Saving Private Ryan

djenrelle

Many car especially classic and oldskool gain their values in time. Many of them are alien to us. Many were sent to scrapyard of jual timbang kati. In fact many of cars like this turn to assets while most cars are not. Many old cars gain in $$$ and if you notice in mudah especially, these cars were sold at crazy prices. Though, many of them are still sleeping and awaiting new breath. May be you've come across and haven't given second thought of them... May be you should start! Find them and sell them. Or Find them save them! By next few years many will double in value. This has happened to first gen Celica for instant. Classic cars lagi la mashyukkk! So that's a start!

I'd like to hear your opinion if you'd save a rust bucket like this?

... and this is Private Ryan condition few months ago!

229110_1377748499591_1708249441_616983_6856143_n.jpg

263511_1417349169583_1708249441_659506_111413_n.jpg

The owner however opt for restoration although the car looks nasty and unbelievable condition.

So this is the start. A so called jig was constructed to hold critical structures so when rebuilding takes place overall shapes, connections, joints etc etc bla bla bla are maintained.

267949_1461211066103_1708249441_690405_5861309_n.jpg

Now this is an interesting thread... anymore post?

haihs...always wanted to do something like this...nice thread bro...keep us updated.

Now that's a critically conditioned car..

my rusty old bucket is a lot less critical than that.. hehe

anyways, it's all about the money..

No Money, No Rebuild.. :biggrin:

can't wait to see more of this car

:wink:

Let's camp here.. i think this story will be more interesting than one heated up previously.. :)

i 2nd bro L2s statement ... :rofl:

bro d7zul, not just money laa... time, passion, love, patience also needed to put this baby back together...this is what will make her priceless.. :love:

i 2nd bro L2s statement ... :rofl:

bro d7zul, not just money laa... time, passion, love, patience also needed to put this baby back together...this is what will make her priceless.. :love:

And to add perseverance...haha.. can't wait TS come back with the updates.. hopefully everytime i click into this thread can see something new here.. Keep it up!!!:beer:

Now this is an interesting thread... anymore post?

Is it because of the car mate?

---------- Post added at 05:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:02 PM ----------

This was car previously planned for restoration. However after sandblasting and stripped down to bare metal, it was long way left hounted. I'm not so sure how long but it should be long enough to see many lobang lobang appeared here and there. The whole shell looks like been burnt. Plates are thinning and you can also see many parts defected, gone and missing.

250044_1391463882467_1708249441_631380_3895711_n.jpg

252999_1391463722463_1708249441_631379_6846128_n.jpg

Nice thread here. Hoping to see more. Any completed project? Would like to see the before and after pics. If you have the "during" pics would be fantastic.

Why is there a feeling of double meaning in some posts? Hahaha.

Is it because of the car mate?

---------- Post added at 05:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:02 PM ----------

This was car previously planned for restoration. However after sandblasting and stripped down to bare metal, it was long way left hounted. I'm not so sure how long but it should be long enough to see many lobang lobang appeared here and there. The whole shell looks like been burnt. Plates are thinning and you can also see many parts defected, gone and missing.

250044_1391463882467_1708249441_631380_3895711_n.jpg

252999_1391463722463_1708249441_631379_6846128_n.jpg

So you mean now project abandoned already?:confused::confused:

What makes you say that? :confused:
This project is ongoing btw. I'd say 95% body restos nearly complete.

---------- Post added at 07:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:08 PM ----------

There are many ways to start with the restoration. A car like this need instant treatment on its bare shell. Of course the main reason is to stop thinning and rusting. There few products in the market that can do this. What can be seen soon is the bare shell turned to dark colour. This is a process where rust converted to iron phosphate chemically. This hard layer is then ready for further treatment or painting process. However before that, defect areas, structures or parts need reconstruction.

to be continued...

First stage of metal prep. Two pictures before and after. The shell is let dry as the acid penetrates and converts rust to a 'protective' layer on the shell surface. This bonding help to prolong rust from happen in the next few months. Few other treatments will be introduced when bodywork complete.

249604_1406920428871_1708249441_650008_4742759_n.jpg

262208_1417349649595_1708249441_659507_4366575_n.jpg

What makes you say that? :confused:
This project is ongoing btw. I'd say 95% body restos nearly complete.

I said it because i read, maybe i misunderstood.. anyway.. waiting for more of the pictures to come..
This was car previously planned for restoration. However after sandblasting and stripped down to bare metal, it was long way left hounted.

Can't wait for the prgoression pics of the Reborn.. =)

JLean @ UndercoverProject

It all handmade. No hitech machines no english wheels, bending machines etc. No after market parts, no repro fenders, floors etc.
This is called overhaulin Malaysian way. One craftman does one car till finish.

284277_1465558214779_1708249441_694802_3115650_n.jpg

283009_1461212706144_1708249441_690410_8325225_n.jpg

281714_1461212986151_1708249441_690411_7644344_n.jpg

284174_1472476427730_1708249441_702185_8093331_n.jpg

Good stuff man!!!

What kind of metal sheets are those? Same like the ones from factory? Just curious.