Rims Offset - need help

width difference = 1inch = 25mm

with 8" +38 rear and 7" +33 front ,
the rear will stick out further than the front = 12.5(25/2) - 5 = 7.5mm

to make them in line, you will need 7.5mm spacer. ( N/A , maybe need to use 5mm )

question is : can your FF car fit 8" fat tyre at the back ?

Looks lilke the front rims (33+) already has a spacer !

I think, I will try to install the rims in first, to see whether the rear can fit an 8" rims or not.

Will update. I am learning a lot from this experience. Thanks guys !

kzfe,

dont bother to put 8" width wheel on a FF.......

trust me, the car wont accelerate properly.......

7.5" are already considered wide on a 215 tyre..

off set 33 in front is a big problem for FF cars too, unless ur calipers r super small.

IMHO, the rims you mentioned are meant for FR.

:) good luck....cheers

eddie said:
kzfe,

dont bother to put 8" width wheel on a FF.......

trust me, the car wont accelerate properly.......

7.5" are already considered wide on a 215 tyre..

off set 33 in front is a big problem for FF cars too, unless ur calipers r super small.

IMHO, the rims you mentioned are meant for FR.

:) good luck....cheers

U must be one of those people with wrong impression about offset.. U see, rim offset is how much the hub face is offset from the center of the wheel.. Generally it should have more clearance than wheel with larger positive offset value, and u shouldnt be having problem with caliper, but with the fender instead.. But that still depends on the spoke design laaa..

U must understand that a 7" with +33 offset is diff then a 7.5" with the same +33 offset..

Hope this helps...

inside of wheel http://www.suncitystreetscene.net/forum-new/uploads/post-38-1108807990.gif outside of wheel

I would try the rims before buying.

I think another concern is the 16 x 8.0JJ i.e. 8 inch tyre width...

Is it easy to get that kind of size ? What sort of tyres size should suit the rims with 8" width ? 205-50-16 ?

This is getting very educational as well as interesting.... thanks guys for your advise thus far.

kfze said:
I would try the rims before buying.

I think another concern is the 16 x 8.0JJ i.e. 8 inch tyre width...

Is it easy to get that kind of size ? What sort of tyres size should suit the rims with 8" width ? 205-50-16 ?

This is getting very educational as well as interesting.... thanks guys for your advise thus far.

i think should be a 225/40/16 or 235/40/16

i am still waiting to see an FF using offset 33 infront....kekeke....

hehehe.... i know I know !

using 40 series ah....

or 55 series .....

50 series can or not ?

hi kfze,

regarding to your concern, the smaller + offset number = the external wheel lip is more out front the car chassis. if u put +33 at the front while the max is +35, then there is 3 things u need to take notes.
1. will it hit the front wheel fender?
2. when u make a turn, will it hit the inner front wheel arch?
3. is that the rim have enuf clearance for your caliper (will the spoke hit the caliper).

for the rear wheel, rim with 8JJ +38 spec, the front lip of the rims distance from the car chassis should be about the same with rim with 7JJ +26spec. in another word, if your car can fit in any wheel with 15/16/17 7JJ +26 spec, then it should be no problem to fit in your rims.

REASON,
We cannot just look at the offset figure, we need to calculate the width of the rim as well. The width diff for 8JJ & 7 JJ is about 25mm...diveded by 2 = 12.5mm, which means both left & right side of the rim will be extend another 12.5mm longer from the wheel centre (refer to diagram post by signal)
so, the rim will be more closed to the fender about 12.5mm. Which means the requirement for the wheel fender room clearance for 8JJ +38 will be same with the 7JJ +25.5. btw, the 35-45 is base on 6JJ, 6.5JJ, 7JJ, 7.5JJ or 8JJ??

spacer will not help you in this case, by adding spacer, it will only cause the rim more easy to hit the fender.

since the shop offer u to try first before purchase, then just give it a try, bcos sometime the spec given by the manufacture might not be the max firgure, just the safety firgure. :D. try to test the wheel with full load & drive thru those bump road, by then only u will know it can fit nicely or not. ;)

2 things to take note
1. will the wheels hit the fender
2. will the inner wheel lips hit the suspension. (almost impossible, but to be safe, check it out as well.)

Just my 2cent, correct me if i'm wrong. :D

tajulsans said:
U must be one of those people with wrong impression about offset.. U see, rim offset is how much the hub face is offset from the center of the wheel.. Generally it should have more clearance than wheel with larger positive offset value, and u shouldnt be having problem with caliper, but with the fender instead.. But that still depends on the spoke design laaa..

U must understand that a 7" with +33 offset is diff then a 7.5" with the same +33 offset..

7" with offset 33 to be used in the front.... = cannot lar....

unless caliper is super duper small...... ;)

rim offset does not affect the brake clearance - provided that the spoke design & how the spokes 'come out' from the hub is the same for different offset rims.

Imagine : rim with offset 10 & rim with offset 50 - same rim design.
the only different is that,
with offset 10 , the hub is 10cm away from centreline of the rim
with offset 50 , the hub is 50cm away from centreline of the rim

it's like shifting the hub mounting position:- whether 10cm from centreline of 50cm away from rim centreline.

got it ?
if not ...... do search & read. Better still get wheel of same design and size but with diff offset. try them both and measure the brake clearance.

It is a bit difficult to understand, unless explained in practise.

My car will be sent in to mech on Sat. I think, but Tues or Wed next week, the car should be ready. And I should be able to try the rims by then. Try to fit in and see what happen.

Will snap pix to share with all. Well, its worth a try.

But I do share eddie's comment on using FR rims can affect acceleration. The wider the tyre width, the more resistance you get. Therefore, acceleration will be as good as it should be.

actualy there is another way to do it, change your spring to the hardest & set the damper higher like those rally car...:)

huh...

do all this just to accomodate the rimss ? hmm.....well, I do going to lower the car and install stiffer suspension.

Guys,
Here is the conclusion of the whole rims offset thingy.

Tested it today. Front 16 x 7JJ offset +33 and rear 16 x 8JJ offset +38

Conclusion : Front no issue. But rear, cannot ! 8 inch is wide for my car. Too wide out and will hit mudguard.

Looks wise : OK lar...from the back, it looks like the two tyres are oversized !

So, didn't get the rims at the end !

Thanks for all you comments and advise. Appreciate !