Question

EcstacyElmo

i was just wondering if it was a good or very stupid idea to have an s13 as a non-racer
i like the looks, theres power, but getting a second hand unit seems like impossible to get a good condition one.
then there's the problem of fuel consumption for me, student oni mah but mbe price range can get a s13. can anyone tell me the fuel consumption, general service price (oil change,this change that change, timing belt n stuff)
how much for a trip down to the mechs?
then since i don't race and don't plan to race, i read in some articles turbo kicks in around certain rpms, is it possible to set the turbo to kick in at a higher rpm?
would doing this save on fuel or other wise?

dun flame me ar..really know very little bout cars.

hmm.. mebbe get a honda DA integra.. looks almost the same as an s13, no turbo.. shud get better fuel consumption..

price range around 40k-50k.. d/p shud be about half of that..

fuel cons shud be about 400km for a full tank (almost rm70).. at least on my car lah..
servicing normal oni.. parts easy to find, so no worries there.. of course wif turbo, slightly more attention to it lar.. 5k km servicing etc..

erm.. y shud u want turbo to be in higher rpm? save fuel? i suppose u could activate the turbo at a higher rpm... but then whuts the use of having a turbo then..

mebbe juz keep the rev at low 2k (but no shiok la :lol: ).. a stock standard or mildly modded sr20/ca18 shud be ok wif fuel consumption if ur easy wif ur right foot..

juz my 2 cents..

yalor
the only reason i would want the turbo in higher rpm is to save fuel lor, cos i am quite a lazy driver n normally drive in all gears around 2.5k-3k rpm...
so no point burning all that when not doing anything funny rite?
does the active turbo cause more fuel to burn when driving under normal conditions or not? soli ar, feel like a stupid question....