Need help on suspension

weikhee86

Hi all. I'm running a Nissan Sunny 130y with Tokico gas shocks all around and stock springs. Compared to the KYB shocks last time the ride is much stiffer and I can feel more bumps on the road than last time. Is this normal for gas shocks? My absorbers and springs are still new.:banghead:

might be ur abs n spring still new.
i also newly changed to GAB n sport spring (charade) .. feels much harder n stiffer.. maybe used to the "feels" of kong abs.. haha.

btw, izzit normal for the ride height increase abit when changed to new abs with same spring (increase around 1 1/2 fingers)?

I see. I heard from my friends that its normal for the ride height to increase after you install gas shocks. As for me I gain extra stability when doing high speed cornering, at the expense of comfort. :banghead:

it's pretty normal for new spring and abs to behave a little stiff during it's first forth-night of usage. it will gradually run in and feel more comfortable later. dun worry.

how about the height?
using same sport/lowering spring, but different abs.

The height of the car is depend on the spring's length and it's stiffness. abs won't have much effect on ride height.

that 'tapak' is called spring pan height..you can adjust your height if using adjustable by reducing or increase the height of the spring pan. but as yours are welded spring pan, then you need to sit back and enjoy your new ride only unless u willing to change to lesser stiffer spring or change to lesser designated-load-length -at-kerb-weight spring. this can reduce your ride height. i suggest u use eibach pro kit progressive rate spring.

Thanks for the info. Bro Dennisdreams I read your blog. Nice car you have there!

thanks ;) that's my 1st car lol~ my dad really "hang" when he saw i drove mango home. hoho
oh, btw, i just check, the tokico absorber's spring base is 5mm higher than APM absorber.