Shell Fuel Review

Shamanraj

Guys,

Tried out the latest formula from shell during the weekend. Dorve from Penang to KL. First thing i noticed was the engine smoothness, felt different abit. Second would be the consumption. Here is the results. Fuel tested out using a Waja 1.6AT with roughly 350kg Load in car (4 adults and bags). Tire Presure was around 35psi with load. Trip Meter clocked from time fuel went in and from here to highway not much of town driving. So consider this as a full Highway consumption. Fuel tank full to the brim, thats 60litres.

Milleage showed 395.6km on my odometer but this has to be corrected as odometer is accurate for 195/55/15 but i am using 195/60/15. For 195/55/15, wheel circumference is 1870.82 and for 195/60/15 circumference is 1932.08 (using 2*pi*radius).

So adjusted milleage would be (395.6/1870.82)*1932.08 = 408.5km. Upon refueling again at this point 30.4 litres of fuel went in (number rounded off abit)....so that means i used 30.4 litres for 408.5km. Thats 13.4375 km/litre and also can be said that for 1 km the price is 14.28 cents.

Now everyone knows the fuel consumption on a Waja is bad. Usual highway capability is around 10km/litre and that like 19.2 cents for 1 Km. So guys, if anyone of you have tested out the latest Shell, please do share your findings. Thanks.

Hi bro thx for the info, but i bit lost with your explaination, is the new shell save fuel or not?. From my exprience using shell all this long, i noticed that the new shell formula save fuel, normally i fill up my civic around rm60 can go around 350km max, but now i can go 400km ++. Rough estimate.

Save....cause last time was 19cents per km and now its 14 cents per km. Save 5 cents per km.....

thnx for the info...!
previous shell...doesnt help in fuel consumption...
anyone tested in town driving....any review? wats the consumption like?

used shell b4....before this new formula
i cant get a satisfy mileage...long range driving or even town driving
so now wit new formula....im not sure yet
hope to hav some more review....frm various cars n driving attitude....
thnx!:regular_smile:

yeah, i agree new shell does improved my mileage.

actually, new Petronas PRIMAX3 does give about 10% extra km per litre. but Shell goes another 10%.

i am now sticking to Shell and its worth it. the burden of rising fuel price is now less felt.

there wasnt any great fuel consumption improvement for me comparing the new shell 2 the previous one.

only difference is my car feels more sluggish after using the new shell.

its sad as im a loyal shell user...shell shud not compromise performance for fuel economy.

shamanraj : was the previous 19 cents per km made also on the highway? 14 cents per km on highway is quite okie, but i think it cudve been better wit primax. i tried the new shell again and again, but cudnt gain nuthing extra compared to primax, not wit mileage nor performance. my dad's unser and my charade feels sluggish after every sylkron fill up, as for primax i can feel the difference from the first fill up.

prev i use the new Primax 3, RM 70 can go up to 500KM..yesterday pump the new shell let seel can beat primax or not.

New shell formula? you mean the normal green one? or V-power... i assume it is the normal green one... been using shell for a long long time... didn't really know the fuel consumption... but my Neo, well, urban driving around 16 cents... quite high for a manual and for the size of the car... maybe it is because that i press the gas pedal a little too much as i am not accustomed to the clutch yet... maybe it will go down a little more...

but back to the topic, i do feel that shell is a better choice than others even though i haven't tried petronas or other fuel companies...

I tested both...still prefer primax 3..better mileage..Full tank primax 3 gave me extra 30-40 km..as for Shell only gave me 20-30km more..

been using SHELL all this while oso.. didn really check bout de mileage since mine is an old car.. surely consume more fuel than newer ones.. my car runs smoother using SHELL.. does not jerk at all

I have been using Petronas Primax for more than 4 years cause i get points using my KadMesra. But for me, shell has always been much more powerfull compared to petronas and petronas better milleage comapred to shell. But now shell seems to be better in terms of milleage and smoothness. Previous 19cent was done on same Highway ...same amount of load...about the same time in day and about the same distance and Primax3. I tried my level best to control all the variables like load, tire presure, driving style, distance, stops, speed, weather, temp, engine service and all. Managed to almost get all the variables controlled.

FORMULA SHELL REGULAR UNLEADED
Description
Formula Shell Regular Unleaded is a motor gasoline formulated for cars and motorcycles of octane requirement lower than that of a premium-grade motor gasoline.

In addition, the volatility of Formula Shell Regular Unleaded is controlled to provide easy starting when the engine is cold and prevent vapour lock when the engine is hot.
Typical Properties
Test Method
Colour - Red Visual
Research Octane Number (RON) - min. 92 D2669
Distillation: D86
Evaporated @ 180oC % v min. 90
End Point oC max. 215
Residue % v max. 2
Lead content gm/l max. 0.013 D3237
Density 15oC kg/l 0.745 D1298
Flash Point oC Less than ambient D93
Copper Corrosion (3hr/50oC) max. 1 D130
Sulphur % wt max. 0.1 D1266/2622/2785
Existent Gum mg/100ml max. 4 D381
Induction Period min min. 240 D525/IP 40
Safety
Formula Shell Regular Unleaded is a mixture of C4 to C11 hydrocarbons. This gasoline is “highly flammable”, its flash point being well below ambient temperature.

In the event of FIRE, dry powder, BCF or carbon dioxide extinguishers may be used. Do not use water jets as this will only cause the product to spread on top of the water.

The principal hazard is from fire and explosion.

Also guys, i made sure i calculated based on amount of fuel used....and not rough estimation based on fuel gauge or km only. I always top up full tank on the night i drive back from Penang to KL near my house as i always like to know whats the driving stats for the trip. Also i dont like leaving it until it goes empty and refuel it as then i have to take into account town driving.

Anyone out there that maybe could tell me if i missed a variable out...please do let me know. Thanks.

shamanraj : so, uve done a good experiment there, good to hear dat :)

midship : i hope dat article was cut n paste or else everybody wud like to know what those details r all about, they r really interesting. sum of the terms used r known to me but sum rnt.

Thanx for d info bro.
I dont know if Shell doesn't suit my Kancil. I did some tests and here are my findings:

Projet Regular: RM40.30, I got 396km mileage (RM1=9.83km)
Mobil Regular: RM42.60, I got 418km (RM1=9.81km)
Shell Super: RM40.60, I got 364km (RM1=8.97km)

Reason I used regular is I want the lead to sit nicely around the valve seatings. (sorry for the pollution!)

My engine is 659cc; Turbo EFi from Mira.

well nice try but to really know whats the best you gotta control the experiment here are variables you need to control :

1. Engine service
2. Engine oil
3. Tire preasure
4. Passenger and luggage load
5. Outside temp
6. Speed
7. Acceleration
8. Distance tried
9. road similarity

Try doing this and you might be able to really judge your consumption.
The best is to take 2 identical engines and run them in your garage or somewhere with the right amount of fuel until your engine stops. That will be the most accurate experiment.

for my 2.0 car... shell super... 1km cost around 0.15 cent... so rm 10 can go only 70km