Questions on E23 732i

Danny

Dear BMW sifus,

Got a few questions on an E23 which I just had a look, thinking of using it temporily until my car is fixed, any help is appreciated :-

1) What's the market price for a 1984 model 732i auto? It is in quite good condition considering the age, no visible rust spots and everything stock. The engine is a 3.2 litre but the road tax has been altered to 2.5 litre, so it is fairly cheap to renew (RM800+ a year). The car is being offered for RM6.5k negotiable.
2) Can this car be used for drifting?
3) Are parts easily bought and is it relatively easy to maintain?
4) I might be using this car for 6-8 months, is it easy to dispose off after that?
5) It has a sun roof, which I'm told it usually comes with imported models. The sunroof is still working, but is it prone to water leak during rainy seasons? I haven't had a chance to test the water leakage part yet.

i am not a sifu but will offer some but limited help......

1. Rm 6.5k is a good price if the car condition is gd.....no rust marks seems to be another plus factor. check the engine if it matches that stated on the papers....who knows, u might be getting a 2.5 instead of a 3.2

2. sure can lar if got skills........

3. there are more parts for the e30s, e34s, e36s, e39s and e46....for some reason the 7sevens are harder to come by

4. hard to answer, depends how much u want to sell it for.....

5. alot of cars in malaysia tend to have problems with sun roof esp the rubber fittings.....

better check the other stuf like aircond, tranny and oil leaks too.......

cheers.......gd luck...... :)

thanks for the feedback sifu eddie!

The drifting part has got my interest...heheh

oh yea how to check the engine if it is 2.5 or 3.2? Coz he said the no. has been scrubbed off and redone. The original geran states its a 3.2 though, then later converted to 2.5.

Lots of difference in the road tax, previously RM3090 a year then after that only RM800+.

is it this car at puchong??? grey colour??
if true, this is my fren, yes 3.2 engine with 2.5 roadtax
car is running condition, good price

Look for the E23 sifus on www.bmwclubmalaysia.com : nicks are whl and E23_728i

Also, some parts for E23 ain't cheap - unless you don't intend to restore the car.

Drifting - dun think so because of the body roll, weight and you are looking at an auto! Also hard to find performance springs and absorbers. With RM6,500, better to look for a Toyota KE70 if you seriously want to play drift.

hkh, yea its the same one. Thanks for your feedback.

I also saw another one advertised at 4.5k only, 728i manual. Will check that out to compare first.

osflanker, I'm not serious about the drift but just wondering if it can be done then I don't mind keeping it for long term.

Write your reply...