Need all the expert on 4AGE (20Valve)

tony_yeoh

Hello everybody,
Currently i driving my Corolla SEG but now i wanna change to 20valve but I would like to ask you guys more about the 20valve engine.
In my research the mechanic told me tat fit for my car and no need to change the mounting location from original but some of tat, tell me need to change. so tat, i worry bout the mounding cause my fren have a bad experience bout tat.
he change the mounding then de car engine was shaking.

So pls give me some inform about tat,.... Thanku

Last edited by a moderator:
1st of all .. i'm not an expert

That's 2 different situation.

yes the engine can directly fit into ur toyota seg. No need to modify the mounting means no need to do major relocation mounting whatsoever.

I think ur fren just change the mounting not the mounting location or modify it. Sometimes if the mounting koyak/not in good condition, yes it wont hold ur engine properly and send the vibration to ur chassis. Resonance

p/s: Sifu .. correct me if i'm wrong, even my car also need to change the mounting. Rm195/each ..aiyo...

has his car ever been involved in an accident? The engine shouldn't shake with new mountings unless the car chassis has bengkok a bit... it's something like plug & play... but whatever it is, IMHO, it's better to change it all during the transplant as it would be troublesome to change it next time... no expert here... just my 2 cents... pls correct me if i am wrong...

hehehhe my advise is......please send ur car to the reputable workshop..........

the answer is yes and no............emm but seriously there is no major headache in moutning the 20v in seg....unless done by inexperience mechanic

from my experience, 1.3 model of AE100 need change mouting position, 1.6 model wise no need change mouting position

I don't know that 1.3 model need to change mounting position.. can anyone confirm this?

Cause my car engine was originally 1300cc , and my mech who did the conversion told me,he only plug n play the engine.. and just copy from original wiring. After that send to Puspakom jpj no problem at all.

AE series mouting and EE different of 1 mounting point at driving side.
If u Scare about puspakom not pass, then have to find runner to settle it like me.
mine is 1300cc chasis, EE Series(2E if im not mistake), need to mod 1 mouting point,
must have a good sifu to mod the mouting! if not engine will sake

Please state your location...they will suggest you a good and experience mech to do your car...

EE doesn't need any modifications but u will need to change the mountings... the holes are all there...

I'm not the expert... but as i know...
No need to modify the mounting if u wanna convert to 20V...
coz i'm using SEG AE101 n pnp the 20V engine...
If u wanna convert to SC, yes... u need to modify the mounting...
but i also hear some mechanic said need to modify the mounting if wanna convert to 20V...

AE series mouting and EE different of 1 mounting point at driving side.
If u Scare about puspakom not pass, then have to find runner to settle it like me.
mine is 1300cc chasis, EE Series(2E if im not mistake), need to mod 1 mouting point,
must have a good sifu to mod the mouting! if not engine will sake

YUP!!! just drill few holes in the chassis. (mounting point timing belt side - if i'm not wrong)
Don worry, the holes that drilled are ment to be drilled.
Cos on the chassis has a "hole groove", that designers design it to be there coz if the wanted to change the model, the just drill either to fit what type engine they'll use for production.

mine was EE100 2E carb engine.. mod to 4age 20 BT..
Puspakom..... passed with flying colours..... :biggrin:

this is my experience.

for example, if the car (AE100/EE100) original engine is 2E, and you want to tranplant 4age 20v in it. at least one mounting location need to be relocated. mostly timing belt side. for AE100/EE100, hole are available and just need to redrill some hole to relocate mounting.

so, if your the car engine is 4AFE, then the 4AGE 20v will sit nicely on the original mounting location. Noticed the "A"? applicabale for toyota only. but i do advice the mounting to be change to the mounting use on the halfcut 20v.