Rusting found in brand new Vios?

I'm just too much of a car freak. Always curious to see those technical bits inside a car. See how the rear suspension look like, how the exhaust look like, what tyre size, tyre brand and so on. :stupid:

It'll look a bit stupid if I go to the showroom and look under the car like that. But that is a good idea though. Its just that I dint have the chance to visit the showroom yet.

U won't look stupid if u dun think that way. Cuz that's what u think and not others :biggrin:

even if u complaint at service centre, most probably they'll just spray on the rust.
no replacement will be done...reason given is rust is only on the surface.

so are u willing to wait half/whole day just to get it sprayed?

Don't worry, I'm not the one waiting as I am not the owner. But waiting for half a day just to get a small spray doesn't seem worth the time.

U won't look stupid if u dun think that way. Cuz that's what u think and not others :biggrin:

Positive motivation indeed, haha. :biggrin:

Don't worry, I'm not the one waiting as I am not the owner. But waiting for half a day just to get a small spray doesn't seem worth the time.

Positive motivation indeed, haha. :biggrin:

Not motivation la, is dont be too self-conscious, makes life more relaxing haha

That depends on who the owner is. For us DIY kakis, we will definitely do our own if small matter rather then waste half/whole day, but there are many who won't touch these stuff, so for sure they will send back to SC...:smokin:

I looked underneath my sis car. Yes the supports are rusty. I would probably just spray it with high temp spray. Unless my sis doesnt mind waiting at SC.

let me check under my 2002 waja....
hmmm..no rust lh bro...hehehehe.

well,thats the thing abt new car these days.
the cost cutting measure to increase profit and reduce waste.
the 'increase profit' part is the main thing

wonder whats missing in proton's sv line up.
i know for flx model there is a bar in the boot removed.
the persona comes std with front 2 point strut bar.
they must give and take something in order for then to make the bar necessary.

Means all same......:banghead:

Yawor...myvi also dont have that problem. I think they want to save cost so they just skip the galvanizing part. My guess is that the supports, even though they r rusty, could easily last for more than 5 years

Cheap OEM supply from local manufacturer. What to do all want cost down.....:banghead::smokin:

That depends on who the owner is. For us DIY kakis, we will definitely do our own if small matter rather then waste half/whole day, but there are many who won't touch these stuff, so for sure they will send back to SC...:smokin:

You guys can save a lot of money through DIY. :biggrin:

I looked underneath my sis car. Yes the supports are rusty. I would probably just spray it with high temp spray. Unless my sis doesnt mind waiting at SC.

Seems like this problem occurs in every new 3rd gen Vios.

They are already charging 70k plus for the Vios and still called that cut cost? I think they only engineering and development cost went for the exterior and interior design. The 1NZ-FE is an old engine and same goes for the gearbox.

yes the steel support cam last for years.
the main concern is the area around the weld.
the weld itself is very strong but it create stress around the weld area.we can only see the outer skin of the muffler but we cam see inside.notice that if left under the element,more rust damage are found around the weld area but not the weld itself.

the muffler is galvanised but before the welding process hence the rust.

if the car is seldom drives for some time at optimun running temp then water vapour will form and trapped inside the muffler.
that is why most citi car has its muffler fail from the inside.
almost everytime on the bottom side as thats where the water is collected when the water vapour cools down.

in the vios case its not critical major failure or manufacturing defect but bad engineering design.too much weld in a small area.

yes the steel support cam last for years.
the main concern is the area around the weld.
the weld itself is very strong but it create stress around the weld area.we can only see the outer skin of the muffler but we cam see inside.notice that if left under the element,more rust damage are found around the weld area but not the weld itself.

the muffler is galvanised but before the welding process hence the rust.

if the car is seldom drives for some time at optimun running temp then water vapour will form and trapped inside the muffler.
that is why most citi car has its muffler fail from the inside.
almost everytime on the bottom side as thats where the water is collected when the water vapour cools down.

in the vios case its not critical major failure or manufacturing defect but bad engineering design.too much weld in a small area.

Yup, agree with you that too many welding points. I remember my rear muffler have one in front and one at the rear of the muffler....:smokin:

Write your reply...