Rb30

hehehe now can get nissan rb30 long block for around RM1,xxx only.

Os Giken very expensive still.

I know got 1 bnr32 with rb26/30 currently being run-in...just completed build. :listen:

hmm i heard kene tapau edi that r32 with rb26/20 haha

i check on utube there is a skyline r34 gtr which is using RB30 , i think its called the STEATH BOMBER ? Its black in color , also i heard there is 1 called " RIPS " anyone got any more info ?

I wonder when is Bullet / Billet going to do the VR series engine = p

Dude, ur nick is RB30 but u've never heard of RIPS? :biggrin:

hmm i heard kene tapau edi that r32 with rb26/20 haha

What the heck is an rb26/20 bro? :hmmmm:

i check on utube there is a skyline r34 gtr which is using RB30 , i think its called the STEATH BOMBER ? Its black in color , also i heard there is 1 called " RIPS " anyone got any more info ?

I wonder when is Bullet / Billet going to do the VR series engine = p

I don't know if you even clicked on the links but neither Bullet nor Billet do RB30s or anything RB-related worth mentioning so I don't know if they'll suddenly decide to make Nissan a priority.

And sorry but I have to agree with Temujin. RIPS are perhaps the world's authority on RB30s and have backed it up countless times. The black GTR you saw is actually a UK car shipped to NZ for the build and then back again. At that point in time it was owned by an England national rugby player but I don't know if it has changed hands since.

---------- Post added at 03:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:26 PM ----------

What the heck is an rb26/20 bro? :hmmmm:

Mari kita 'Dislike' sama dia! :banghead::biggrin:

then we should start building a RB30 ourselves then :proud:

btw if i dont noe RIPS, how would i mentioned of it lol :confused: just that i dont have info about it but i saw and heard of it

but even so , JUN , MINE's and HKS if i not mistaken they made badass GT-R even still using a RB26 , though i recall JUN was a R33 , current favorite its from MINE's :love:

btw if i dont noe RIPS, how would i mentioned of it lol :confused: just that i dont have info about it but i saw and heard of it

but even so , JUN , MINE's and HKS if i not mistaken they made badass GT-R even still using a RB26 , though i recall JUN was a R33 , current favorite its from MINE's :love:

Dude, the age old wise words of 'Google is ur friend' is mighty useful imho..

On the other hand, i find that an RB30 is overkill to normal as well as race applications in my book. A well modded RB26 is potent enough to perform in any situations.

No offence doc gobiz.. Hehehe..

On the other hand, i find that an RB30 is overkill to normal as well as race applications in my book. A well modded RB26 is potent enough to perform in any situations.

Has the RB30 been used in race applications before? I don't remember it being the driving force behind any Bathurst winning teams? :hmmmm:

Ok, time to wait for gobiz2 to come back with 10,000 reasons why the RB30 is better than indoor plumbing. :biggrin:

Hi :) Let me update you.

RIPS is one of the pioneer developers of the Nissan (not OSG) rb30. He has built many cars from the chassis up including RIPS no. 1, Stealth Bomber, Borg and RIPS Drag-R. You should have a look at the build threads at gtr.co.uk...his attention to detail is insane!

RIPS has also built a special, one-off rb33 which is a decked rb30 similar in concept to the OSG rb30. This engine is now in Ireland if not mistaken.

Nowadays, rb30s are commonly used esp. in Australasia. Hi-Octane uses rb30s in their race-cars and sells a complete engine package.

Spool Imports have developed a rb34 stroker kit with a full counterweighted crank.

Nitto now also sells a rb32 stroker kit with full counterweighted billet crank.

There are now many rb30s in Malaysia. I know one guy who has imported his second batch of rb30 blocks. Apparently all have been sold - 15 blocks if not mistaken.

Well, not overkill... will explain why below...and no offence taken :biggrin:

[PIMPIN];1063611635 said:
Has the RB30 been used in race applications before? I don't remember it being the driving force behind any Bathurst winning teams? :hmmmm:

Ok, time to wait for gobiz2 to come back with 10,000 reasons why the RB30 is better than indoor plumbing. :biggrin:

Hehehehehe here I am :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Well, I wouldn't say rb30 blocks are the best thing since sliced bread....but the main 2 reasons why I love them is:

1. CHEAP
Rb30s initially were FREE in Australia and NZ...apparently you just go to a scrapyard and pick it up. Anyhow, they are definitely cheap in Malaysia now. There's one in Mudah asking for RM1200 nego. I've heard a friend was offered a block for RM800. That's a lot cheaper than even a Waja block.

Rb30s have the same exact architecture as rb25 and rb26. Both rb25 and rb26 heads fit straight on without any mods. All ancillaries also fit right on. I've seen one being assembled with my own eyes.

They are usually sold as a complete bottom end. So you can just overhaul the bottom end with fresh bearings and piston rings etc. Or even if you want to go forged, several companies from Australia sell rebuild kits quite cheaply. For example, Spool Imports sell a complete kit ie. forged pistons, forged rods, race bearings and thick headgasket for just slightly over AU$2000.

RIPS sells standard but refreshed bottom ends for around NZ$4500. They have been proven to take 700hp without problems.

Thus usually, a rb30 is cheaper than a rb26 to rebuild.

2. TORQUE
A rb25 is 2498cc. A rb26 is 2568cc. A rb30 is 2997cc iirc. An engine is an air pump. A bigger engine pumps more air.

Jun, HKS, Tomei, Apexi, Brian Crower all sell stroker kits for the rb26. Check how much each costs.
This is with the goal to have more torque.

The beauty of the rb26 is that it revs high. However this is also a double edged sword. High revs bring severe stresses to the engine. That's why we don't see many standard cars that rev beyond 8000rpm.

The rb30, being around 400+cc bigger than a rb26, doesn't need to rev so high. It makes significantly greater torque from the lower rpm regions by spooling the turbo/turbos a lot quicker, since there is significantly greater exhaust output.

Therefore and generally, it makes equal power and torque at lower revs. So theoretically it should be a more durable engine.

Rb30s have the same exact architecture as rb25 and rb26. Both rb25 and rb26 heads fit straight on without any mods. All ancillaries also fit right on. I've seen one being assembled with my own eyes.

This is true. He even paid for the engine stand. :biggrin:

Thus usually, a rb30 is cheaper than a rb26 to rebuild.
Jun, HKS, Tomei, Apexi, Brian Crower all sell stroker kits for the rb26. Check how much each costs.
This is with the goal to have more torque.

Also true.
In fact, some stroker kits alone can cost more than complete rebuild of RB30.

However, we don't see many RB30s that rev beyond 6000rpm without breaking.

Again, very true.

Congratulations, he has me convinced. :driver:

[PIMPIN];1063611856 said:
However, we don't see many RB30s that rev beyond 6000rpm without breaking.

Hehehehehe naughty naughty........

Just FYI... RIPS has taken a stock crank rb30 with forged pistons and rods to 11,000rpm.

Rb30s rev just as well to 8000rpm no issues. Similar harmonics to rb26.

The point is they don't need to.

Nitto rb32 stroker kit is rated to 10,000rpm. Yummy?

Hehehehehe naughty naughty........

Just FYI... RIPS has taken a stock crank rb30 with forged pistons and rods to 11,000rpm.

Rb30s rev just as well to 8000rpm no issues. Similar harmonics to rb26.

The point is they don't need to.

Nitto rb32 stroker kit is rated to 10,000rpm. Yummy?

Ah yes, RIPS built ones go to 11,000rpm. Good thing your was done by RIPS branch in Puchong :adore:

LOL.. ini mmg Nain marah. Baik aku lari! :adore:

sadly there is alot of info i cant find in the google and some r written by ppl which i dont noe can i even believe of wat they saying , like example some r just cars moded by ppl saying its from HKS , yeah they have all the HKS parts on but its not HKS themself mode , but i not even sure does HSK mode a GT-R , i noe MINE's n JUN does, can even find MINE's GT-R info at their page

this is y im here in the first place its a forum to share info and discuss :biggrin:
but as usual not everyting in the internet its true :hmmmm:

[PIMPIN];1063611926 said:
Ah yes, RIPS built ones go to 11,000rpm. Good thing your was done by RIPS branch in Puchong :adore:

LOL.. ini mmg Nain marah. Baik aku lari! :adore:

Hence why my rev limit is 4000rpm hehehehehhe :biggrin:

sadly there is alot of info i cant find in the google and some r written by ppl which i dont noe can i even believe of wat they saying , like example some r just cars moded by ppl saying its from HKS , yeah they have all the HKS parts on but its not HKS themself mode , but i not even sure does HSK mode a GT-R , i noe MINE's n JUN does, can even find MINE's GT-R info at their page

this is y im here in the first place its a forum to share info and discuss :biggrin:

Whoa tiger.. HKS probably among the first few to come out with 'whole' cars when they launched the Zero-R. At the same time, you do realize that most of these companies like JUN etc are actually a lot smaller than what people expect and it would be impossible for them to be building actual cars and selling them like AMG for example. If you look at it in that context, then the amount of cars actually built by the respective tuners are a drop in the ocean compared to what is put together by enthusiasts around the world using parts from said tuners.

Anyway, welcome to the Internet. Even here you can't believe anything I say its no different from Google. :biggrin:

Alah joking lah :)

You've got a lot to learn my young Padawan.. :driver:

As [PIMPIN] has mentioned, HKS is big for GT-Rs.

And of course, u shouldn't trust forummers either.. We might be conmen for all u noe.. :biggrin:

[PIMPIN];1063611965 said:

Alah joking lah :)

Semangat betul Mr RB30 kasi statistics and stuff to prove his point. Evidence-based motoring eh gobiz? :rofl:

You've got a lot to learn my young Padawan.. :driver:

As [PIMPIN] has mentioned, HKS is big for GT-Rs.

And of course, u shouldn't trust forummers either.. We might be conmen for all u noe.. :biggrin:

Semangat betul Mr RB30 kasi statistics and stuff to prove his point. Evidence-based motoring eh gobiz? :rofl:

I'm all for big power so long as it fits the original hypothesis, cited in at least three separate scientific journals and accepted by the academic community as a whole. :confused:

Currently we are building 1 RB3025 (RB30 block with RB25DET head). Still running in and we will do dyno tuning by end of this week or early of next week. Lets see whats the torque and HP we got from it. :)

Some pictures to share...

• RB3025 raw engine.JPG
    RB3025 raw engine.JPG
    145.2 KB · Views: 141
  • RB3025 block number.JPG
    RB3025 block number.JPG
    143.6 KB · Views: 133
  • RB3025.JPG
    RB3025.JPG
    154.3 KB · Views: 141
Currently we are building 1 RB3025 (RB30 block with RB25DET head). Still running in and we will do dyno tuning by end of this week or early of next week. Lets see whats the torque and HP we got from it. :)

What pictures?

There's 3 pics bro.

---------- Post added at 05:16 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:16 PM ----------

Looks awesome!!! What turbo is that?

Refreshed internals or forged? :adore::adore::adore:

Write your reply...