RPM drop...Electrical problem??

pifecto14

Just wish to check with you whether is it normal that my idling drop when i turn on my headlights and all other electrical component like the heater for the rear mirror, and sometimes when wen i wind up the windows can feel the car's idling dropping and feel the car got slight jerkiness due to the rpm dropping too low. And when start to move from standstill like will jerk a lil first or start moving from a standstill is very slow. Any of you guys got a solution to the prob i mentioned or encountered yourself before? Thx

Mine also got this sign, but not severe like yours la. When i switch on the indicator light, the rpm raise a little. When switch on the headlight, the rpm drops a little.

Just wish to check with you whether is it normal that my idling drop when i turn on my headlights and all other electrical component like the heater for the rear mirror, and sometimes when wen i wind up the windows can feel the car's idling dropping and feel the car got slight jerkiness due to the rpm dropping too low. And when start to move from standstill like will jerk a lil first or start moving from a standstill is very slow. Any of you guys got a solution to the prob i mentioned or encountered yourself before? Thx

Bro..
Thats very normal coz the light will pull the alternator current and make your rpm drop...
If HID and Light booster wont be like that...:biggrin:

I'm using HID as well, should use less energy/power from what i heard, and mine is fuel injection:nurse:. Hmm Thanks for the advise tho. :adore:

Actually, I find this kinda odd problem. I have something similar but it doesn't happen all the time. My car sometimes, when I'm driving and when I engage into neutral gear on my manual tranny, the idle will drop to less than 500rpm but it won't kill the engine. Then it'll go up again and down again and then only it will stabilize at about 700rpm. It's not supposed to be like that but what I noticed is that if I warm up the car nicely before I start driving, the idle problem won't be there. Guess I'm slowly killing my car. hahaha

usually that's because of a throttle body that needs cleaning...happened to my car oso..

adeen,
I suspect the throttle body needs cleaning too. Cos my k&n filter is quite dirty and i didn't have time to wash it for few months already. hahaha more busy than the cops working OT to take bribe from citizens. hehe

have any grounding cables...??

yea using 6 points grounding cables. But still no diff

Satria 95,

I had the same problem as u mentioned before, when free gear the idling drop till 5-600 rpm and then climb back up to around 900 rpm...Mine sometimes will drop till too low that it mati engine...but the problem was solved with a FICD. :)

But then i gatal go and take out the gears in the bottom part of the throttle body and now if i dun warm up the engine the idling will be very low. But once engine warmed up then won't have problem d.

where is the FICD usually located at..??inside the car..??

yea using 6 points grounding cables. But still no diff

Satria 95,

I had the same problem as u mentioned before, when free gear the idling drop till 5-600 rpm and then climb back up to around 900 rpm...Mine sometimes will drop till too low that it mati engine...but the problem was solved with a FICD. :)

But then i gatal go and take out the gears in the bottom part of the throttle body and now if i dun warm up the engine the idling will be very low. But once engine warmed up then won't have problem d.

how about ur batteries..???r they new or old..??since i'm suffering from the same prob as ur facing....and i dun have any grounding or any VS....but then my batteries are from 2005..
since i dun see cars such as Optima or my bro's astina having the same problem...

pifecto,
What's a FICD? I'm not familiar with these kind terms ler. If you say terms like SEX, or SAKOCK, or TITS, then yeah, I'm familiar with those. hehehe

how about ur batteries..???r they new or old..??since i'm suffering from the same prob as ur facing....and i dun have any grounding or any VS....but then my batteries are from 2005..
since i dun see cars such as Optima or my bro's astina having the same problem...

My batteries are sorta new, juz changed it several months ago. Maybe you should try out grounding or VS. But for me it both didn't not help thats for sure.