need help...K&N air filter for carburettor

tykoh said:
hello all sifu... may i know why we need to re-oil the air filter ah??

i am no sifu...but from what i understand...the oil is to trap dust passing through the filter rite????

if the oil try the dust then it will block the air going in??? then how to suck air???
just curious... i think there must be a theory behind it....

drop in no need to use WD40 la, just wipe clean.... :oP

but for carby, you will need to lubricate with WD40 a lil as there will be residual from the carb to the air filter...

Ok as why we need to oil the filter is basically to moist the filament to ensure cleaner air or more residual is being trapped into it. Otherwise, it will just perform like any other filter. Oil is better than water due to its 'viscosity' (im not too sure whether i got the word right) but basically... 'stickiness'...

woah...thankx sifu for info...now i just noticed i have not oiled my filter after i wash it....cause i thought those oil is special wan...aiseh..kena tipu....paiseh oni.....so now i gotta take my filter out again and wash it....this time i use ATF/power steering oil to re-lubricate the element...hehee....thankx sifu!!! :D

not all car airfilter need to put oil.. like proton normal filter just use paper element onli...

KNN type is use oil to trap dirt...

Yes, this is the correct way. However, if its possible, try to connect the head breather hose in betweenwith a petrol filter (cheap cheap one) to act as an "oil catch tank" then reconnect it to your K&N filter. This will prevent the oil suck in to the crab. The vaccum hose too if possible install a small filter. Eg. our petrol filter. With this on, you might get a :D :D better throttle respond. Just try it.

superglwl said:
am i doing this correctly?

lix said:
Yes, this is the correct way. However, if its possible, try to connect the head breather hose in betweenwith a petrol filter (cheap cheap one) to act as an "oil catch tank" then reconnect it to your K&N filter. This will prevent the oil suck in to the crab. The vaccum hose too if possible install a small filter. Eg. our petrol filter. With this on, you might get a :D :D better throttle respond. Just try it.

where can i get this petrol filter???? how does it look like....i need help K&N installation 101... anyway the vacum hose is not connected to the K&N filter so how to install a petrol filter??? i just block it from sucking in air only wor???

The petrol filter you can purchase it at any spare-parts shop. In your case you need a "t" shape filter. Cost you only 4-8 bucks only.
For the vacuum hose, you go to motorbike shop ask for EX-5 fuel filter and cost less than 5 bucks. Just install the filter and leave the other end suck through the air.
Thats it.

superglwl said:
where can i get this petrol filter???? how does it look like....i need help K&N installation 101... anyway the vacum hose is not connected to the K&N filter so how to install a petrol filter??? i just block it from sucking in air only wor???

lix said:
The petrol filter you can purchase it at any spare-parts shop. In your case you need a "t" shape filter. Cost you only 4-8 bucks only.
For the vacuum hose, you go to motorbike shop ask for EX-5 fuel filter and cost less than 5 bucks. Just install the filter and leave the other end suck through the air.
Thats it.

but the vacuume hose, when i let it open....the timing very low......sounded like the engine going to die anymoment......but when i closed it then the timing is ok....so if i put i filter there wont it be like opening the vacuum hose and the timing will be low???

Oh... like that ah.... if in this case then NVM lah. Just stick with your original plan lah....
Pai seh Pai seh
:p
superglwl said:
but the vacuume hose, when i let it open....the timing very low......sounded like the engine going to die anymoment......but when i closed it then the timing is ok....so if i put i filter there wont it be like opening the vacuum hose and the timing will be low???

lix said:
Oh... like that ah.... if in this case then NVM lah. Just stick with your original plan lah....
Pai seh Pai seh
:p
but anyway thanks a lot...i think i will take ur advice to buy a filter the head breather

i think should be ok.. also washing deteregent.. more expensive onli mah.... mayb u may pu tin some softener after u wash it.. hahah.. smells nice!! :p

my KNN dop-in is still not dirty enough.... when it is dirty enough... i will cean it with Tops(from Japan :p) detergent mix with water... then use Castrol GTX Extra engine oil to re-oil de filter... :D

dat will be my 1st time doing it... wish me luck.. heheh

the reason i change the air filter coz i feel my nissan sunny 130y got no power......i need extra power for my car coz i think now even kancil can run faster than me...any opinion???

hmm... dun expect too much from a performance air filter... it only smoothen the air flow..

if u are using bigger engines or turbo... then u will benefit more from the performance filter...

what you guys think i should do with the power...i am starting to hate my car bcoz of its low power.