Rusty roof

Zidane

Good morning guys,

Just wanna ask this.

I own a tx3 and there are signs of pimples or rusts coming out.

I got this offer from a workshop. They said they will grind the rusted part. If the rust is too serious, they will cut that part and replace with a metal plate. And then they will put fibre.

is this a good way or is there a better method.

regards,

had mine done last year.. grind..etc repaint...
but the guy said no promises..this thing will come back..

the best is change the roof..

Bro,

how long before the rust showed up again?

I intend to do it but only as a temporary solution. Is it a good idea?

But if the rust shows up in 6 months, might as well just change the roof.

kingtraz said:
had mine done last year.. grind..etc repaint...
but the guy said no promises..this thing will come back..

the best is change the roof..

u're absolutely rite bro. it wont last long. the most it can tahan is less than 2 years. it will come back again. best solution is to change the roof man :rock:

Its better to ask the paint shop guy to grind it and paint.

With a good job done, the layer of undercoat and paint is readily to keep the rust a way for min 3 years

but the trick is, your paint shop must be able fully remove all the rust first .. or else the oxidation will happen under the new layer of coats... so you wasted your time and money ...

That's right.

It happens commonly in Protons but there are cases, like my friend's Mazda Lantis.
So I assume Ford/Mazda of certain years are having the same problem too?

The best solution would be to change to new roof.
Or find a really good bodyshop that could scrap the entire roof of old chemicals that could be the culprit.

He has done his and the rust appeared again after few months!
It even leaks with water+some rust particles inside now, just like before the spraying..

agree... my fren oso did the same..

juz need to find good bodyshop that can do the work laa..

if not, wasted oni.

Write your reply...