Need info about my VIOS

kelly84

Need help/info about Toyota VIOS

Hi there! I'm a newbie to this forum as introduced by some friends....Well since most of you guys are quite good in cars, i was thinking perhaps you could help me rectify some issues with my Toyota Vios G spec. Here are some of them....

1) I've always wondered if it's common to hear a 'clunk' noise everytime I drive fast over a speedhump...

2) The radio reception in the car has some disturbance in certain areas.....I was wondering if there is anything I can do to fix this problem. Would changing the antenna help? Or perhaps install an FM booster??

3) I would also like to know the acceleration time for my Vios i.e. 0-100km/h in ?? secs.

4) Would it make any difference if I choose to use a mineral-based or a semi-synthetic based engine oil? At present, I'm using mineral-based but after a certain amount of mileage I feel that my car seems to lose power...Therefore, would i experience this kind of loss in power if I were to use semi synthetic oil??

Any help from all the "sifus'" out there is greatly appreciated

Thanx

The problems you experience are common faults of the Vios. My family has one as well (G-spec, if it matters). Im no sifu but this is what I came to know being a semi-owner of the car:

1. From what I read it is a front suspension problem. It is not normal, and some UMW branches have difficulties sorting out this problem so you might encounter some hassle. I am not sure which UMW branch offers good after-sales service... would like to know as well. My family's unit luckily does not have this defect.

2. Very common problem with Vioses. Some branches have been said to refuse to service this, but it can be fixed. My family's unit has this as well.

The other problems my family's unit has are noisy air-con compressor (sounds like a mouse, clunks when engaging) and noisy rear brakes when reversing. These I find to be common as I have 2 relatives who owns Vioses with the same problems as well. Do look out for these faults.

The problem with UMW is that their after-sales service sucks. You can make an appointment, wait for 2 weeks before having your car serviced, and it'll come back with the same faults, and this may repeat. If you service your car outside, there are chances that UMW will void your warranty.

My biased opinion:
UMW really screwed up this time. I personally know a few unsatisfied Vios owners and have read complaints from many others. When one buys a new car from Toyota one wouldnt expect this many faults, as Toyotas are reknown for their built quality. My speculation is Thailand-designed cars, under Toyota's jurisdiction or not have a long way to go before catching up with their actual Japanese counterparts. The interior trim of my family's unit rattles! And dust goes into the central display meter compartment behind the transparent cover, no way to clean up that part.

Why Im ranting so much:
I have no idea why my parents decided to get a Vios when there are much better choices had they accepted the 2nd hand market, or raised their budget a little. No offense, but the Vios is such a boring car...