Scratch removal from Sanjay

Veloc

Earlier this week i was approached by a friend and colleague to help detail Sanjay. Who is Sanjay? Well, it is this blue Saga BLM. I know. A sexy bollywood name right? This baby got hit and scratched while being parked. Not knowing how bad was it through the phone, I told her I'll see what I can do.

Look...
DSC00129.JPG

Closer look...
DSC00130.JPG

Looks like a simple paint transfer huh? Wait till you see how tough this thing it :)
DSC00131.JPG

For a close look, first of all, a good cleaning! Started with the wheels...
DSC00146.JPG

Lug nuts... Neglected areas as it takes time and not many will notice it...
DSC00148.JPG

Spray on Optimum Power Clean diluted 1:3. Watch the dirt just start to wilt away...
SAM_0527.JPG

Take some time...
SAM_0530.JPG

Done... Not that good yet. If one zoom in, there is still dirt in the inner part of the wheels. But for the time given, I can;'t spend too much time here. Got to move on.
SAM_0531.JPG

SAM_0532.JPG

Now for the bath... Generally, not many serious contaminations. Just some traffic film and dirt plus one or two bird poop...
SAM_0476.JPG

Optimum No Rinse. Just use 2 buckets of water. This is all you need. To wash the whole car. Yes you heard me correctly.
SAM_0475.JPG

After the wash, surface damages are finally brought up to light... Let's see... Look at this mark. This is a late treated bird poop. Can't be removed by regular wash no more...
SAM_0491.JPG

Another horrible scratch... Same side as the black one. Maybe by the same culprit...
SAM_0492.JPG

Serious thing here... Looks like the bird poop even removed part of the clear coat. I couldn't believe my eyes. Maybe i am mistaken. Because no matter how bad, I don't think bird poop can cause a chip like this???
SAM_0496.JPG

An unremovable mark that I do not know caused by what...
SAM_0497.JPG

Same... Loss of clearcoat...
SAM_0500.JPG

Fine scratches...
SAM_0505.JPG

SAM_0506.JPG

Random Isolated Deep Scratches...
SAM_0517.JPG

Aftermath of poop bombardment...
SAM_0523.JPG

Then I see this on the other side. The driver's side.... Sigh...
DSC00133.JPG

You will see later why do I hate tapes and stickers on cars... See their destructive power....
DSC00134.JPG

Bumper scratches...
DSC00139.JPG

DSC00140.JPG

In the door handles... Lady passengers???
DSC00143.JPG

And now the treatment... For that bad black scratch, I thought it was a light paint transfer that careless bikers inflict by their handle knocking on the paint. Started with Optimum Power Clean 1:5. No effect. Okay... OPC 1:3. No effect... Fine... OPC concentrate.... No effect. What the... Paint cleaner polish. No effect...
Just to test (Don't try this at home), I tried to scrap a bit on the black part with my nails... No effect...

I had to resort to the thing that I always want to avoid most... Wet sanding... Drove out all the way to buy some fine grit sandpaper.... Started with 1000 grit, followed by 1500, then 2000. Lubricated with ONR clay lube dilution.
Here is after the sanding... I have to say I feel Sanjay's pain, but this is for his good...
SAM_0538.JPG

For the part where the dried tape was, OPC had little effect. I tried little amounts of organic solvent, no effect as well. I didn't want to put more on it. Why is it so tough? I found that, sticker like these have a concrete effect. It is composed primarily of 2 things. Gum, and paper. Organic solvents and OPC dissolves gum but leaves the paper. Scraping can remove paper, but the gum reinforces the paper making it tough. Plus it will bound to scratch. Just like a concrete, the cement is reinforced by the stone fillings and vice versa. For each cleaner you chose, it can only target a specific target. Paper, or gum. The other will just stay intact and reinforces the whole thing...

So I resorted to wet sanding.... Same process. 1000, 1500 then 2000 grit... This is just to show you, how this tape is resistant even to sanding!!!
SAM_0540.JPG

Sanded.
SAM_0560.JPG

After all that, claying... Look at the dirt that bypasses washing... It won't bypass the clay...
SAM_0550.JPG

Masking for the compounding process... Besides, revealing some and hiding some makes it sexier XD
SAM_0554.JPG

Test spot... Started with OHC with Optimum polishing pad, then OHC with Optimum wool pad. Results showed that wool pad is inevitable here...
SAM_0556.JPG

All in all, the treatment done was:
- Wash with Optimum No Rinse
- Thorough cleaning with Optimum Power Clean
- Wet sanded with 1000, 1500, and 2000 grit with ONR clay lube as lube
- Optimum Hyper Compound with Optimum wool pad (Speed 1 to spread, 2 to work, back to 1 to finish)
- Optimum Hyper Polish with Optimum polishing pad (Speed 1 to spread, 2.5 to work, back to 1 to finish)
- ONR between all compounding and polishing to remove products.
- Optimum Opti-Seal to seal the paint (It blings badly as well XD)
- Optimum Car Wax to protect

Lets see the before and after...

Before...
DSC00129.JPG

To this...
SAM_0538.JPG

Done...
SAM_0608.JPG

Before...
DSC00134.JPG

To this...
SAM_0560.JPG

Done...
SAM_0603.JPG

Next day, in daylight...
SAM_0623.JPG

Before...
DSC00139.JPG

Done...
SAM_0592.JPG

Before...
SAM_0492.JPG

Done... That whitish lines are polishing residue...
SAM_0567.JPG

Done... Took 7 hours... Hope I had time to do the whole thing... But for the time given, I got to fix what has to be fixed first! Corrected the front half of the car...
SAM_0575.JPG

SAM_0580.JPG

Checking for marrings...
SAM_0582.JPG

SAM_0583.JPG

Thanks to General Makita
SAM_0571.JPG

And these commandos...
SAM_0569.JPG

Thank you for viewing another detailing journey of mine...

Great job!!! Well documented. Look forward to seeing more of your work!!!

Nice one Veloc!! It's so satisfying seeing the average daily driver receiving some tender loving care...

A bit of updates here... And I would like to ask detailing sifus and buddies out here...

I took the car out under the sun after few days to check for holograms and marrings... I don't have much problems with holograms... But there are still some fine fine scratches at some places especially on curved surfaces. I figured out that it may be due to me not spending enough time on these areas as I am a bit scared to compound the curves for longer time... Got bad experience of over-thinning the paint....

No particular holograms...
attachment.php

But at curves like there, there are still very fine scratches. Cannot see through the photo but there is... Is there a way to know whether it is the original scratches or whether it is inflicted during the compounding process?
attachment.php

Some dessert.... :burnout:
Water beading of OCW after almost 2 weeks...
attachment.php

Close up....
attachment.php

This part was without OCW. Only ONR. Not as nice but still nice for a car wash eh :biggrin:?
attachment.php

Cheers and thank you...

• DSC00181.JPG
    DSC00181.JPG
    110.5 KB · Views: 579
  • DSC00182.JPG
    DSC00182.JPG
    142.8 KB · Views: 569
  • DSC00176.JPG
    DSC00176.JPG
    199.1 KB · Views: 594
  • DSC00177.JPG
    DSC00177.JPG
    172.8 KB · Views: 596
  • DSC00179.JPG
    DSC00179.JPG
    182.2 KB · Views: 596
ive been following some of your detailing work n m truly amazed, my bike toppled on a sandy surface a few days back, the frame slider saved most of it but there stil are a few nasty deep scratches, the scratched surface is pretty rough, even after some waxing done.. any ideas on how to make it any better, will try to provide some images soon... any help wud be accepted gratefully :)

sifu

I am humble by yr passion & great skill u got

the rough is going & diamond is blinking

sifu

I am humble by yr passion & great skill u got

the rough is going & diamond is blinking

Haiyah KC... My exposure to detailing and knowledge comes from you and still need to learn a lot from you... Don't call me sifu aahhhh.... Please....

hrm.. i would like to ask how much would such detailing cost for a satria neo? i know that it would b based upon how bad the car is but could i get a rough estimate? my car has a lot of fine scratches like the ones in the picture of the door handle and also some stains that i think are from road tar.

Chester: I guess it varies on the level of damages, time spent, experience of the detailer, location, products used etc. Maybe you can ask around anyone whom you are interested in?

Pangyau: Haha... Friend... I would love to some day. But actually this is my hobby that I do on weekends only. I have jobs on weekdays that may require me to travel. Today actually, I'm flying to tawau and then into some jungle where there's no contact. Back on tues. But when I'm back and free, sure I would like to come and have a look at your babe..

Muyo: Friend... You guys are who I learn from but sifu front sifu back =.=