Semi Synthetic Engine Oil change recommendation

111rc

I am currently using a semi synthetic oil for my Honda Civic. I am at cross road on whether to do the next oil change at 5000 km (standard oil change) or 10000 km as recommended by some of the mechanics.

Can someone suggest what's the best mileage oil change for semi synthetic oil.

If you need the brand, it's Castrol.

Thank you.

dun confused or at at a cross road... 5000km or 3 months (whichever comes first) is recommended... that is if u want to keep your car's performance running well...
but well if u're on a budget or juz have no time ... then its up to u la ... i like to make it a habit to change either at 5000km or latest 6000km, or after 3 months ...

by the way, this topic should be at the Car Care section :regular_smile:

111rc said:
I am currently using a semi synthetic oil for my Honda Civic. I am at cross road on whether to do the next oil change at 5000 km (standard oil change) or 10000 km as recommended by some of the mechanics.

Can someone suggest what's the best mileage oil change for semi synthetic oil.

If you need the brand, it's Castrol.

Thank you.

ESSO Fully Syn 5w/40, SHELL Fully Syn 15w/50 or CASTROL Fully Syn 10w/60..all can use for 10k KM

if 5000km, semi syntetic is ok...

if u wanna some performance oil, then u may try Q8,Motul,HKS...

my 2 cents

I'm using motul power 4100, normally change oil around 6.5k, thats the time u can see the oil really built up with alot of crap.. hehe :p

Semi's are just as bad as mineral ones, i'd go for 5000Km or at most 6000Km. I used to fill up with semis but stopped because the engine doesn't run any smoother plus the cost to service at 5000Km is more than paying for a 10,000Km service though the synthetic oil is more expensive.

i changed to SAMLUBE semi-synthetic oil during my last service... my mech told me to change them after 5000km.... i guess its somewhere around that mileage lar... if u want better performance, change as often as possible lor.... hehe...

That is if you're rich. But there's really no reason for you to change oil that frequent.

i'm currently using Shell Semi,if change to other brand of engine oil like Motul,Q8 or HKS those brand oil will feel different ?the different that i mean is like drive that time more smooth,better respone those type ?

ask all sifu sifu a problem,y my engine oil turn black very fast one ?sometime 3500-4000km ++ like that already turn black leh...how come ?sometime around 3000km.everytime the mileage over 3500 like that,i will feel the car very heavy like that,cos the oil kind of black already.....y huh ?
i feel weird cos my friend one even reach till 4000k,the oil still not as black as my one....

coz shell semi got the addictive that clean your engine, that why when reach the certain mileage its get off those carbon and your engine oil will look dark

One more important factor to look at is the oil filter. We keep talking about whats the best lube oil but we fail to take the oil filter into consideration. A cheapo filter might not do a good job so end up the most expensive lube also won't have any effect on the engine.

well,i'm driving a proton car.....so sure using proton oil filter.so was thinking got any other brand of semi oil intro?where got sell ?cos since bought the car till now i'm using shell oil,so thinking change other oil.

Coltrain said:
well,i'm driving a proton car.....so sure using proton oil filter.so was thinking got any other brand of semi oil intro?where got sell ?cos since bought the car till now i'm using shell oil,so thinking change other oil.

can use evo filter if u wish.......mmc:_:

more advicable to change ur engine oil every 5000km bro.. to keep ur engine running in smooth conditon all de time.. :regular_smile:

have anyone heard about Total Quartz 9000? It's 5w-40 fully syn, but the price is quite cheap, RM 20/litre.

to try out pennzoil platinium 10w-30..i think is around RM30 per quart and fully synthetic.

Do remember, even if you change your engine oil at 10k...it is still advisable to change the oil filter at 5k..thats what i read in autoworld..,..

anyhow, if your engine oil turns dark very fast, it shows the the oil is doing its job..so no worries..

yeap. .. if the engine oil doesn't turn darker in time then u shud be worried lol !!

oh......like that ar.......thanks all sifu........

Tesna,
Total ?the oil good or not ?

was thinking to change engine oil lah,got any recommend ?and where to buy cheap one ?