power capacitor

appleyard said:
do you really know what are you talking about? what funtion does a cap has that a battery cant do?
1. a cap store electrical charge, then what do a battery store? Mineral water????
2. a cap discharge current fast when charging sytem hits low, a good battery disharge faster than cap. have you compared a yellow top and a capasitor level of discharge???
3. Extra large battery stores higher electrical charge, what does it doesnt have over a cap???

I really interested to know whats on your mind.

than how about normal battery? i din say compare very good battery ice battery.

if not yellow top?

how about if very good capasitor?

how about very big capasitor?

anyone had read the famous 50 farad Rf capasitor so called the all in one solution to car eletrial system in carsound? or better the RC cap challenge?

I'll provide the link later..... now back to work :)

hi1983 or felix (if thats your real name)

lets make a deal. pls dont post if you cant come up with some fact with these so called capasitor thing. I have yet read a single point of you trying to explain why a capasitor will outperform a 2nd battery.

In the mean time pls dont make your self look like and idiot post some crap instead of trying to help this thread starter. If you dont have something to post then dont post.

hi1983 said:
.....erm....haha,

HI1983: is it?
appyleyard: why not?
hi1983: is it?
applyleyard: why not?
hi1983: is it????
applyleyard: why.. ..
hi1983: haha, don be too serius.. i just say only....
applyleyard: ....
hi1983: why not... from MONKEY OF THE GOD 1.

erm... 1point is the capasitor add near the amp than an enlarge battery advantage.

not only capasitor, battery big still stress the alternator.. u want me say, i say change big alternator is the point. acually we all talk about how to supply faster curent to amp. this point.

but compare cap and extra battery......

is it??? why not??? is it ??? why not??? words take from MONKEY OF THE GOOD EPISOD 1.,

Frend, dont do this lorr.. I also want to learn something from him.. maybe he has another good solution & can share among of us...

appleyard said:
hi1983 or felix (if thats your real name)

lets make a deal. pls dont post if you cant come up with some fact with these so called capasitor thing. I have yet read a single point of you trying to explain why a capasitor will outperform a 2nd battery.

In the mean time pls dont make your self look like and idiot post some crap instead of trying to help this thread starter. If you dont have something to post then dont post.

ok, capasitor use, for what? to add a capasitor is to regulate the power supply to amp, and additional can supply faster curent supply to amp , and can fit easy near to amp

can battery regulate power supply.. and u actack me now, do u know what capasitor do. and i did not say capasitro main is to store power for long time like battery, and nobody says that. , but it is to better to improve power supply to amp after regulated, nearer to amp and and supply power to amp faster as it can be install easy nearer to amp.. wrong meh???? or u just say every battery can do as capasitor do??????

u also make all people confuse, and u say like all yours is right..!!!???? and mine, u want to say i all wrong!!!!????

and i also want to tell the ppl who start this thread the use of capasitor and its value.

and still got, u mean also all capasitor is uselesss??? ha?

and point of this, you write this:
In the mean time pls dont make your self look like and idiot post some crap instead of trying to help this thread starter. If you dont have something to post then dont post.[/

i aready give u face, than by just attacking me u also crap post. and the person who start is you, idiot stupid moron, i think u are a person , when that uncle, or sifu say yes, then u say yes, acully alot teory base experience although it comes result but some it is wrong understanding, and u this kind of person really know electronics thing??

then people design capasitor is useless??? all world who do it is stupid??

u don know anything , and only talk what ppl tell u, or just "feel" to talk, and don have teory. go study, and u think u all rite, people all wrong who are u???? idiot crap

no need to learn from him, he say: battery can do everything capasitor as capasitor is useless,

than... can battery regulate power supply? he even this also don understand.
and person that think he all right people all wrong, say me all dead wrong.

this kind of people why give him respect? and how to learn from him? this kind of character is tell u what he belive only,

ask: can battery regulate power supply and install easy near to amp?

to the thread starter.
sorry for your thread being like this. I wont reply or give any input unless some idiot decided to answer my question earlier rahter than making generalization.

my question was:
1. capasitor store eletrical charge. What do battery store?
2. What is ESR? and what ESR effect on overall charging system?
3. What is the discharge rate of a good cap (or acording to some idiot, a good and bigger capasitor) compared to yellow or red top?
4. What is the differences between regulated and unregulated power supply accroding to the test conducted by RC?

so lets forget about what generalization you said earliar and explain it? If you ant then dont post. I'll explain it later.

felix
i didnt say you are cheating, i say you are ignorant. Like i said, if you need proove come to KK and i'll show you a system with no cap.

I am not trying to become a mediator in a tense situation like this. Personally, I know this Felix. He do has some problems in expressing himself well. In fact, this is not the first time he got into trouble of making sense of what he has in mind. Anyway, I am not saying what Helix say is totally wrong but probably it the matter of how he impart his knowledge on capacitor. I agreed with Appleyard to certain extent but I am no great 'sifu' or professional to judge on who is right or wrong.

I got a 1F Lanzar Vibe Pro installed in my car... The only thing i can say is the cap wont help a lot.. only 5% i think..
but if upgrading the power cable to thicker 1 it will help a lot..
for me, the cap is just cosmetic.

consrito said:
I got a 1F Lanzar Vibe Pro installed in my car... The only thing i can say is the cap wont help a lot.. only 5% i think..
but if upgrading the power cable to thicker 1 it will help a lot..
for me, the cap is just cosmetic.

Please dont let it hanging.. can U describe your 5% that help in yours system... interm of what it help?

hehe... sorry..
I just felt that everthing louder a bit and the bass more punchier... but just a little bit improve.. It's really not worth to spend the money like that and get only those improvement.
Bigger alternator or thicker power cable still the better choice..

Originally Posted by appleyard
Capasitor is not good for anything else other than decoration. This topic had been covered numerous times and still ppl come up with something.

i would like to ask some question and wish someone would answer them
1. Would adding a 1 Farad or even 5 farad cap will improve your charging system.
2. Will adding a cap can imrpove your power supply better than adding a 2nd or a bigger battery?
3. Is a capasitor is better than a battery?
4. Do you really believe that a cap will make a difference in overall of your system?

for your this question my answer is:

1. no , charging system is all base on the alternator.. but no body claim cap do that..
2. alot improvement even u don use sub, only the midbass u can feel the diffrence especially high power component and high volum..
3, it is definately better than batery, and adding a extra battery are no use to add extra power, people add extra battery is for cleaner sq power signal, while only capasitor can increase efficiency and speed of power to amp. batery can say can not match it, battery use only car off,
4, got use,

than u say:
1. capasitor store eletrical charge. What do battery store?
2. What is ESR? and what ESR effect on overall charging system?
3. What is the discharge rate of a good cap (or acording to some idiot, a good and bigger capasitor) compared to yellow or red top?
4. What is the differences between regulated and unregulated power supply accroding to the test conducted by RC?

so now u want to change your question to say i answer all dead wrong??? what a " toidi "

at frist i did not answer u seriously..

ok, overall capasitor is regulate power supply, easy install near to amp compare battery, supply current to amp faster. enlarge battery can keep more power, but battery is still far away from amp, extra bettery can also keep more power than normal 1farad capasitor but not easy install near amp. and only very big rms playing amp will drain the normal battery, but what normal set up like the Takumi86 ask..(he say he is normal setup) 1 battery store more than enaugh curent, but he needs capasitor for faster curent supply.. example u have alot doctor in a hospital, but does not mean u can save any far fast enaugh. so the solution of capasitor help this.

Below is some info about capacitor:-
Hope that it will help.

Capacitors. Do I need one?

First, let's define what a capacitor is, how it works, and what it does. This is best done by the following webpage, provided by our friend and colleague Perry Babin of BCAE1.com:
http://www.bcae1.com/capacitr.htm

Now with that out of the way, this is what a capacitor will and will not do for you.
A capacitor WILL:
-Act as a filter for AC ripple effectcaused by the imperfect rectification of the AC current produced by an alternator, and rectified by a DC voltage regulator.
-Smooth the demand curve for current on the alternator, thus extending (theoretically at least) the alternator's lifespan, and, on a not so good note, this can also help to mask the symptoms of an insufficient alternator by smoothing these spikes that also cause the more obvious signs of a weak charging system, like dimming headlights when the bass hits.
-Reduce propagation delays in current supply for brief, spiked demands by the amplifier from the amplifier, and response to this by the electrical system. Amplifiers have to provide a very dynamic and quick response many times. A capacitor can assist in this if the rest of the charging system is up to par.

A capacitor will NOT:
-make your system magically sound 10 times better.Many people believe that a capacitor adds NO real benefit to an audio system, and this is why you never see before and after demonstrations, or factory capacitor company vehicles at car shows.
-Replace the need for a larger, high-output alternator and/or a deep-cycle battery or batteries.
If your electrical system is inadequate, the ONLY way to fix this, and again I repeat, the ONLY WAY to fix this, is to replace the alternator if your voltage rails are sagging to below 12 volts while the car is running. This is the SOLE source of electrical current for your car when the motor is running. The car's battery is in parallel with the alternator, and while the battery will help to stablize voltage at 12VDC, the alternator puts out a higher voltage, and if your voltage rails are dropping to 12 volts, you're already overdrawing the alternator's capacities, and if your voltage rails sag to below 12 volts then you're also going beyond the abilities of the battery or batteries to stablize your voltages. Both of these symptoms will result in battery and alternator damage.
A capacitor only masks these symptoms, in much the same way as regulating voltage to your headlights so they won't dim as bass hits, when voltages can fluctuate between 14.4VDC and 12VDC.

When the motor is turned off, the battery then becomes your source of electricity.
When the battery is run down, and when the capacitor(s) is/are depleted, the alternator has to work even harder in order to supply current to the car, the audio system, and also to recharge the capacitor(s) (which deplete more quickly) than they recharge) as well as recharge the car's battery(ies).

If you plan to use the audio system for prolonged periods at high volumes with the car turned off (such as for SPL events) you'll want to use isolated deep cycle batteries dedicated to the audio system to avoid damage to the batteries, and damage to the speakers and equipment from clipping.

So by adding a capacitor to try taking the place of a high-output alternator, you are actually causing more work for your alternator, and causing even more damage to that stock alternator.

A capacitor does have it's uses, but it is not a magical fix for a lacking electrical system.

Another item I'd like to touch on is the more recent advent of the high capacity capacitors (25, 50, 100+ Farad capacitors) and so-called "BattCaps."

These types of capacitors have extremely high ESR values which makes them very bad choices for the uses mentioned above. They are usually carbon-film based capacitors in order to get such high values, as opposed to the much lower ESR electrolytic capacitors you tend to find in teh 20 volt 1Fd type cylinder style units.
End result is avoid anything like the 100Fd capacitors like a plague.

revised 01-August-2005
(c) GlassWolf, WolfWare, Ltd.

More knowledge about ICE? http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewforum.php?f=4

consrito said:
When the motor is turned off, the battery then becomes your source of electricity.
When the battery is run down, and when the capacitor(s) is/are depleted, the alternator has to work even harder in order to supply current to the car, the audio system, and also to recharge the capacitor(s) (which deplete more quickly) than they recharge) as well as recharge the car's battery(ies).
If you plan to use the audio system for prolonged periods at high volumes with the car turned off (such as for SPL events) you'll want to use isolated deep cycle batteries dedicated to the audio system to avoid damage to the batteries, and damage to the speakers and equipment from clipping.

So by adding a capacitor to try taking the place of a high-output alternator, you are actually causing more work for your alternator, and causing even more damage to that stock alternator.

A capacitor does have it's uses, but it is not a magical fix for a lacking electrical system.[/URL]

This part very funny 1... why? Engine did not running.. 'motor turned off'..

a) I'm agree with that statement.. even U switch ON your stock ICE within 1hour or more.. battery will 'Kong'.. Yes Indeed.. coz battery did not recharge.. not surpose included in the testing.. all ppl know lorrr..

b) The most funny 'the alternator has to work even harder in order to supply current to the car, the audio system, and also to recharge the capacitor(s) (which deplete more quickly) than they recharge) as well as recharge the car's battery(ies).'.. Your engine did not running, how the alternator can supply current to battery & etc to recharge... maybe the tester use his hand to turn the alternator pully than I agree lorr.. sure very hard 1 not only alternator but tester also can die 1...

Hope next time I can learn more interesting thing rather than this XXXX testing...

hehe, we also can "rev" the car engine, becos alternator change faster when higher rpm, but your exshaust will be more noisy than your IcE..hehe