SUPERB workmanship!! MUST SEE

Gday Skyliners

I heard jun auto mechanic and tuners were in Links, sunway the other day to tune a R34 with a fully build 2.7L engine by Jun. heard belongs to a kelantanese guy. is he a member here? that car should be a monsta too i guess.

gobiz, do RIPS just do a restoration almost like that guy (Borg) did to his?

Restoration I mean is like, customer send their car and have the car rebuilt, getting the engine bay cleaned and parts replaced (just like The Borg) and the stock engine given a new refreshments parts and ported but no add-ons like bigger turbo, etc. Just have the engine rebuilt to standard spec.

another thing, I think you may have read about the Endless-R guys in Jap. If it were you, RIPS or Endless-R? and why?

gobiz, do RIPS just do a restoration almost like that guy (Borg) did to his?

Restoration I mean is like, customer send their car and have the car rebuilt, getting the engine bay cleaned and parts replaced (just like The Borg) and the stock engine given a new refreshments parts and ported but no add-ons like bigger turbo, etc. Just have the engine rebuilt to standard spec.

another thing, I think you may have read about the Endless-R guys in Jap. If it were you, RIPS or Endless-R? and why?

Hi farique :wavey:

I'm sure RIPS can do just pure restoration work, but their specialty is upgrading.
Either way it will be expensive, so why settle for a standard 280hp car?

RIPS does superb work. Check out the other projects in gtr.co.uk... many UK (rich) guys send their car thousands of miles over many seas to RIPS in NZ.

I don't know much about Endless, sorry.
But I am planning to send an R32 GTR to RIPS... in the future. :idea: rb30 + Garrett T04Z :love: RIPS already built a R34 with this http://www.gtr.co.uk/forum/69822-my-r-i-p-s-rb30-build.html , of course, mine will probably be a lower spec as my budget is more limited.

Soooooo many steps to take first:
1. Buy a R32 GTR here in UK (luckily they are very cheap!)

2. Import to Malaysia and register with JPJ first (using my wife's AP)

3. After that, send to NZ in a 20ft container.

hahaha.. "why settle for a standard 280hp car"; true that. I was just had an imagination if the car were restored to standard factory spec, we'll have a 'brand new car from factory' kind of feeling when driving it. You know la, the GTRs all around the world mostly were secondhand unit which has been used and thrashed by the Japs. So, no 'virgin' kind of feeling when sit inside the car... :biggrin:

what the heck am I mumbling about.. lol

anyway, I asked 'bout the Endless-R guys cuz I read bout a restoration project being held in Jap on a R32. Check this: http://www.gtr.co.uk/forum/86532-project-deus-ex-machina-underway.html. The stuff(s) done to the car is just so *speechless*.. But the guy didnt aim for high hp tho. His aim were to close in 500~550hp with twin setup. Can't remember the turbos exactly, you'll find it along in the lengthy posts. :biggrin:
Not sure if the Jap guys treats the nut and bolts like the way RIPS did, but the outcome is no less than stunning. Shiny² stuffs.. bling².. woo.. show car. but it can go too. :burnout:

thanks for the link. Didn't notice it over gtroc. Wow.. the car needs to be clean in order to pass the quarantine in NZ? wow.. now that is something new to me. Was it because of the cows over there so they have to maintain the cleanliness like to avoid some infections?

good luck with your plannings. Hope it will turn out as what you wanted it to be. :top:

I hope mine too. :rolleyes:

hahaha.. "why settle for a standard 280hp car"; true that. I was just had an imagination if the car were restored to standard factory spec, we'll have a 'brand new car from factory' kind of feeling when driving it. You know la, the GTRs all around the world mostly were secondhand unit which has been used and thrashed by the Japs. So, no 'virgin' kind of feeling when sit inside the car... :biggrin:

what the heck am I mumbling about.. lol

anyway, I asked 'bout the Endless-R guys cuz I read bout a restoration project being held in Jap on a R32. Check this: http://www.gtr.co.uk/forum/86532-project-deus-ex-machina-underway.html. The stuff(s) done to the car is just so *speechless*.. But the guy didnt aim for high hp tho. His aim were to close in 500~550hp with twin setup. Can't remember the turbos exactly, you'll find it along in the lengthy posts. :biggrin:
Not sure if the Jap guys treats the nut and bolts like the way RIPS did, but the outcome is no less than stunning. Shiny² stuffs.. bling².. woo.. show car. but it can go too. :burnout:

thanks for the link. Didn't notice it over gtroc. Wow.. the car needs to be clean in order to pass the quarantine in NZ? wow.. now that is something new to me. Was it because of the cows over there so they have to maintain the cleanliness like to avoid some infections?

good luck with your plannings. Hope it will turn out as what you wanted it to be. :top:

I hope mine too. :rolleyes:

Hello Farique, are you living in Kuching? Whereabouts?

The main problem with sending cars to Japan is the very high cost of labour over there.
Even more so with the high yen now.

Labour costs are a lot cheaper in NZ, that's why UK owners are willing to ship the car halfway around the world without even meeting Rob ever.

NZ has very strict agricultural rules, imagine if the foot-and-mouth disease spreads in NZ, it can destroy their main economic activities ie. dairy and sheep farming! Even at the airports, they will check your shoes and any food items very closely.

Hehehe, my plannings change daily and even hourly sometimes :biggrin::rofl: but let's hope they all work out for us.

If you don't mind sharing, what's your plan? :idea:

Hello Farique, are you living in Kuching? Whereabouts?

The main problem with sending cars to Japan is the very high cost of labour over there.
Even more so with the high yen now.

Labour costs are a lot cheaper in NZ, that's why UK owners are willing to ship the car halfway around the world without even meeting Rob ever.

NZ has very strict agricultural rules, imagine if the foot-and-mouth disease spreads in NZ, it can destroy their main economic activities ie. dairy and sheep farming! Even at the airports, they will check your shoes and any food items very closely.

Hehehe, my plannings change daily and even hourly sometimes :biggrin::rofl: but let's hope they all work out for us.

If you don't mind sharing, what's your plan? :idea:

Hi Gobiz,

yeh, living in Kuching, Sarawak.. I hope you still remember where Sarawak on Malaysia map is. :laugh:

I was totally forgotten 'bout the labour cost in Jap. Should've thought of it before asking your opinions regarding the two shops. hahaha.. my bad.

with the current exchange rate between NZD and MYR, RIPS sure is the chosen one. with 20K NZD just as much 42K MYR compared to having heard of Tomei Derive RB26 alone cost as much as 98K MYR.. :afraid:

well.. plan will commence as soon as I'm financially strengthen. Is that a correct term? haha.. not sure.... if financially not strong, habis la.. :laugh:

find a bone stock (I hope its possible :laugh: ) BNR34 and copy the Z-tune specs. Tak dapat beli Z-Tune, pakai Z-Tune copy pun jadi la.. :biggrin:

engine wise, stroke it or rb30 not too sure. A pair of gt2860-7 perhaps. some mild cams. that's about it.. I think:hmmmm: Basically, its gonna be a street car or daily driven. Nothing crazy power for 10 or 9 sec quarter mile attack. Just smooth and responsive. :biggrin:

Hi Farique,

Some of my best friends are from Sarawak...but not Kuching, Sibu.

They are among the Melanau elite.

Anyway, if you plan to buy R34, I agree, your financials must be strong.

As for me, I'm going to buy R32 GTR soon. Over here they are £5000 = RM26,500 only. So financials don't need to be strong :D

Sibu eh.. that's about 6 hours of drive from Kuching.

that place is a lil bit scary with their drivers. Most of them have a bad attitude of driving. You know the walkway on the side of the road for pedestrian to walk near to junction? Don't be surprise seeing 4x4 drive on them as if that is part of the road. scary..

Im not saying all Sibu-nites are a bad drivers but, most of them tend to be that way. :rolleyes:

I too would choose BNR32 for a base car of the project but, as you can see over here their prices are just insane and the car itself has claimed the 'collectors item' status. Even the existing owner not gonna sell it off unless he's a lunatic or in need of cash.

There's one black over here in Kuching, well not exactly in Kuching, but around 3 hours drive to Sri Aman from Kuching. I heard it from a friend that car's owner is some 'tauke balak'. It was 2~3 years ago seen on the road. Dont know if it has been sold tho. I've never seen it in flesh.

You say no need to be strong? I bet you still need to. You need to pay the pump gas of that beast as soon its done. 3liters with t04z will drain out the tank pretty soon.. hahaha.. :rofl:

a question, Z-Tune uses IHI turbines am I right? Anyone knows exactly the model of the turbine used?