AE111 shocks are busted

whn you use monreo, do you face this 2 person behind will sag down problem?

Front absorber can go in at rear meh?

When I installed monroe on the old spring it was ok but as the absorber got older then can feel the behind not so firm and behind began to sag. Then I changed brand new springs last year. The
ride was better but as the absorber got more older the benefit of the new spring wore off eventually. So now with new absorber the ride will be sorted. But this time I want to go more harder than Monroe sensatrac. Monroe is ok. It is comfortable at low speed and get progressively harder at higher speed. I am looking for harder shocks so that the ride height also maintains under load. Since my springs are fairly new and a new firm shocks should do the trick.

vijay,
maybe u need to chg the spring as well,
normally the 'softness' of suspension is due to softer spring rate of your (i presume) stock
spring.
Main purpose of absorber is to reduce bounce rate or rather to 'absorb' the bounces,
eventough it might give us the impression of 'stiffness',
that is only how stiff it is to handle the bounce rate.
if your spring is still soft, then any 'hard' absorber's life span also won't be long
if u frequent carry heavy load at the back.

just my 1 cent.

Mike
Have you heard of harder stock spring?. The one's I know are normally lowered spring.

i do heard plp saying ori levin rear spring coil is thicker hence reasonably should be harder

Folks,
Thks all for all ur reply. Point taken......I have changed the spring to brand new OEM spring last year so I dont think the spring is the culprit. My original spring that came with the car began to sag after 10 years of use. I actually dont mind putting back the Monroe since it lasted 4 years but I heard now it cost RM 220 per piece. I am looking for alternative absorber which is harder than monroe. I dont want to use sport spring as the car is low enough. Scrape speed hump with 2person behind.:confused: Anybody know how much and where can get the following

1) Tokico
2) KYB SR Special

KYB SR Special i found got people sell it... With RSR spring some more...
http://www.mudah.my/rear-abs-kayaba-super-special-with-rsr-spring-selangor-1783258.htm?ca=4_s

i replaced with toyota kyb for front, tokico for rear, used back ori 11 years old stock spring also same sag at back when got passengers especially when go through non-standard road bump. tokico from japan with "Toshiba marking red-white box", rear each RM21x or 23x (can't recall the exact price) around 1.5 years ago, not sure the price now.
knocking against the road bump was very serious even i am driving alone b4 replacing to new shocks. after replacing to new shocks, when driving alone no longer knocking road bump. however, with rear passengers & very very d*mn non standard bump, my car hit the bump...
u can try this solution, i just did my install the coil rubber at rear last week but still no chance to have passengers at back yet.
http://www.phpbbserver.com/toyota/viewtopic.php?t=210&start=0&mforum=toyota

i replaced with toyota kyb for front, tokico for rear, used back ori 11 years old stock spring also same sag at back when got passengers especially when go through non-standard road bump. tokico from japan with "Toshiba marking red-white box", rear each RM21x or 23x (can't recall the exact price) around 1.5 years ago, not sure the price now.
knocking against the road bump was very serious even i am driving alone b4 replacing to new shocks. after replacing to new shocks, when driving alone no longer knocking road bump. however, with rear passengers & very very d*mn non standard bump, my car hit the bump...
u can try this solution, i just did my install the coil rubber at rear last week but still no chance to have passengers at back yet.

i think it is time for u to do this:

DIY Guard Rolling
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXF4ZcpVufU

Hi Pi,
Thanks for the link..... Hmm I am seriously considering the rubber spacer....Looks like cheap and effective solution to the sagging problem...

Btw where can I get the rubber spacer? Spare part shop name?.

hi ae111, yes u can get it at spare part shop. i saw one yesterday at kelana jaya. opposite of lrt kelana jaya there 1 spare part shop. cost only rm10 each.
yesterday bought upper rubber cost i already installed lower and middle rubber. but still my rear absorber sucks. maybe need one more on the top :biggrin:

hi ae111, yes u can get it at spare part shop. i saw one yesterday at kelana jaya. opposite of lrt kelana jaya there 1 spare part shop. cost only rm10 each.
yesterday bought upper rubber cost i already installed lower and middle rubber. but still my rear absorber sucks. maybe need one more on the top :biggrin:

im just wondering if we add that rubber how bout its stability when we turning in corner. is it stable even when we are speeding :hmmmm:

hmm, it far it's ok for my 111 when sppeding. btw there's people here 1 want to sell rear adjustable hi/lo ----> http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/chassis-and-wheels/271524-[wts]-toyota-corolla-rear-adjustable-absorber-levin-front-absorber.html#post3450762

the silicon rubber thing is not a solution. I do believe our spring rate and absorber play hand in hand. Get it pain once, change new absorber WITH spring.

bro, how to test chop shop absorber condition? coz i've already kene once, bought front absorber ae111 japan spec with spring. then after 2-3 month want to change to lowered spring. the absorber got no pressure anymore. if press down the shaft, it will not go up. i already phobia to buy chop shop item now.

Mike
Have you heard of harder stock spring?. The one's I know are normally lowered spring.

i;m using TRD Waydo on my SEG, seems better than my previous ori levin spring. harder stock spring ar.. not originally from SEG lor..
by the way, i was on RSR b4, but wife complained too bumpy (but nice in corner !) hehehe...

i do heard plp saying ori levin rear spring coil is thicker hence reasonably should be harder

thicker a bit nia.. but not sure the material is harder, hence higher spring rate or not ?

i;m using TRD Waydo on my SEG, seems better than my previous ori levin spring. harder stock spring ar.. not originally from SEG lor..
by the way, i was on RSR b4, but wife complained too bumpy (but nice in corner !) hehehe...

thicker a bit nia.. but not sure the material is harder, hence higher spring rate or not ?

the TRD waydo is spring you're talking about?

nomality,
ya, as vijay was talking about knowing any other harder spring or not..
:P

Bump: nomality,
ya, as vijay was talking about knowing any other harder spring or not..
:P

whahahaha... yesterday my fren told me about this. he said maybe can put the silicon rubber thing x2, so that the spring will not travel down as much it should. Coz normally plp put 1 only but still got the same issue.... whahahahha..... i terus pengsan

bro, i've from a friend that ACE Tech at seremban can repair/customize absorber.
they can make how hard the absorber as you like. I'm thinking to go there also.