upgrading fuel pump

out of curiosity, I have come across people using twin fuel pumps. How effective are they and where are the pumps located? How do you rate the flow rate of twin pumps eg. 2 x evo 3 pumps at 100lph each... what would be the end result?

Can both pumps be located inside the fuel tank or does one of them need to be taken out?

2 pumps in parallel = 2x the flow (max of course) same pressure. 2pumps in series = same flow but more pressure. analogous to batteries, current and voltage

Originally posted by vteckiller@Sep 27 2004, 01:16
go get yourself a new tank from potong kereta which has a fuel pump in it..
use that and no need upgrade fuel pump,that is suffiecient..get yourself a fuel regulator +meter and set it should run fine.
I shopped around for a fuel tank today. The potong kereta can't find me a new tank. Well... what do u expext from a 20 year old car?

Looks like I might opt for the surge tanks setup. I don't want to blow my engine....

Do I need 2 fuel pumps for this?

Usually ppl use 2 pumps if their current one isn't providing enough fuel. So I think if you have a good and powerful pump, you don't need 2.

Erm.... back to my question.

For a surge tank setup, do I need 2 separate pumps? One for sucking fuel from the main tank to the surge tank, and one to send the fuel to the engine.

I need 2 pumps. Why?

Because my original tank is a carb tank which does not have an internal pump. So I need one pump to pump fuel to the surge tank, and another one to pump fuel from the surge tank to the fuel rail.

I have a Bosch 910 pump that I want to connect to my surge tank.
I wonder how do I mount the outlet of the pump to a fuel pipe.
I got 2 types of connectors just in case.

Refer to the image.

1. Do I unscrew the valve in the Red box, and then screw on the type 1 connector?
2. Do I use the type 2 connector and then screw a nut to secure it? (the output will be 90%)

I'm not sure if the valve will be needed or not.

Thanks.

Buddeersss ... do this too if you plan to upgrade your fuel pump

http://groups.msn.com/TeamMatrixMotorsports/enginetalk.msnw?action=get_message&mview=0&ID_Message=22980&LastModified=4675494782806839937

Thanks alucard. I had that in mind too.

This setup is for an external surge tank. And I'm still not sure whether to use the valve that came with the fuel pump or not.

Originally posted by AlucarD@Oct 26 2004, 12:30
Buddeersss ... do this too if you plan to upgrade your fuel pump

http://groups.msn.com/TeamMatrixMotorsports/enginetalk.msnw?action=get_message&mview=0&ID_Message=22980&LastModified=4675494782806839937
for direct wire the pump functions eventhough your car engine is not running, since all it needs is for the car to be switched on. If you can trace your original wiring, try to find out which wire is connected to the ecu, and replace that with the new wiring. This way the pump will only start when the engine is running, thus less wear and tear on the pump.

btw what type of wire did u use for your car? Is there any difference between smaller wires compared to thicker wires?

Danny, yes I did what you mentioned.. you need to remove the front pannel of the dash (behind the CD player) to get access to the main relay. Wire your relay and wirnigs to the main relay so the pump only works when you start the car. Ensure good grounding and for security use a solder to make sure all connections are secure. Also, keep a few spare fuse and realy in case your car wont start or died halfway.

Thicker wires cost more lah :P and can carry higher current with less voltage loss.

Wideawake, dont think you need that valve. Take a look at the various surge tank applications. Normally no valve.

Larger wires gives you higher output current. These only costs a few ringgit more than the existing wires. With RM50, you can rewire the entire fuel wiring and also leftovers which is enough to tie both your arms and feet.

Higher current output supply to your fuel pump means higher flow output for the fuel rails to the injectors.

Get a Walbro 255lhp fuel pump. All your worries are over.

1 pump enough for up to 500hp engine. Of coz some people prefer having 2 pumps with 1 acting as a safety precaution just in case the 1st 1 fail. Twin pumps would need more current to drive, compared to single pump.

I've got 1 for sale. RM650. Brand New.
:D Hehe :D

wah lau.....JIMMY.
U dun have to sleep ar???
How was ur mahjung yesterday......
HEHE...sori guys.....unrelated issues. :D cheers