Ron 97 up again

shark79

Yucks...........today ron 97 has gone up to 2.50, time to buy a myvi and keep the fuel guzzlers at home..:turtle:

Never try never know. If we really can vote out our current gov, we can easily also vote out whoever. What I see is, 'change' is inevitable....

Why discuss about it? It is already mentioned that ron 97 will float according to the global oil prices and if I'm not mistaken now global oil prices are sky high due to the crisis in Egypt. So just hang in there ;-)

sorry little bit off topic question :adore:

Is it true that Shell V-Power Racing in Malaysia is rated 100 RON???
I tried to find in their website, but found nothing mentioned bout it...

If this question had been answered before, please pardon me...
I really need to find the truth bout it, I mean the true one...not based on hear-say or rumours.

Thank you.:driver:

---------- Post added at 09:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:16 PM ----------

sorry little bit off topic question :adore:

Is it true that Shell V-Power Racing in Malaysia is rated 100 RON???
I tried to find in their website, but found nothing mentioned bout it...

If this question had been answered before, please pardon me...
I really need to find the truth bout it, I mean the true one...not based on hear-say or rumours.

Thank you.:driver:

Shark79, MyVi is also a fuel fuel guzzler. Often hear owners complaining also. :biggrin:

Ber5rsk, V Power Racing is also RON 97 but has different addictives, etc...

Shark79, MyVi is also a fuel fuel guzzler. Often hear owners complaining also. :biggrin:

if im not mistaken
shell vpower is ron97 with vpower additive
shell vpower racing is ron98 with vpower additive

Hi Shark, nice to meet you that day :itsme:

Myvi is not fuel guzzler.... its super! I also managed to tapau many performance cars in my myvi because it's little and can cilok very nice :rofl:

Why discuss about it? It is already mentioned that ron 97 will float according to the global oil prices and if I'm not mistaken now global oil prices are sky high due to the crisis in Egypt. So just hang in there ;-)

good explanation, FYI the international oil price would be +-USD100 per barrel.

Hi Shark, nice to meet you that day :itsme:

Myvi is not fuel guzzler.... its super! I also managed to tapau many performance cars in my myvi because it's little and can cilok very nice :rofl:

same here...legendary ride by the way

---------- Post added at 05:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:21 PM ----------

you know what ron 97 price is the same as vpower back in the good old days...anyways need to make more money now....:help:

if im not mistaken
shell vpower is ron97 with vpower additive
shell vpower racing is ron98 with vpower additive

Thanks bro...:adore:

The reason I'm asking because in wikipedia, they mentioned that V-Power Racing in Malaysia is RON 100! But in Shell Malaysia website, they just mentioned that V-Power Racing is minimum at RON97. Sounds like it could be RON 97,98,99 or even 100 :hmmmm:

Here's the wikipedia link, you all can refer to "Examples of Octane Ratings Chart"
Octane rating - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia@@AMEPARAM@@/wiki/File:Gas_Station_Pump_Five_Octane_Ratings.jpg" class="image">thumb/0/0f/Gas_Station_Pump_Five_Octane_Ratings.jpg/280px-Gas_Station_Pump_Five_Octane_Ratings.jpg :hmmmm:

Just some thoughts and planning on my part :idea:

1. Standard rb25det/rb26dett should be fine running on RON95. Standard ECU will detect knock (IF it happens) and retard ignition or something, engine will run safely.

I ran my std R33 rb25det for almost 2 years on RON95 last time. No issues.

2. Modded rb26dett with aftermarket ECU can be tuned to run RON95...I know one taiko's car here doing just that... even during rempiting he had no issues.

3. BUT modded rb26dett tuned to RON97, if run on RON95 and boosted can ruin the engine!!! I saw that recently with my own eyes. :bawling:

4. Modded rb30det (whenever it's ready) will be run on RON97...but only will come out of hibernation once a week at the most :sleep:....sayang bini maaa :love:

gobiz, since u said will bring her out once in a blue moon....just put VPR nia....:)

yesterday fueled up RM 50 only got 20 liter for my stock rb25det.

should I change to ron95?

FYI mine is stock.

Just some thoughts and planning on my part :idea:

1. Standard rb25det/rb26dett should be fine running on RON95. Standard ECU will detect knock (IF it happens) and retard ignition or something, engine will run safely.

I ran my std R33 rb25det for almost 2 years on RON95 last time. No issues.

2. Modded rb26dett with aftermarket ECU can be tuned to run RON95...I know one taiko's car here doing just that... even during rempiting he had no issues.

3. BUT modded rb26dett tuned to RON97, if run on RON95 and boosted can ruin the engine!!! I saw that recently with my own eyes. :bawling:

4. Modded rb30det (whenever it's ready) will be run on RON97...but only will come out of hibernation once a week at the most :sleep:....sayang bini maaa :love:

U are right big horsepower gtr's in states run ron 92 but i suppose like you said the engine is tune specificly to perform well on the fuel that it is running on. I believe eventhough you have tune your standalone management on ron 97 i see no problems on running lower ron 95 as the management knows when to retard or advance.Unless power junkies straight to race fuell..muahahaha

---------- Post added at 01:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:29 PM ----------

yesterday fueled up RM 50 only got 20 liter for my stock rb25det.

should I change to ron95?

FYI mine is stock.

There are definitely differents in power when using ron 97 compared to ron 95

gobiz, since u said will bring her out once in a blue moon....just put VPR nia....:)

That's the beauty of a weekend car.. Got extra budget, then can fill up fuel to go jalan2.. If not, just leave it at home collecting dust.. :rofl:

Yeah, planning to run vpr only :)

That's the beauty of a weekend car.. Got extra budget, then can fill up fuel to go jalan2.. If not, just leave it at home:driver: collecting dust.. :rofl:

Actually not so much a matter of budget, a full tank is not that much compared to 'other' things but its more a matter of logic... My route to work is from ulu kelang to pandan indah and the traffic is barely bearable at the best of times. I really dread going into 5km crawl.

However id need to get a feel of the car first. Who knows it could just be so easy to drive hehehe
:driver:

---------- Post added 02-04-2011 at 12:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was 02-03-2011 at 11:48 PM ----------

U are right big horsepower gtr's in states run ron 92 but i suppose like you said the engine is tune specificly to perform well on the fuel that it is running on. I believe eventhough you have tune your standalone management on ron 97 i see no problems on running lower ron 95 as the management knows when to retard or advance.Unless power junkies straight to race fuell..muahahaha
With gentle driving its ok but ive seen with my own eyes a modded rb26 tuned to run on 97 but boosted on ron95 seize. When the engine was opened you can see detonation craters all round the bore and on the cyl head.

But for standard engines i think ron95 is very safe, really the margin of safety is very high for standard engines and standard ecus.

Write your reply...