Sepang Drag Battle (Honda Specific)

shiroitenshi said:
Yeah.. you can't believe how much hp we got out of that thing, considering it was using a stock type R manifold and throttle body.
so i got it rite =).. cause i remember v did an engine n it was sent away to kelantan o sumthin... =) how much hp is it producing?

on the dastek dyno.. somewhere in the region of 290hp.. but it's not considered wheel hp.

Even had to retard the timings since it was running on regular fuel.. :P
Just got some racing fuel last few days, 114 octane, but untested as yet.. no time.

Currently the owner dunno whether to do ITBs or bigger plenum route.

Anyway.. the owner wants to know if hiper racing can suggest some proper gear ratios for him.

The FD down to 4.266 already.. and running (forgot/55R16) (further reduce the FD.).. dunno what to do next.. the damn car still jumps like a frog on a hot pan on launch, and runs out of gears too fast... it can be considered that currently the car is traction and gearing limited.

shiroitenshi said:
on the dastek dyno.. somewhere in the region of 290hp.. but it's not considered wheel hp.

Even had to retard the timings since it was running on regular fuel.. :P
Just got some racing fuel last few days, 114 octane, but untested as yet.. no time.

Currently the owner dunno whether to do ITBs or bigger plenum route.

Anyway.. the owner wants to know if hiper racing can suggest some proper gear ratios for him.

The FD down to 4.266 already.. and running (forgot/55R16) (further reduce the FD.).. dunno what to do next.. the damn car still jumps like a frog on a hot pan on launch, and runs out of gears too fast... it can be considered that currently the car is traction and gearing limited.

for more info u can call up the contact num i gave earlier... im sure they will do it... sorry im not in malaysia to ask 4 the behalf of u... =) as i know v rebuilt alot of gear box ratios too...

Err.. dev.. just checked with the owner.. the one you said one year back is the first engine.... the current one I'm talking is the second one about just got assembled late last year.. I'm guessing you're not around already then.

The first one only got 260, (lost the engine due to 'other reasons' before able to tune it further) while the second one got 290..

Finally sorted out the gist of choosing the ratios today..

Already mapped it out on the computer for a visual idea of the gear stagger. Probably not gonna mess with it further.. just need to increase the RPM to a more extreme level. Extrapolation show that the gearing may just be competitive if we increase the rpm a bit more.

The body's much too heavy I think, still gets more wheelspin than movement.. Still, the final choice is up to the owner if he really want's to commit to doing up a seperate chassis for drag specific use, or stick with the streetcar weight.

new commer

help me...
i 1 to know any B siries can mix with other b siries.......
e.g b18c2 with b16a gearbox.....

hmm sounds like a nice idea.. but where to get the FD? currently using 4.267, not 4.266 as mentioned.. top speed at 230kmh so far, and it's a close ratio tranny.. so losing more time on gear changes than anything.

got any more specifics? like what kind of ratios it's having?

Custom made?

Hmm.. I was told OS Giken only had 4.267 as the smallest ratio.. I'll check again.

And here's the gearing map.. too tired yesterday.

As you can see.. change gear like mad at 8K.. I'm betting the driver lost more time shifting than anything else.. pickup can't be beat though, but still maybe stretching the RPM up to 9K will turn them into workable ratios, but need bigger injectors and a retune for that. With GE sleeves, and a 10K valvetrain.. I wonder how far the owner willing to go before grenading the engine... mind you, this car has only run on an isolated road for testing with no real competition so far.. owner still not willing to get screwed at the strip... yet. :P

And the speeds are a little off, but not by much.. it's unavoidable, esp. when you calculate the wheel circumference with a cropped 'pi' value which has 50+ milion decimal numbers. (I just plugged in the short version)

Probably will try to measure the exact wheel circumference for more accuracy tommorow.

temp.jpg

afternoon shiroi

sorry my mistake. got mixed up with my frens FD. 4.0 should be from topfuel(its something like 3.9XX for their vtecturbo setups). the OS Giken is 4.2.

J101,
good evening 2 u...my 400m gearbox wanna talk 2 ur 300m gearbox..so,whn?HAHAHAHAHHA

J101 said:
afternoon shiroi

sorry my mistake. got mixed up with my frens FD. 4.0 should be from topfuel(its something like 3.9XX for their vtecturbo setups). the OS Giken is 4.2.

Right.. thanks.. I was kinda confused when I was told *yet again* that OS Giken had only 4.267 as the smallest ratio.

who is the Honda All Motor / Normally Aspirated Record Holder in Malaysia/Singapore

I heard that Tung Chun has Clocked 11.2xx sec in Sepang with DOT Tyre
Who is the Driver?

And if this news was right
What is this Car Specs (i hear it was 86mmx92mm B20 vtec, with Pro Series 3 Camshaft)
How Big is this car horsepower?

lets discuss anything, about Honda N/A Record for Malaysia/Singapore...

and if it wasnt Tung Chun, so who'is it (ali mamak? Bungah? etc2??)

Lets Discuss, maybe we could make a list the Quickest 5 in South East Asia...

Because i got something interesting about this discussion..

...latter...

Greetings,

Merry Christmast and Happy New Year

related discusion :
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...battle-or-any-south-east-asia-race-track.html