Saving Private Ryan

That's the common sheet metal normally used by many metal shapers/panel beaters in Malaysia. They comes in various thickness like 0.6mm, 0.8mm, 1.0mm etc etc. This plates are normally treated with factory coating ('ubat' common language). Factory plates come in rolled drums but i'm not so sure readily treated or not. May be Proton guys can share somethin' here.

---------- Post added at 11:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:50 PM ----------

Required dimensions are measured and transferred to the sheet. Then it is cut, bent, beaten or heated to achieve desired shape. This piece of panel will take about a day to complete. All detailing will follow as original as it could. Various type of hammers, beaters, chisels are used to produce detailing.

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/251792_1465558014774_1708249441_694800_814099_n.jpg

When complete, only then the defect panels will be cut and welded to its new organs. At the end of the day new organs should function well the way they were made functional before. You see, no point to have beautiful panel without functionality. So another point here is to get every parts work good. Beside the craftsmanship, the other element people don't see is the fitting and alignment. What's people normally see is the physical products while functions can only be felt when you 'play' with the car. For instant, door replacement may look good in the photos or when you see it. However can you feel weird thingy when it is opened or closed? Can you hear funny sound when use it. At this point here you can understand the important good fitting/alignment.

To fix new panels high skill panel beater is required. This stage takes long time and rarely people understand. Just think about this!

You're literally building a new car using the old chassis as reference! May I know how to register a rebuilt car since 90% of the chassis is going to be changed?

Registration normally done by the owner themselves. To make life easy, most people do that before bodyworks start. As long as chassis and engine numbers are correct sure tukar nama jd hal sgt.

People rarely realize corrosion on the internal sections. .....and especially when completed, the only think people ask is how much the bodywork. So here you can see many internal surgery carried out in order to fix a car to as good as it supposed to.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/223682_1481057522252_1708249441_710151_8294874_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/285117_1481058122267_1708249441_710157_25853_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/294724_1527054032136_1708249441_754617_1021158589_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/320892_1578640041754_1708249441_792859_638829332_n.jpg

to be continued... please reply or ask if any

this large piece is missing. so building from scratch we must do. luckily one fellow allow his to be copied entirely.

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s720x720/380388_1718731583955_1708249441_852874_1457984788_n.jpg

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/377953_1718732023966_1708249441_852876_545121121_n.jpg

i have simplified writing this bodywork restos btw... i skipped many other stages. nah nearly complete.

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/374613_1746284272755_1708249441_866231_1630521841_n.jpg

next stage will be metal prep..

Sweet...

Bro, a car that rusty, you changed the panels, basically all the metal in the car. Not that I'm doubting your work, but any idea if the rust will reappear? Usually how long can it last? Why I ask is because a few years back I sent my old car for bodywork because of rust and all. It wasn't as bad as this. But only after a year and a half, the rust reappeared mostly at the same spots as before. The shop I sent to also changed the panels. What would have gone wrong and would it be any different if I sent my car to you?

Sweet...

Bro, a car that rusty, you changed the panels, basically all the metal in the car. Not that I'm doubting your work, but any idea if the rust will reappear? Usually how long can it last? Why I ask is because a few years back I sent my old car for bodywork because of rust and all. It wasn't as bad as this. But only after a year and a half, the rust reappeared mostly at the same spots as before. The shop I sent to also changed the panels. What would have gone wrong and would it be any different if I sent my car to you?

sure, rust will return. unless proper treatment is made. rust, spider webs or potential rust should be removed, shell is neautralized, treated, layered with primers stage by stage etc. it's a heavy topic to tell and i won't be dicsussing here. it's part of our selling point (trade secret lah). but we can discuss during TT etc. we also cant escape from rust return but continual improvement are carried out tecnically.

---------- Post added at 04:22 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:19 PM ----------

so i think i stop here for bodywork...

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/296727_1563525703905_1708249441_782748_232163320_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/318405_1563525383897_1708249441_782747_1479690900_n.jpg

visit our site here.
Selamat datang ke Facebook - Log Masuk, Daftar atau Ketahui Lebih Lanjut

Its amazing to see a dying car comes back to life.
Keep up d good work.
Hope to see more classic car on d road :biggrin:

i admire the dedication.

good work. too rare, too few people would do this. money aside, the dedication (thumbs up)