resistor value.

Yes, should be 21w. Currently my LED bulbs are 3W only...Thanks

hmm..
lets see if my formula is rite..

21W
W=V*I , 21=12*I
I=W/V , 1.75 = 21/12, each bulb consume about 1.75A

3W
I=3/12 , 0.25=3/12, each 3W led only consume 0.25A

so, 1.75 - 0.25 = 1.5A, need to dissipate about 1.5A at each bulb thats has been replaced by LED.

V=I*R
R=V/I , 8=12/1.5, each LED needs 8ohm resistor parallel to it.

eh, is this rite? 8ohms at each LED bulb?:hmmmm: :confused:
btw, resistor use should be at least 3W ceramic type .

btw, im not sure this is rite or wrong. 8ohms seems to low value.
need others to give opinion/ideas.

other alternative u can modify the stock (or spare) flasher relay.
try using different capacitor value inside the relay. im not sure either higher or lower value. forgot already.