Fuel hose blues

wideawake

It has been a while since I installed a bosch 910 pump with a surge tank in the rear boot.

However, fuel smells in the car is a daily ordeal. The fuel hose in the engine bay leaked/burst twice already. The one in the rear burst twice also if I recall.

The stock line from the rear to the front is still the stock line, which I think is kinda small. I don't have an adjustable fuel regulator yet. And since I installed the new pump, I'm having idling problems. At traffic lights, when I slow down, the RPM will go down and die off.

I'm looking for a solution to change the whole fuel hose/line to something which is wider, and can resist higher pressure and heat. Anyone out there can suggest something? I'm sure you must have some kind off problem like this after you changed the fuel pump.

Thanks.

Theres a place in near my hse that does this hoses n pipes. For my gloria, I opened the whole fuel line n brought it to the shop...They made a bigger one for me with the exact bends as the original. This shud solve yr hose busting problem...

Hope it helps..the shop's mane is 'Salati' in gombak.

Lama tak dengar cerita geng...where u gone missing???

Back on the project car again. This time, I installed a fuel pressure regulator (Aerospeed).

The installer tuned the pressure to be 50 psi during idle, just after the engine started. However, after a normal drive, and checking the meter again, the pressure rised up to 100 psi. I'm not sure if it has got to do with the fact that my return hose goes back to my surge tank. I have an overflow link to the main tank, so if there is extra fuel in the tank, it should flow back to the main tank.

Any ideas?

Fuel line burst?? this is serious and I am assuming that your fuel line isnt braided? No way a new braided fuel line will burst at most it will spring a leak.

50psi on idle is high, set it lower or at high rpm your injectors may sort of 'jammed' and could potentially kill your 910 pump too. Do you have an EGT to gauge your engine? If it's not anywhere near 830'c you are running rich.

Your return line should go back to your tank and not into your surge tank. I run stok pun pimp from main tank to surge and from surge a high flow pump to the fuel rail. From the return side of the fuel rail it goes back into the main tank.

hope that helps

I'm using the concept from the following diagram in my fuel system.
http://www.sr510.com/tech/fuel.jpg

Courtesy of http://www.sr510.com

The burst fuel line is not a problem anymore. (that was the original post like 1+ years ago). Anyway, where do you guys get those cool steel braided lines? Mine is only rubber fuel hose from spare parts shop.

My problem now, is after a hard drive, the meter goes up to 100psi!! That seems too much. I'm wondering if there is a fuel return issue, which is caused by the design that I used in the diagram above.

Another one, where do you get an EGT? Better still, what workshop in Subang/Klang has an EGT that can check this.

Thanks.

I dont think there is any EGT service for rental except for O2 sensors. EGT has to have it's probe installed onto the exhaust manifold on the first runner.

Try and return the fuel to the main tank instead of into the surge otherwise de0tune the FR.