New Civic

for god's sake, take note. our friend Spunk here is driving an 8th gen civic, which has the K20z2 engine.

The DC5/EP3 has the K20A engine.

they are about as similar as comparing Lindt chocolate to our local ding-dangs.

K20z2 produces 155hp, while the K20A produces an excess of 200++ hp.

that, to me, makes a world of difference.

for god's sake, take note. our friend Spunk here is driving an 8th gen civic, which has the K20z2 engine.

The DC5/EP3 has the K20A engine.

they are about as similar as comparing Lindt chocolate to our local ding-dangs.

K20z2 produces 155hp, while the K20A produces an excess of 200++ hp.

that, to me, makes a world of difference.

haven't heard about the word ding-dangs for a very long time la..... remembering the childhood days hehehe

ho ho ho.... i added a mugen replica bodykit to the car... took the advice to not do anything interior till i sit out the warantee. gonna add neon lights soon... wait for the pics... will get them up in no time.. anything else you guys wanna suggest? :shades_smile:

please.

no neon lights. throw away all the 2fast2furious vcds.

please.

hahaha..... you read my mind vagabond.... you read my mind... have always longed to own a civic which looks like the first installment of fast and furious. ^^ :shades_smile:

please.

no neon lights. throw away all the 2fast2furious vcds.

please.

and also the dvds :P

please no ah beng style modding on the civic, they look much nicer even in stock form.

Go ah beng style lah.. more colourful. Like it or not, they're the prime examples of what NOT TO DO to your car.. he he he.

The difference with the K20A we see in Malaysia in the ES and FD civics here are not visually different, but it's be interesting to know that the heads are internally different, which is why one is 155hp and the DC5 is 200+hp.

I think the heads are not even interchangable, or someone would have figured out how to plonk in the R heads into the K20s in the ES/FD by now, and get easy 170hp or so (lower maybe due to factors like piston compression and stroke setup?)

Anyway, for most of us, we want the best performance for each ringgit we spend, or else most of us would be scratching everywhere for moolah for a Skyline GTR or some other car.

320K or so for a R34, and imagine what we could achieve with 120K on a honda, and there's your answer on why some honda heads still drive a honda. :P (even some that actually own a skyline, but has a modded honda with K20 swaps)

Heck some americans even buy the toda ITBs for honda which are retailing in US for near 10K, which is a hefty downpayment for some serious performance cars. Well, you could say that americans are idiots, but gotta admire their way of thinking.. Instead of "Why should I mod" like most car owners here, they ask "Why shouldn't I mod?)

A modded honda may not look like a skyline/rx8/etc, but it can sure scare some of us shitless when you floor the throttle of a B20B (or for some of the lucky ones, K20A/K24).

And if you happen to get it scratched or get it into an accident, you won't have too many sleepless nights thinking about the loss. :P (assuming that you didn't die along with the car)

If skyline/evo/etc... wah.. I'd grow white hairs by the dozen by now if I got one wrecked.

Ditto with the engine.. break a B16A, ah, next month buy another one.. it's only like about 1K+ now.
If others.. haha I can already imagine people squirming at the cost, even more if the skyline/evo is their only car.

yeah...no neon lights...just mod it like the japs...plus it will effect ur wiring, put an extra weight and more battery usage for that neons....just mod it simple on the outside and try to focus more on the engine's and performance....if u want ur civic looks nice on the exterior...put the new mugen RR bodykit...really2 super nice....

shiro, now b16a kosong so cheap already? hehe then u must have few in ur store for future use??

Actually only got one that's running with an auto g/box, for in case I actually get around to buying a second EG (which will definitely be a 2 door) and moving engines and parts around to make my sedan into an automatic daily driver, then the EG6 will be my dedicated project car. but I'm still having fun with a sedan because it's just so normal looking.. LOL!

The B16A kosong is about 1.5K la.. 1K probably can get me either the head or the block only.. (O_o)

hmmm.... now i can sniff your mod list after neon lights

1. Giant GT wing
2. Neon light under side skirts
3. Altezza tailights
4. Projector headlights
5. Double piping
6. Chrome garnish all over car
7. Big sticker on each side of body
8. 18" Chrome rims
9. Neon meter gauge add on kit
10. Neon Gear shift knob
11. Neon interior lights.. ah blue looks good
12. Big woofer in the trunk
13. "TYPE R" rear view mirrror
14. "TYPE R" E brake handle
15. "TYPE R" trim kit
16. "TYPE R" wiper blade
17. "TYPE R" stickers
18. "TYPE R" floor mats
19. Rear windshield spoiler

After all, you need a loud chrome muffler to draw attention on the road for the mods you have made.

hahahaha... i'm taking some of the advice given to me earlier... which is, i'll be riding out the warantee until i do anything too radical. so, therefore i'll most probably do things to make the car look different. many have said i shouldn't do the neons... my frens too... ah beng is the same words they used. :p so... i'll most probably not do it then... :) really value all your opinions... means alot to me. :D

i wish the price and parts for a K20A would go down :(

.... too many things to do, it's burning a hole in my pocket.

it's only max 7 years old, even b16b and b18cr stuffs still expensive, how to expect the price to go down further...

to me, if want to play fd2r, wait another 7-9 years, but standard fd2, get dc5 or ep3 half-cut and convert it, price should be manageable by then

in another 9 yrs, fd2 should fall around 45-55k the most, halfcut around 12-16k, u can get an R for around 60k only....

we malaysians are always atleast 15 years behind. we are now playing b16 which is junks that the Japanese have thrown out of their country.

yeah...but the b16 is still called "the legendary" coz it's the first honda engines that is equip with VTEC...so just think of it as a classics and will remains in the history for a long time....

we malaysians are always atleast 15 years behind. we are now playing b16 which is junks that the Japanese have thrown out of their country.

What to do? K-series are too bloody expensive. Furthermore, if you talk about performance parts, most of the K-series part that you can find will be new, not used, and the price ranges from 2K and up for each part.. so in the end, people will still go for bodykits and all show and no go because they simply can't afford it.

Anyway, B-series is a good engine to cut the teeth on.. it's actually quite simple, compared to the variable cam phasing system on the i-vtec.

But in truth, the prices of car relative to an average guy's earnings is ridiculous, which in the end hampers any sense of seeing a lot of properly modified cars on the road.

I heard honda's A-Vtec is coming quite soon.
Apparently, it's 3 phased. can anybody elaborate on that?

bro plz google it, n why not we open new topic to discuss bout it

Advanced VTEC engine, which achieves high performance along with outstanding fuel economy and lower emissions. The new engine combines continuously variable valve lift and timing control with the continuously variable phase control of VTC (Variable Timing Control).

Honda reveals the Advanced VTEC engine - Autoblog

Honda Worldwide | September 25, 2006 "Honda Develops Advanced VTEC Engine Combining High Power and Environmental Performance"

Honda announces Advanced VTEC engine (AVTEC)

Honda files Advanced VTEC patent

the last one comes complete with diagram of the patent