Rim's width.

boyzone

guys,

Does different of rim width will affected handling?
example : 14x6j vs 14x7j.

What is the objective people built the rim width to 7j?
Recently I'm look for a set of new rim, but confuse on the rim width.

Pls advice... Thanks.

even though running with same size of tyre? Pls advice.. Thanks

Hi boyzone,
FYI, if you use 15x6JJ rim + 195/50/15 tyre, your 195 tyre is not yet fully widen. If you use 15/6.5JJ or 15/7JJ rim, you can see clearly from physical that your 195 tyre is even wider than previous rim I mentioned. You have the idea?

As long as the diameter of rim is same as the diameter of tyre, both of them are a nice couple. If you use smaller width of rim to a wider size of tyre, you can see the tyre will look more round shape to the edge of rim. If you use bigger width of rim to a smaller size of tyre, you can the tyre will look more square to the edge of rim.

Hope my english can make you clear.

Cheers!

thanks bro KK for detail explain.. I can get it.
BTW, wider rim = more heavy right?

Wider rim not really heavy. Only when you drives you will feel heavy because the contact to the road is more. You would find 2-piece rim very width, but the rim itself very light. Even with single finger can lift the rim up already.

ya mine with 7j wide rim also... from TOM's
it really effect handling at high speeds and corners.
more wider rim will bring better grip....
and of coz the tires also important la...
hehhee.....

205 in 15"? hehe, your car is likely to be drink petrol rather than comsume petrol...
haha... :D

I'm using 195/50/15 on my 15x7jj rims. Plugged into my Saga :p
Springs are stiff & absorbers are dead... I think.
Corners as flat as a plank! DAMN nice! But I REALLY need to get my abs fixed... it's killing my back already :( Even the slightest bump on the road feels like you are driving on a washing board. ROUGH!!!!
Wider tires + stiffer springs gives good cornering performance but make sure you have good all-round tires. Weather here switches in an instance, so all-rounders give you some degree of preparedness. Most importantly, they keep your car on the road when doing high-speed corners.
Oh, & don't forget the absorbers. My back REALLY hurts :(

...well, my 2-cent's worth. Hope it helps someone :D

6jj and 7jj rims with same width tyre, no difference lar... its the tyre that touching the road, not ur rims mah... rim is jz to hold the tyre in place....

i'm currently using 15x6.5jj rims.... i cannot use 7jj rims coz my car is lowered and it with touch the rear fenders on both sides... so, 6.5jj is ngam ngam only.....

if the price for both 6jj and 7jj is the same, get the wider one... if someday in future u wanna fit in bigger and wider rubbers, it can support it mah....

SkYwAlKeR said:
6jj and 7jj rims with same width tyre, no difference lar... its the tyre that touching the road, not ur rims mah... rim is jz to hold the tyre in place....

i'm currently using 15x6.5jj rims.... i cannot use 7jj rims coz my car is lowered and it with touch the rear fenders on both sides... so, 6.5jj is ngam ngam only.....

if the price for both 6jj and 7jj is the same, get the wider one... if someday in future u wanna fit in bigger and wider rubbers, it can support it mah....

Actually, there IS a difference.
Wider rims hold the tires differently as compare to slimmer rims. No doubt the tire width might be the same, the stance at which it sits is not.
If you look properly, 195 tires seem a little more rounder on 6jj rims as compared to 7jj rims. And the thickness is also slightly different. There's an area of tolerance between the thickness (the '55' number in 195/55R15) and the breadth (the '195'). This is where the difference can be seen.

And, as for fittng 7jj rims, you can IF you use stiffer springs. As long as you have good absorbers to go with it, it should be ok.

14x6j with 185/60 vs 14x7j with 185/60 tyre
are both of them given with the same handling ?
pls advice.. Thanks

kk9972 said:
205 in 15"? hehe, your car is likely to be drink petrol rather than comsume petrol...
haha... :D

not really also la.... with 205 superb handling ma....
but at last also changed to 195, coz 205 is special size, price also special lo...
hehehe.....:_:

boyzone said:
pls advice.. Thanks

i think dun have much difference la.....
if got also just little only, except u use 195 lo, sure different....

boyzone said:
pls advice.. Thanks

Un-noticable difference.
But if you're going for the look, wider rims gives your car a better stance :regular_smile: