New to Streamyx, pls help!

xtracooljustin

just got Streamyx in my area after a yr of waiting man...

anyway im currently using the Rm99 package with the modem at the speed of 512mbps if im not mistaken.

anyway, i wish to downgrade to rm88 package n return the modem cos we wish to buy a router with a built-in modem... is it possible to do it?

we also want to split the line to 5 users so any idea on how to split it? a router is most favourable cos it acts as a server so dun need one PC to bcome server but maximum got only 4 ports available so how to split to 5?
other alternative but cheaper is get a 8 port switch or hub... but dunno wat'll happen n complications if did that... i think somebody PC have to b server if do that, correct me if i wrong.

Im looking for the most cost effective solutions.Help appreciated. Thank Q!

Just get a modem router, it has 5 ports ones. Just look for it.
But still u need a modem to dial up to streamyx, if u use a hub or switch, then u need a comp to be a server is needed. Then the server comp has to be on all the time and have two network card, 1 in, one out to a hub/switch, then share to everyone. This is the most cost effective way, then use router + a 4 port hub, but u want better, then dont use internet la.

the modem is paid or still paying?

if alraeadt paid, keep the modem and just get a router, will not cost u a lot if share by 5 person ;)

Originally posted by LanEvoX@Nov 23 2004, 17:19
the modem is paid or still paying?

if alraeadt paid, keep the modem and just get a router, will not cost u a lot if share by 5 person ;)
dude ...maybe u can try la go to ur reseller or kedai telekom n ask

but if not mistaken cannot ler ..... wan 2 change package

but like wat lanevox said ..5 ppl using ok wat .... buy one more router .....

ok ka ......

Depends on the brand modem-routers can also accept input from external modems so there is still use for that telekom modem of yours.

Performance wise I think you would gain (not sure about the margin) by splitting the functions of the modem and router. One box can do everything but not as good as a box which just does one thing but does it very well.

If you're going to use a router its possible to use the same IP for a few days, eg. my router doesn't have an on/off switch so its on all the time.

Hub/switch =
1. one machine must be the server which shares the connection to its clients -from another thread its best to assign an IP for all clients so the server knows who is who (not the IP from the ISP).

2. if one machine downloads spyware, virus, etc. its possible the whole network will be infected but can share files between computers.

3. hub = a 100mbps 5-port hub assigns 20mbps per client/port

4. switch = a 100mbps 5-port switch assigns 100mbps per client/switch

Router =

1. plug and play, multiple machines from different OS on/off no problems with connections.

2. cannot share files between computers but spyware/virus on one computer generally won't infect the rest.

3. generally routers have hardware firewall and VPN.

hope that helps ;)

fyi i bought my router (no built in modem) with 5 ports for about 200+- if u not sure about the market pricing ;)

juz buy 1 router + 8 port hub.. no need server la.. juz need one pc to setting account, gateway ip n bla² at router.

thanks for all da help i kaw tim alredi the stuff... have been online more than 2 weeks alredi... ;)

so moderators... u can tutup this thread liao... n many thanks !