New Lancer Gearbox

Anyone can tell me how's the New Lancer gearbox reliability?
It is very new technology by INVEC-III CVT 6-speed gear. This system to recall me about Honda City in 7-speed electronic shiftgear... The cost of maintainance hihgher than normal gearbox...

not too sure about the new lancer gearbox.. but usually for normal driving... it should be reliable for the next 5 years (if you service on time accordingly).
using the original mitsubishi original gear oil will make it last longer. not sure how many litre of gear oil you need everytime though..

Honda City CVT is very realiable i think...
cost of maintainance is none so far done up to 30,000 km. (free serivce from honda up to 20,000 km)

my wife's city is doing very good. the CVT gearbox is very much powerful compared to the older 4-speed automatic gearbox used in civic SR3 1997, and accord SV4 1997.

i heard need to change the gear oil in 50,000 km, and must use the original gear oil. that is the only manantenance i know so far. i have not heard any broken down or complaint of the CVT so far. pls correct me if i am wrong.

I change my CVT gearbox fluid every 20 -25 K and I am using Motul......
It is OK so far....

Honda City CVT is very realiable i think...
cost of maintainance is none so far done up to 30,000 km. (free serivce from honda up to 20,000 km)

my wife's city is doing very good. the CVT gearbox is very much powerful compared to the older 4-speed automatic gearbox used in civic SR3 1997, and accord SV4 1997.

i heard need to change the gear oil in 50,000 km, and must use the original gear oil. that is the only manantenance i know so far. i have not heard any broken down or complaint of the CVT so far. pls correct me if i am wrong.

CVT powerful? btw, ur wife is IDSI or Vtec? Refer to Honda dealers, there only mentioned Vtec engine is powerful than iDSI... Anyway, there told me those ever come for service and repair the shiftgear cost them about RM20K++ Somebody to complaint about City gear got slip on 1st or 2nd gear...

Lancer it is mainly from Mitsubishi those I always got experience from Proton Wira 1.6 & Waja 1.6 which is using Mitsubishi Engine & Gearbox bring alot of problematic especially gear slip, engine stopped while driving OTR etc... I meet a usedcar and there told me those sold out the proton always their customer has comeback to complaint the car engine suddenly stopped... Suspect the Fuel Injection problem through the AirMass Flow System.

my wife's is IDSI.
i mean the CVT gearbox is powerful, COMPARED TO previous generation of 4-speed automatic gearbox, like those used in Wira 1.6, Civic 1.6 SR3, or accord SV4, or Prelude BB1.

i drove before my brother's ex car civic SR3 1.6 auto, accord SV4 2.2 auto...
also when i bought my prelude BB1, i tested so many units of BB1 2.2 H22A auto (of course i got a BB1 manual after all) ...

i felt they were all "cannot go" ...

when my wife got his city IDSI and i drove it, surprise, the small little 1.5 city is so smooth and so good in accelerating, or overtaking. just shift to "S" when you do overtaking, it is beyond my expectation compared to all those automatic cars i drove before giving "cannot go" feeling (of course do not compared to those performance car ok...)

just my 2 cents..

RM20k+ ?? repair the gear box so costly... compared to the new car selling at below RM80k only.

for my experience, for honda city, the shift in the steering is useless. i felt the car goes faster and smoother in "S" mode, better than manual shift in steering.

for CVT, by varying the gear ratio indefinately and accordingly, it can maintanin the engine speed at the most desired RPM, depending on how hard you step on the accelerator pedal. that's the best part.

while the manual 7-speed shift in the steering is "fake" gear, it is "virtually" 7-speed to make you feel like the conventional 7-speed gear box.

kampoon,

oh bro, u use motul kah?will try then...1 bottle enough?

well one thing i know is the mits tranny is known to be reliable, n mits tranny cvt is sae source n make with nissan cvt, which is from a reputable make, while honda is self developed,
as for maintenance, it's up to 40000km, plus we get 50000km foc service part n labour. as cvt dun have set gear ratio like normal gear, all gear setting in cvt is virtual, lancer GT n city both is virtual but GT one is driver control while city is potong stim one as driver dun have total control of it. hence my GT ride is syiok...