petrol tips

jackyhong

Only buy or fill up your car or truck in the early morning when the ground temperature is still cold. Remember that all service stations have their storage tanks buried below ground. The colder the ground the more dense the gasoline, when it gets warmer gasoline expands, so buying in the afternoon or in the evening....your gallon is not exactly a gallon. In the petroleum business, the specific gravity and the temperature of the gasoline, diesel and jet fuel, ethanol and other petroleum products plays an important role. A 1-degree rise in temperature is a big deal for this business. But the service stations do not have temperature compensation at the pumps.

When you're filling up do not squeeze the trigger of the nozzle to a fast mode. If you look you will see that the trigger has three (3) stages: low, middle, and high. In slow mode you should be pumping on low speed, thereby minimizing the vapors that are created while you are pumping. All hoses at the pump have a vapor return. If you are pumping on the fast rate, some of the liquid that goes to your tank becomes vapor. Those vapors are being sucked up and back into the underground storage tank so you're getting less worth for your money.

One of the most important tips is to fill up when your gas tank is HALF FULL or HALF EMPTY. The reason for this is, the more gas you have in your tank the less air occupying its empty space. Gasoline evaporates faster than you can imagine. Gasoline storage tanks have an internal floating roof. This roof serves as zero clearance between the gas and the atmosphere, so it minimizes the evaporation. Unlike service stations, here where I work, every truck that we load is temperature compensated so that every gallon is actually the exact amount.

Another reminder. If there is a gasoline truck pumping into the storage tanks when you stop to buy gas, DO NOT fill up--most likely the gasoline is being stirred up as the gas is being delivered, and you might pick up some of the dirt that normally settles on the bottom.

Hope this will help you get the most value for your money.

jackyhong:biggrin:

oi jacky.....ur tips is history already.........hahaha
know it few yr back la........

forgive me not...

but why ? during filling up the petrol, some guys, when the petrol almost full...they keep on pressing and shacking the car...???

fluid are tend to fill up any space...then why with the shaking ?

eqeqeqeqq

That guy think he can fill up more fuel to his car tank but he is evaporating the fuel to the air .........:burnout:

yeah despite this was known back to many years ago. it does give a little effect and i would say i gain approx 10-20km more ...based on my own analysis.

by filling RM50 with 'fast filling' and in the hot weather, i can go up to 300km.
but if i fill up round 6-7am, and with 'slow filling', i could get up to 320km.

my analysis was done with same driving mode. never exceed RPM 3K when i engage or change my gear.

sorry if the above is wrong but this is my own analysis only ... and only share with u all for reference purposes.
thx

wow very nice tips ! thx ya! another questions, where is the sensor located? at the gun there or all the way up the hose there? Some people say it is better to pull the hose, means if ur fuel tank is at passanger side, go to other side, pull the hose straight when u pump the fuel, therefore u will get all the fuel in the hose. is it true?

i wonder with all these tips.. how much petrol can one saves ?

i think not much.. perhaps maybe is just like 1ml~2ml only !? or maybe less ?

it really does not make much of a difference...some ppl tend to shake their car to get in more fuel...as when filling the tank some air gets trapped along the way and in the tank ...so by doing so...the air is released creating more space in the tank to fill up petrol....how this helps i dont see....at most you gonna get extra RM1...what difference would it make...just fill it up again i suppose...regards

actually ...if u wanna save petrol just tell ur right foot dun step so kuat lah....but i think tis tips really help coz last time i use to pump petrol at 2pm when i travel bak from KL to pg ...but got one time i pump it at 4am and raining day ...the result is when i reach pg i got sumore rm15 which always i left rm10 petrol on my tank..the speed i travel all the journey is 170-180 constant...
dun know lah ...now already 2am i go pump petrol first ya,,,haha

Also each pump conduct different pressure coz the compressor don't distribute equal air to each pump.
You need test one by one to get best result. Lowest pressure will gave extra gas even though it not that much.

If you fuel up just for RM10,maybe save a bit. But how much will you save if fuel up for full tank or using diesel.
Just try,why not.(although when I go there I will forgot about it)

i usually do fuel up at night....
but usually cannot wait long to fill up rm50 slowly...
but will try from now on...

i know this kinda thing some people know about it! but i think a lot of people havent know about it.... then it might be still useful . even people that know about this information, do you practice it everyday?
just sharing! hehe....