Question for VTEC owner... HELP !!

shumkelvin

Hie ZTH member,

I'm having a honda accord with H22A Vtec (US version) and I'm about to install VAFC II black edition...

But I check on www.apexi-usa.com, it say VAFC will not fully function for 4 cylinder Accord...

My questions is:-

1. Is my H22A 4 or 6 cylinder?

2. Can VAFC II functional in my car?

3. Is there any different between VAFC & VAFC II?

Your help are most appreciated... Thanks in advance...

cheers,
vin

im using vafc1 till vafc 2 for my honda prelude BB1. OBD-1 wiring. all our prelude 4th gen family (HP4G) using VAFC1 n 2.

actually car is not problem. the thing is the engine which is H22A. and also check ur wiring. what type. coz prelude is H22A OBD-1 Wiring.

different from vafc n vafc2 is.

1) vafc dun have shift/light warning when VTEC engage
2) vafc1 only have 8 (i think tuning curve) guess so - dont shoot me

3) vafc2 got shift/light warning when vtec engage (on the rotate button)
4) vafc2 got 16 (i think tuning curver) guess so - dont shoot me

else. u can do research.

* the thing is,u need to check what type of wiring u got. which type of ECU

i cant find it.... but i think the one which is written in the apexi web site is the v6 accord..its newer model.. if im not misateken model from 2000-now isn it?not your h22a accord..

Thanks a lot man... but how do i know which ECU Im using... ??

Thanks for your info... now i know is V6 ... mine is 4 cylinder... hehe...

The Apex VAFC-II has the ability to tune fuel delivery at 24 adjustment points split between low and high VTEC maps, On the other hand, the VAFC has lesser adjustment points split (i think got 12 only correct me if i'm wrong)

your H22A is definately 4 cylinder lar...aiyohh....

your VAFC II should support your ride....which year is your ride?

as long as you keep boost reasonably low, retain stock cam timing and have it tuned by someone familiar with both the VAFC and the H22A you should be OK. best recommend that you dyno your car...

IS there any good recommandation for pro installer, tuning and dyno?? And what are the price range?

1)Your H22A is 4 cylinders
2)Yes VAFC can be used on your car.You must dynotune it and find the best point for Vtec engagement to reap maximum power.
3)VAFC II has more functions than VAFC.
4)For dyno tuning,goto Amoil..they are good at tuning hondas.Just look for Jackie and say Han recommended you...or say "the guy with the gray ek 4 door" =P Then maybe he will give you a better price because i realize if you are a first timer walking in,the prices they quote are quite fixed and expensive.

wow....good.... so in that case, once i brought the VAFC II or VAFC, maybe we can go together and at the same time i can see what else i can do .... do they do installation as well?