Oxygen sensor. Buy new of just halfcut?

mamatAE111

My car still using the lowly 4AFE. But FC nearing EVO standard already.
Mileage 400 000+, so thinking of trying change the O2 sensor.
Anyone know what price for new? Is the Taiwan brands acceptable ah?
Afraid buy halfcut don't know how long can last.

Hope members can share experience...

bro.. r u using 4ag or 4af? coz as far as i know 4afe dun have o2 sensor one leh...

Good topic!

Today just installed original brand new Denso Toyota O2 Sensor for 20V BT. Feeling is totally different with new O2 sensor. No more hesitation during startup and engine runs very smooth. Also monitored that the new O2 sensor is working well (and hard) trying to maintain 14.7AFR.

Previous O2 sensor was all clogged up, but still no CEL. I experienced weird reading with wideband, which showed up to 11.8AFR when idling and also cruising!!! Thought the wideband got screwed, but luckily not. It starts up normal but as the O2 sensor heats up, it starts to go crazy. Obviously the old O2 sensor is kaput and needs replacement.

According to Toyota/Denso/Bosch/etc, O2 sensor needs replacement every 100,000km for optimum efficiency. Not sure how much those halfcut sensor have clocked, but most of em' are usually in pretty bad shape (no offense to sellers).

So after installing new O2 sensor, AFR is back to normal (between 14.6 - 15.2 AFR) during idle and also cruising. Will update on FC as well... was planning to open up a new thread, but this thread will do.

PS: I bought it for half the price that Toyota quoted me (RM400) for the freaking O2 sensor. No wire cutting or splicing involved, just plug-n-play. If anyone interested, just drop me a PM ya.

hehehe... i was just about to mentioned that buying a halfcut one would involve gamble.... n u said it first... i call u tomorrow regarding the sensor ya...

bro pc, if the O2 sensor is dirty or cloged, does the check engine light turn on when we idle and turn off when we accelerate...

Bro,,
Im using bt 20v. Sometimes indicator for oxygen sensor turn on..
what the problem actually..?
Im using custom exzos piping 2"..isit sensor clog?can clean up the sensor or just through away.
:rofl::rofl::rofl:

I think its better to change new.
I'm going to PM bro pcmoddingmy to ask about his 'lubang' for the half price O2 sensor....

I bought it for half the price that Toyota quoted me (RM400)

u mean
toyota quoted Rm400
u bought at rm200

Yup, I got it for around RM200. Maybe I'll start a group buy for 20V O2 sensors. So far I think got 3 members interested.

Ive seen a few cases where the CEL will turn on and sometimes not, like my case confirmed O2 sensor clogged but still no CEL. But for other O2 sensor issue, CEL will turn on when full throttle but never saw CEL during idling.

Also, I don't think O2 sensor is serviceable. Its wear & tear part. You can try clean it and but having it working effectively again is most unlikely. What you use to clean it is also critical because using petrol to clean it will further damage the sensor. FYI, cars running on rich fuel setting will also damage the O2 sensor quicker than stoich AFR setting. So using petrol to clean will make it super rich, and kill the sensor.

Update Oxygen Sensor part numbers:
4AGE 20V Blacktop AE111: 89465-19685
4AGE 20V Silvertop AE101: 89465-19495

Bro pcmoddingmy,

Is the part number 89465-19495/12290 for SVT?

Actually what is the standard afr reading for BT 20V during idling, cruising, and revving? I found mine around 12-13++ from dyno chart. Is this normal?

pcmoddingmy - serious aaaa PNP to BT 20V socket ? IF YES...count me in...!

Thanx...

Rm200!! price drop ! Good new to me
i recalled from bro Chin technical website,
OXYGEN SENSOR INSPECTION
he said "a new O2 sensor from UMW Toyota cost Ringgit Malaysia (RM) 602.25"

By the way, chopshop also selling the used one at rm150 in 2008

bro, where'd you purchased your o2 sensors from?
I got mine from overseas.

Actually what is the standard afr reading for BT 20V during idling, cruising, and revving? I found mine around 12-13++ from dyno chart. Is this normal?
Standard AFR for BT 20V (or any other EFI engines) should be around 14.5 to 15.5 as the ECU will try to maintain 14.7 AFR, which is the optimum AFR for idling and cruising. For BT 20V, the AFR will be slightly richer during full throttle 13-ish and reaching to 12-ish between 6k-7krpm. Most high revving engines will have higher AFR during high rev as this is to keep the engine cool and keep on the safe side. But anyways, the O2 sensor will not feedback to ECU during full throttle.

pcmoddingmy - serious aaaa PNP to BT 20V socket ? IF YES...count me in...!

Thanx...
Yup bro, serious. PNP to BT 20V socket. I think I will order 5 pcs first next week and ETA 2 weeks.

Rm200!! price drop ! Good new to me
i recalled from bro Chin technical website,
OXYGEN SENSOR INSPECTION
he said "a new O2 sensor from UMW Toyota cost Ringgit Malaysia (RM) 602.25"

By the way, chopshop also selling the used one at rm150 in 2008
Yup, read that on sifu Chin's website a long time ago, but recent check at Wing Hin quoted me RM400 and no stock! UMW Toyota usually sells stuff at higher price as they will usually claim to have the parts shipped from Japan. :banghead:

I think its better to change new.
I'm going to PM bro pcmoddingmy to ask about his 'lubang' for the half price O2 sensor....

me too...bro pcmod,pm wat price n loc u got the sensor...

---------- Post added at 10:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:03 AM ----------

Yup bro, serious. PNP to BT 20V socket. I think I will order 5 pcs first next week and ETA 2 weeks.

bro,wen u hv them..do pm me ye...thanks in advance.

Standard AFR for BT 20V (or any other EFI engines) should be around 14.5 to 15.5 as the ECU will try to maintain 14.7 AFR, which is the optimum AFR for idling and cruising. For BT 20V, the AFR will be slightly richer during full throttle 13-ish and reaching to 12-ish between 6k-7krpm. Most high revving engines will have higher AFR during high rev as this is to keep the engine cool and keep on the safe side. But anyways, the O2 sensor will not feedback to ECU during full throttle.

actually how to read those AFR values? higher number means richer and lower means leaner? mine one around 12-13 means healthy rite since during dyno.

Got this from Denso website, need someone to explain, pls.

Whats the different between O.E. Quality Universal Replacement Sensor and DENSO is the O.E. Manufacturer / Oxygen Sensor ?