Satria 1.3 Engine heating on highway

yohannes

Satria 1.3
Normal road driving - accelerate at high rpm , etc....but temperature
seems to be ok and below half of the gauge

Highway driving - However , once i hit speeds of 100kmh and above for around
ten minutes constantly , the temperature immediately rises very quickly
and hits the bar that is one bar below the redline.

However , this is very weird because when i drive in city areas , like through traffic jams ,
around town , and places where i constantly start and stop , the problem does not appear.
Once i get on a straight road and drive at a high speed constantly , den the problem starts and the temperature starts to rise quickly. Weird indeed.

anyway , my mechanic in Jb said a tangki wash should solve the problem . however , i went to a shop in PJ today , and the friendyly mechanic helped me take something out from the radiator hose at no charge. However , it has not solved the problem yet. does anyone have a better idea of how to solve the problem with the least expenditure possible?thanks

ur radiator need maintainance

go to some specialize radiator shop such as the one at Old Klang Road (shell) towards Sunway there

Maybe you can try flushing the radiator.

Open the top and open the bottom then plug in your water hose from the bottom and start your car to let it run for a while. Then use good coolant and not those RM3 because it won't prevent rust in your radiator. :D

rps13_R said:
ur radiator need maintainance

go to some specialize radiator shop such as the one at Old Klang Road (shell) towards Sunway there

A MAJOR MAINTAINANCE you mean!

maybe your radiator is clogged. i've experience that with my uncle's kancil.

or ur thermostat kong....(experienced this b4 wif my kancil...normal driving, traffic jam ok..but above 100km/h, temperature increased like hell!)

hmmm....alll this advice sounds sweet...cos so far what has been diagnosed
was that i need to do a top overhaul cos my exhaust also got white smoke coming
out.... :( hopefully its just thermostat kong or radiator cuci or something...anyway ,
another thing was that when they checked it , the noticed that the water in the radiator
was flowing....so could there be more to it?Anyway thanks for the advice...

zero4 said:
i wonder what happens if i just use water instead of coolant for my radiator

nothing wrong wat just using water .... coolant is actually a anti rust thingi to prevent your radiator from rusting onli ....

aku_sangap said:
or ur thermostat kong....(experienced this b4 wif my kancil...normal driving, traffic jam ok..but above 100km/h, temperature increased like hell!)

see water pump got leaking or not....if not check d thermostat............

but before tat...check whether ur radiator is clean....if not..flush it...and use RO water + radiator treatment..........

my 2 cent

yohannes said:
Satria 1.3
Normal road driving - accelerate at high rpm , etc....but temperature
seems to be ok and below half of the gauge

Highway driving - However , once i hit speeds of 100kmh and above for around
ten minutes constantly , the temperature immediately rises very quickly
and hits the bar that is one bar below the redline.

However , this is very weird because when i drive in city areas , like through traffic jams ,
around town , and places where i constantly start and stop , the problem does not appear.
Once i get on a straight road and drive at a high speed constantly , den the problem starts and the temperature starts to rise quickly. Weird indeed.

anyway , my mechanic in Jb said a tangki wash should solve the problem . however , i went to a shop in PJ today , and the friendyly mechanic helped me take something out from the radiator hose at no charge. However , it has not solved the problem yet. does anyone have a better idea of how to solve the problem with the least expenditure possible?thanks

He took out your THERMOSTAT? that will make your temp go down forever (very low), but not recommended. If he took it out and your car still heat up. Should be your water pump.

little_monster said:
nothing wrong wat just using water .... coolant is actually a anti rust thingi to prevent your radiator from rusting onli ....

that means my radiator will rust lohhhh, hehehehehehehe

aiyah....u think in 1 day the radiator will rust meh... slowly it will rust your radiator... tats why sometimes why u see the radiator water is like kopi-o or milo colour cause the radiator is rusty and dirty lo.... so by having the coolant it helps the keep the radiator water clean la...

by the way if u are lookin for 1 ... i would recommand toyota coolant... ..tat 1 damn good...

perhaps u should check to see if yr thermostat is faulty or not??

little_monster said:
aiyah....u think in 1 day the radiator will rust meh... slowly it will rust your radiator... tats why sometimes why u see the radiator water is like kopi-o or milo colour cause the radiator is rusty and dirty lo.... so by having the coolant it helps the keep the radiator water clean la...

by the way if u are lookin for 1 ... i would recommand toyota coolant... ..tat 1 damn good...

oooooooo, toyota coolant ah, mine still water not yet milo ais kosong, but will add coolant soon also ler, thanks for the info ah bro

ok guy sjust checked with waja 2003 he said what he took out was
my thermostat. Anyway , i called up my mech in jb and he also said its ok
to take that out wor...i think thats the thermostat right?>The thing in the radiator
hose on the side closer to the engine. Another thing is , how come it only goes up when
im driving at a constant speed of about 100km/h? Other water pump ., what else?Piston ring and gasket need to be overhauled?thanks for all the replies

yohannes said:
ok guy sjust checked with waja 2003 he said what he took out was
my thermostat. Anyway , i called up my mech in jb and he also said its ok
to take that out wor...i think thats the thermostat right?>The thing in the radiator
hose on the side closer to the engine. Another thing is , how come it only goes up when
im driving at a constant speed of about 100km/h? Other water pump ., what else?Piston ring and gasket need to be overhauled?thanks for all the replies

Told you already he took out is your termostat, its okay but not recommended. Everything is there for a reason bro. Replacing a new one would cost you only around 100MYR.

You need overhaul only if you car overheat kaw kaw before. If that happen your car will overheat everytime you start ur engine.
then you need to replace your piston ring and gasket otherwise it should be water pump.

hmm...your radiator water got decrease and the spare tank got boil up or not?

does ur engine really over heat when it shows overheated? or maybe like what others mention, maybe display error or something

temp meter hardly faulty

taking out termostat will cause when driving at a higher speed

ur car temp will increase

this is bc ur water is not kept to be cool b4 inserted back to the engine

01. check radiator cap see in good condition or not...
02. check water pump see got leaking or not....
03. check ur radiator see dirty or not....
04. lastly, if all above no problem...then it must be ur thermostat....

get one change....or if no budget now...remove it 1st n buy one to replace when u got money...