Rust spot on roof

wfhan...

now my spots bleeding air karat already ler... was trying to source-up the ae101 4 doors sunroof
some time back... but they don't come by very often ler...

at first i thought only models from the year 95 have this kind of problem... another yr 95 owner also had this problem... but i don't think thats the case after reading this thread...

haven't change the roof yet... i wonder how much is the price for a stock roof?
again like u said... change roof also no gerenty...

faeizal,
if change the whole roof (with or without sun-roof) it is required to cut away the roof and re-weld back.. would it sacrifies the chassis regidity ?

bro wfhan,my fren also did done some diy b4 on his car rust roof,wat he did was send his car for the paint shop to clear out the rusted spot,repatch with fibre then after the whole thing done he bought a can of anti rust and spray the roof,it's been 3-4 years oredi after he did repaint and his car roof still look fine to me,no more pimples coming out...

howard,
u mean ur fren bought the antirust and pass to the paintshop to spray on the roof ?

wfhan - i think when change the whole roof & re-weld back, it doesn't affect the rigidity of the chasis. Depends on the mech skills & experience. But, u have to risk ur front & rear windscreen. Some mech will not warranty any damage (broken) of the windscreen. Also, the cost of replacing the whole roof quite expensive compare to patching the pimples.

If u want to install 4 doors sunroof, it'll be good idea. But, the price is quite expensive than 2 doors sunroof. Also, the 4 doors sunroof is hard to find.

For my car, the rust appeared on the front & rear pillar (not sure the correct term)...
done some patching & anti-rust chemical.

I will try to find back some photos during my DIY.
I hope mine will not come back lar.... i only repaint my car 3 months ago.
Basic concept is Metal cover by paint, it wont rust.

Basically rust is due to acidic glue that used underneath of our roof.
when hot and cold, got wapour mix with the acidic glue, then it start to kill the paint and reach the roof.

so we need to remove the all the glue, then remove all the rust, then cover by antirust, basecoat, then put back some silicon glue there... it will last you another 20 years at least if do properly.

I drive my car without roof (the cover) for 3 months, cos 1 day do abit, somemore weekend only free to do it only. send to ppl, ppl may not do it properly and may just coverup the rust part with the antirust.

I will look for some picture tonite to share, hope i still able to find these pictures.

P/S: Please do not let it spread if your roof is getting rust. if not later will have a hole and u got to send it to do welding, "bakar timah" or soldering iron also can.
we must makesure our 15 years old SEG is stronger than other new car in the market. :) hehehe, got cancer must repair it.

if wanna repair a few spots on the roof roughly how many days taken by the body shop? can they spray the roof only? or must spray whole car?

from my experience...usually takes 2-3 days to repair & spray back your roof.
and the paint shop only spray the roof only...not the whole car...unless u ask for it... :biggrin:

if soray onyl roof, then the edge near new paitn and old paint will hv visible signs of diff color? even texture ?

i think there will be a sign of different colour, cause from my experience i have repaint my front bumper oni and can see a different. dont know if we sent our car to an expert.

err.. anybody here kno what is the market rate for sprayign the whole car ? metalic dark grey color..2k paint

outside only or outside inside cause the price oso base on this. my fren just change his colour. that cost him about rm 2.2k. at keramat au3

if soray onyl roof, then the edge near new paitn and old paint will hv visible signs of diff color? even texture ?
my car car doesn't see the diff color very much...
maybe it depends on the color scheme....
if dark color...the diff can't be notice so much...
if brighter color.....maybe the diff will be notice....

my car car doesn't see the diff color very much...
maybe it depends on the color scheme....
if dark color...the diff can't be notice so much...
if brighter color.....maybe the diff will be notice....

how about when u trace your palm along the new paint area
crossing to the existing/old paint area, does your palm felt the border/edges of
the new paint and old paint ?

On the roof where the painter put the cement....feel some slight border.
But on the pillar (tulang) does not feel any border or color diff.....
During TT @ Shah Alam that day, u should check it....maybe next TT can take a clear look... :)

Price varies according on spraying jobs for just outside, or including inside (engine bay, rear truck, inside door frames).

Repainting the roof usually takes 2 days. Colour different are not too obvious for roof comparing to other bodyparts that are more visible. If the roof itself didn't rust until there are holes or bruises, by sanding off the rust, patching fibers and spraying suitable primer, basecoat and clearcoat, it should last for at least 1 year. However, like most paintshop sifus will say, there's no guarantee and the best solution is still replacing the roof unit.

hey guys, hope this will gv you abit of info dealing with rusted roof.

1)[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]remove and clean up all the silicon glue or rusted area from the roof area.
2)[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]apply anti rust primer for top and bottom of the roof especially the rusted area. (try Hammerite Anti Rust Primer– you can get it from Home-Fix at 1 Utama Shopping Centre - RM60++ for 500ml)
3)[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]apply further 2 coats allowing 30 minutes after each coat.
4)[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]you have to wait for 4 hours for the topcoat.

:wavey:

[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]

• DSC00012.jpg
    DSC00012.jpg
    44.2 KB · Views: 84
  • DSC00013.jpg
    DSC00013.jpg
    35.7 KB · Views: 90
  • DSC00014.jpg
    DSC00014.jpg
    41.1 KB · Views: 91
  • DSC00020.jpg
    DSC00020.jpg
    36.8 KB · Views: 88
ajnone,
how long is the whole process for u to complete that (1. to 4.)
can complete DIY in 1 day ? and then arrange/send for spray at other days, right?

ajnone,
how long is the whole process for u to complete that (1. to 4.)
can complete DIY in 1 day ? and then arrange/send for spray at other days, right?

For my case, I can finish it within a day bcoz the rusted area not much and not so serious. So if you have some scenarios like me then I bet you can complete in one day.

For better result, remember to apply the anti rust primer before the top coat.
Just to share…:smokin:

hey guys, hope this will gv you abit of info dealing with rusted roof.

1)[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]remove and clean up all the silicon glue or rusted area from the roof area.
2)[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]apply anti rust primer for top and bottom of the roof especially the rusted area. (try Hammerite Anti Rust Primer– you can get it from Home-Fix at 1 Utama Shopping Centre - RM60++ for 500ml)
3)[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]apply further 2 coats allowing 30 minutes after each coat.
4)[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]you have to wait for 4 hours for the topcoat.

:wavey:

[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]

bro,can pm me ur contact number.....tq

Write your reply...