Originally posted by antonio+Jun 5 2004, 06:42 PM-->
QUOTE (antonio @ Jun 5 2004, 06:42 PM) --QuoteBegin-vestax
@Jun 4 2004, 02:57 AM
ur runing on vr4 then why use the mirage mountings ?. why never use the vr4 mountings la ?. anyway yeah have to modify 3 mountings , 2 cross member & timing belt mounting . the gearbox mounting will be the same . so close to the front ? cause you have to pull back the engine ler , pull back kau kau one then only spot weld the mountings see if the radiator will fit in or not . by right it won't fit la cause either you ketuk the bar or you cut the bar or u use back ur punny little radiator which is not recommended .
:unsure: k...firstly the VR4 engine come out from a perdana body....the crossmember mountings are not available because perdana uses eterna crossmember mountings which is fitted at the gearbox and not the engine block...the timing side on the VR4 engine uses the EVO's stlye mountings which is the 3 bolts wan and not the L-shaped wan....i bought VR4 L-mounting but cannot use bcoz engine will go far infront resulting in power steering pump will kena.....use back original saga front and rear crossmember mounting will oso make engine go forward... the thing now is use VR4 front crossmember and saga original rear mounts for crossmember...but the saga rear mounts has a wavy surface and not like the VR4 which has flat surface....but if use saga wan have to cut and then make new drilled hole to put the bolt in place coz the saga bolt hole is way at the back by now..The L- how ever have to cutted and weld back towards the front according the engine in place with the crossmember mounting.....but what will occur after that still dunno...bcoz have to negiotiate due to driveshaft on the left will fit under the rear CM mountings....afraid engine will be too low on the intake manifold side... and about the radiator i will use back my puny radiator...just for now to see if the radiator can support or not....but will add another custom blow fan(half cut) infront the radiator side to see if it helps....if not have to use the radiator from EG lorr....or even from wira's 1.6... :( :blink: p/s:the transplant is from a existing runing perdana VR4 and not from half-cut.... [/b][/quote] bro , mana boleh u pakai the vr4 L mountings without modifying it same goes with the cross member . all must potong one then pull the engine back then spot weld the mountings first , see if everything is in place , if ngam then weld the mountings fully if not , reweld and adjust the mountings . the cross member mountings need to cut the mountings from the vr4 member and then weld it back to ur saga member . cause saga member mountings too short , so must cut and then weld the vr4 member mountings then only ngam . as for your radiator , once the engine is pulled back fully , then you only need to knock the radiator bar abit or cut the bar so that the big radiator will fit in . ur small radiator won't hold the temp down , bigger engines need a better cooling . using the 1.3 radiator won't help . even using the vr4 twin layer radiator , some people still face overheating probs cause the turbo is so damn near to the radiator & the engine bay it self is damn packed , and does not have a good ventilation . thats why our tailo eclipse using evo bonnet vents . :lol: |