Question on shock absorber

francbs

Hi,:wavey:

I am using currently using AE101 and my shock absorber are not in good condition so i am deciding to change it.

So here i would like to know what is the advantage of buying used shock absorber and i hope i can get more feedback on it. What i know is that most of the used shock absorber is kinda more expensive than common new shock absorber.

Btw i am from Kuching ... any recommendation or comment will be great.

Thanks in advance.:proud:

If you're looking to replace them with stock ones, might as well buy new Toyota... Quality assured and they will serve you well...

last time i ask my friend check around .... found aftermarket shock absorber cost around RM500 for 1 full set - 2 front and 2 back. i guess it is ordinary one. Looking a better quality one cost around RM800 - more than RM1K but the used shock absorber also around that price. So wondering the difference does it make.

Correct me if i am wrong that shock absorber can't be repair, that what i heard if i not mistaken.:confused:

Err..you have to be more specific there bro -- What do mean by "aftermarket"? Sports shocks? Adjustables?

I think for about 1.3k++ you can get GAB one set which comes with sports shocks (which is harder and stiffer than OEM shocks) with sports lowered springs. Plus another 300-450 for new Toyota absorbers mounting. Plus alignment, camber re-adjustments, labour...will come around 2k.

Replacing with OEM (meaning all original Toyota parts - 4 shocks, 2 front abs mounting, change rear only if needed bcoz it lasts very long - not incl in mentioned price) would cost you around 1-1.2k.

You can never tell what's the condition of those used shocks if they're not fixed to your car. Usually stock shocks wont be repaired (inject or any other method) unless you want to save money really bad bcoz it will not last that long. Performance shocks are usually serviceable but I have no idea how recommended that is. The manufacturer claims its serviceable, i guess it that should be okay kot..heheheh..not 100% sure on that.

Bottom line, based on your budget, you are better off with OEM parts, which is not bad at all! :)

Im using GAB SA series, absorber only, 4pcs @ RM800 from RS One. If you get GAB lowered Sport Spring, its really good in handling but lost alot of comfort. I tried before, and i change back to ori spring.

Thanks alot for the information.

In actual fact, my shock absorber almost reach the time for replacement. Therefore i am seeking for advice what are the choice i have to replacing it. Budget sure is limited maybe less than 1k.

From what i have seek around lately, i notice there r some new gab shock absorber around 800.00 and also used shock absorber around the same price. I also heard from my someone that for my car ae101 the new shock absorber without spring cost can get for around 500.00

1. What is the difference between used shock absorber vs new shock absorber around the same price.
2. anyone can share where can i find place to service shock absorber in Kuching.
3. what would the cost be for servicing so i know what i need to prepare for.

Sorry for the unclear post about. too new to this

1. Brands ? ability to tune/adjust?
2. kuching ar.. no idea..
3. Depends on the shop u sent to service lor... ranges from rm100~rm300 (per piece)
depending on the brands/what u service.

like lwc1983 said gab sa series is around 800 and i did get a feedback from a supplier that is cost around 950 for sa series and delivery cost around 150 to kuching. this is for the new one that i
know so far beside kyb and apm also around that price.

And as for unused, i haven;t search for potong shop yet but in the forum can find around hi/lo for around 800-1k ++.

Im using GAB SA series, absorber only, 4pcs @ RM800 from RS One. If you get GAB lowered Sport Spring, its really good in handling but lost alot of comfort. I tried before, and i change back to ori spring.

That's a useful feedback! I've been thinking about changing to GAB whole set and not wanting to lose the comfort + stability balance. Thanks!

How long have you been using it bro? Anymore details about it?

like lwc1983 said gab sa series is around 800 and i did get a feedback from a supplier that is cost around 950 for sa series and delivery cost around 150 to kuching. this is for the new one that i know so far beside kyb and apm also around that price.

And as for unused, i haven;t search for potong shop yet but in the forum can find around hi/lo for around 800-1k ++.

I'm not trying to discourage you or anything but it all depends on what do you want to achieve by changing/upgrading the shocks.

1. Want comfort, go for OEMs (with ur budget can get new)
2. Doesnt mind losing a little comfort, lwc1983 has said it all (can get new)
3. Doesnt care about comfort but want your car to be really stable, go for adjustables ie hi/lo (used item)

I'm not trying to discourage you or anything but it all depends on what do you want to achieve by changing/upgrading the shocks.

1. Want comfort, go for OEMs (with ur budget can get new)
2. Doesnt mind losing a little comfort, lwc1983 has said it all (can get new)
3. Doesnt care about comfort but want your car to be really stable, go for adjustables ie hi/lo (used item)

Thanks ..... that is a good information for me. that really help me to solve the problem on what the money can buy especially when u r in the a budget.

anyone know different between kyb, apm and gab?

Just now drop by 2 chop shop and few spare part shop. chop shop doesn't have any used performance absorber. the following is the price i get from spare part shop

1. Tokico = 700
2. Apm = 520
3. Kyb = 520
4. OEM = 640
5. Apm Performax = almost 1k

Will go and find more about it. So any comment on the above.

Just now drop by 2 chop shop and few spare part shop. chop shop doesn't have any used performance absorber. the following is the price i get from spare part shop

1. Tokico = 700
2. Apm = 520
3. Kyb = 520
4. OEM = 640
5. Apm Performax = almost 1k

Will go and find more about it. So any comment on the above.

The prices u got are quite okay bro. If u ask me, among Apm, KYB and OEM, I would go for OEM becoz it's tuned for our rides. Apm performax is like GAB. GAB do not fall into the "standard shocks" category bcoz that's considered sports shocks.

Have u decided how do u want the ride to feel like? Heheheh...

Just check the website for explanation on stiff ride .... i guess i prefer softer type for more comfort since kuching road consist of very few or maybe no even consider highway ... bump and hole here and there, uneven road.

but i am still going to find out more on type available in kuching. :P

hope to get something worth it i guess.

Just did the last market survey

1. Tokico = 700 / 760 (according to tauke direct from Japan)
2. Apm = 520
3. Kyb = 520
4. OEM = 640
5. Apm Performax = 800-9++
6. Gab SA - around 8++ (including installation)
7. Gab HA - around 18++ (including installation)
8. Improve - around 7++ (including installation)
9. Grebar - 840
10 . there is one brand starting with G... and it is blue colour - 740 (anyone know)

what is the different between normal stroke absorber and short stroke absorber?

No offense to Chop Shop, i personally no confident on used absorber, according to my frens, absorber life not so long. Chop shop absorber from japan, u can get from 1k and above.

1. If you want a comfort and not for street race stability, you can choose any brand for replacement. Its cost about RM600 for GAB. I personally not recommended, cuz i used before and i upgrade to GAB SA later on.

2. If you have more budget, go on GAB SA without sport spring, it cost RM800 without installation. This is good enough for street race with comfort. More performance & less comfort, get the GAB lowered Sport Spring aswell, its about RM4++.

3. If you're want a very good in performance and comfort, go on Fully HI/LO & SOFT/HARD adjustable, which cost more than RM2k. If just HI/LO adjustable (cost RM1k++), its very similar to SA + Sport Spring, but u pay more just for hi/lo adjustable.

I'll recommend No.2, either with sport spring or without sport spring. Think twice, before you get the spring, becuz myself already wasted few hundred on this process, from changing to sport spring and change back to ori spring. If you have money, go on No.3.

yes , i am thinking of the choice no.2 ... i understand gab is a good brand. i also interested what other brand is recommended .. since i can't install and try and test others. so i appreciate for all the comment here on the above brand.

any recommendation for absorber below 1k ? appreciate feedback from everyone

I used Improve (red/comfort) mated with TRD waydo spring b4, gave me what i wanted
for 50-50 of stiffness & comfort, BUT the absorber only lasted for 3yrs, then kong d.